Skip to main content

LGBTI* guide for Berlin

Colourful, cosmopolitan & tolerant

Gay Pride Parade in Berlin: The Parade is every year the highlight of the Berlin Pride Weeks.
Gay Pride Parade in Berlin © Fabian Böttcher

Gay Berlin

Be yourself. Love who you want – tolerance and freedom are not just words in Berlin. Discover present-day Berlin as one of the most open and tolerant cities in the world – the gay/lesbian scene is also flourishing in the German capital. Yet the road to get here has been a long one: Berlin developed into a centre for homosexual life and same-sex love over the course of the 20th century.

Today you will find gay bars, gay clubs and parties in Berlin. There is a wide-ranging queer cinema programme, the gay museum and many other events for LGBTI*. Every summer the Pride Weeks are celebrated with the lesbian/gay city festival, CSD on the Spree and many other events. The highlight is without a doubt the annual CSD Berlin, where the streets of Berlin play host to demonstrations for equal rights but also to celebrations.

Our tip: you will find your LGBTI*-friendly hotel in Berlin in our pink pillow Berlin Collection. It brings together hotels with one thing which is of utmost importance: every guest can be themselves.

More about the hotels of the pink pillow Berlin Collection

Tips for gay Berlin

The highlight of Berlin’s LGBTI* calendar is without a doubt the annual CSD Berlin. More than 50 decorated floats and up to 750,000 people parade through Berlin as far as the Brandenburg Gate – on the one hand this is a demonstration for equal rights and a huge party on the other.

If it is not CSD you're after, there are many other things to discover in the Berlin LGBTI* community. We will show you gay bars, parties and gay clubs. We have also compiled tips specifically for lesbians and women in Berlin. It is in Berlin’s rainbow neighbourhoods where we will introduce you to the LGBTI* scene of the districts in Berlin. 

LGBTI*-freundliche Hotels in Berlin finden Sie auf visitBerlin.de

LGBTI* friendly Hotels

These are the promises of our gay friendly hotels

  • The same respect for all guests
  • Information about the LGBTI* scene 
  • Social engagement in LGBTI* projects

See hotel

The LGBTI* scene in Berlin

Berlin lives and breathes diversity in every respect: we have gathered practical information, tips and points of contact for gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and intersexual people.

You will also find countless LGBTI* events in Berlin’s event calendar on visitBerlin.de. Culturally, Berlin has a lot to offer: from operas to revues and the Gay Museum in Berlin, all the way to queer film programmes in Berlin’s cinemas.

Skyline of Berlin

Berlin Welcome Card - allgemein Berlin Welcome Card - allgemein

Berlin's official tourist ticket

  • Free public transport in Berlin
  • Choose from 200 attractions – Savings up to 50%
  • Free City Guidebook – including map

More than 12m sold tickets

More about the Berlin WelcomeCard

Die pink pillow Berlin Collection

Pink Pillow Berlin Collection

Our gay-friendly hotels promise

  • Equal courtesy and dignity for all guests
  • Social engagement in LGBTI* projects
  • Tolerant work environment for hotel staff
  • Participation in LGBTI* events of visitBerlin
  • Info about Berlins LGBTI*-Scene for guests

LGBTI* Hotels

Read more

Our guests’ most popular tickets

Get recommendations about the best events from other visitors. Here you will find the most popular tickets among visitors to Berlin.

Our travel service for a stress-free holiday in Berlin: get your tickets for shows and musicals, the opera or the perfect Berlin sightseeing tour through our convenient online booking service. You will have the ticket that is right for you in a matter of minutes.

How Berlin become the capital of homosexuality

Since the 1920s, Berlin became, albeit with interruptions, the gay capital. In spite of the financial struggles at that time, especially in the districts of Schöneberg and Kreuzberg, a vibrant scene of bars, clubs, groups and cabarets sprung up and their number is still unrivalled today. It is said that there were more than 100 venues for homosexuals at that time, ranging from the famous Eldorado to the ladies dance hall Zur Manuela through to the large balls organised by various homosexual associations.

As early as 1897, Magnus Hirschfeld founded the Wissenschaftlich-Humanitäre Komitee (The Scientific-Humanitarian Committee) in Berlin, as the first ever gay and lesbian human rights organisation. From 1919, he ran the legendary Institut für Sexualwissenschaft (Institute for Sexual Science), which made an important contribution to the emancipation of gays and lesbians all over the world.

After the suppression of the entire gay and lesbian community and subculture by the Nazis, it wasn’t until 1971 that the homosexual scene recovered again – which is when the gay movement Homosexuelle Aktion Westberlin (Homosexual Action West Berlin) was founded.

The first Christopher Street Day (gay pride parade) took place in Berlin in 1979. The community got a whole new lease of life with the founding of the Berliner Lesbenwoche (Berlin Lesbian Week) and the oldest and largest gay and lesbian city magazine Siegessäule in 1984. Since 1993, the gay/lesbian city festival has been celebrated every year – it is the largest of its kind worldwide and ensures to this day that Berlin is home to the most diverse, vibrant and popular gay/lesbian scenes in Europe.

These days, up to 750,000 people celebrate the CSD in Berlin in the streets of the city – no matter whether you are gay, lesbian, bisexual, heterosexual, transgender or another sexual orientation. More than 50 floats make their way through the city and towards the Brandenburg Gate. The Berlin nightlife is famous for its gay clubs – the most famous of all is the Berghain at Ostbahnhof and the KitKatClub in Mitte. Berlin has rainbow neighbourhoods in Kreuzberg, Mitte, Schöneberg and Prenzlauer Berg.

And Berlin even had a gay mayor, Klaus Wowereit. He was the first leading German politician to be open about being gay. His outing with the words “I am gay – and that is also a good thing.” resonated around the world and became a well-known saying. 

Come to Berlin and experience the typical Berlin tolerance for yourself. We have a wealth of tips and recommendations so that you can get to know its rainbow-coloured side.

You might find this also interesting

Direkt zum Inhalt

LGBTI*-Guide für Berlin

Bunt, weltoffen & tolerant

CSD Berlin: Die Parade ist jedes Jahr der Höhepunkt der Berliner Pride Weeks.
CSD-Parade in Berlin © Fabian Böttcher

Gay Berlin

Seien Sie so, wie Sie sind. Lieben Sie, wen Sie wollen – in Berlin sind Toleranz und Freiheit nicht nur Worte. Erleben Sie Berlin heute als eine der offensten und tolerantesten Städte der Welt – auch die schwul-lesbische Szene der deutschen Hauptstadt blüht. Doch der Weg dahin war lang: Im Laufe des 20. Jahrhunderts entwickelt sich Berlin zu einem Zentrum homosexuellen Lebens und gleichgeschlechtlicher Liebe.

Heute finden Sie Gay Bars, Gay Clubs und Partys in Berlin. Es gibt ein breites queeres Kinoprogramm, das Schwule Museum und viele andere Veranstaltungen für LGBTI*. Jeden Sommer werden die Pride Weeks mit dem Lesbisch-schwulem Stadtfest, CSD auf der Spree und vielen anderen Veranstaltungen begangen. Der Höhepunkt ist unbestritten jedes Jahr der CSD Berlin, bei dem in Berlins Straßen für gleiche Rechte demonstriert, aber auch gefeiert wird.

Unser Tipp: Ihr LGBTI*-freundliches Hotel in Berlin finden Sie in unserer pink pillow Berlin Collection. Sie vereint Hotels, denen besonders eines am Herzen liegt: dass jeder Gast so sein darf, wie er ist.

Buchen Sie Ihr Hotel der pink pillow Berlin Collection

Tipps für Gay Berlin

Das Hightlight von Berlins LGBTI*-Kalender ist unbestritten jedes Jahr der CSD Berlin. Mehr als 50 geschmückte Wagen und bis zu 750.000 Menschen ziehen dann durch Berlin bis zum Brandenburger Tor – dies ist einerseits eine Demonstration für gleiche Rechte, aber auch eine riesige Party.

Wenn nicht CSD ist, gibt es trotzdem viel in der Berliner LGBTI*-Community zu entdecken. Wir zeigen Ihnen Gay Bars, Partys und Gay Clubs. Außerdem haben wir Tipps speziell für Lesben und Frauen in Berlin zusammengestellt. In Berlins Regenbogen-Kiezen zeigen wir Ihnen die Szene in den Berliner Bezirken.  

LGBTI*-freundliche Hotels in Berlin finden Sie auf visitBerlin.de

LGBTI*-freundliche Hotels

Das versprechen Ihnen die Hotels

  • Gleiche Wertschätzung für alle Gäste
  • Infos zur Berliner LGBTI*-Szene für Sie
  • Soziales Engagement für LGBTI*-Projekte

Hotels ansehen

Die LGBTI*-Szene in Berlin

Berlin lebt Vielfalt und das in jeder Hinsicht: Wir haben praktische Infos, Tipps und Anlaufstellen für Schwule, Lesben, Bi-, Trans- und Intersexuelle gesammelt.

In Berlins größtem Veranstaltungskalender auf visitBerlin.de finden Sie auch unzählige LGBTI*-Events. Kulturell hat Berlin einiges zu bieten: von Opern über Revues und dem Schwulen Museum Berlin bis zum queeren Filmprogramm in den Berliner Kinos. 

Skyline über Berlin mit Spree

Berlin Welcome Card - allgemein Berlin Welcome Card - allgemein

Berlins offizielles Touristenticket

  • Freie Fahrt in ganz Berlin – Fahrschein inklusive
  • 200 Attraktionen erleben – sparen Sie bis zu 50%
  • Kostenloser City Guide – Stadtplan inklusive

bereits über 12 Mio. Mal gekauft

Zur Berlin WelcomeCard

Die pink pillow Berlin Collection

Pink Pillow Berlin Collection

Die Versprechen der gay-friendly Hotels

  • Gleiche Wertschätzung für alle Gäste
  • Soziales Engagement für LGBTI* Projekte
  • Tolerantes Arbeitsumfeld für Mitarbeiter des Hotel
  • Teilnahme an Infoveranstaltungen von visitBerlin
  • Infos zur Berliner LGBTI*-Szene für die Gäste.

LGBTI* Hotels

Weiterlesen

Beliebte Tickets unserer Gäste

Lassen Sie sich von anderen Besuchern die besten Erlebnisse empfehlen. Hier finden Sie die beliebtesten Tickets unserer Berlin-Besucher.

Unser Reise-Service für einen stressfreien Urlaub in Berlin: Tickets für Shows und Musical, die Oper oder für die perfekte Berlin-Stadtrundfahrt können Sie hier einfach und bequem online kaufen. So kommen Sie in 3 Minuten zum richtigen Ticket.

Wie Berlin Hauptstadt der Homosexualität geworden ist

Seit den 1920er-Jahren wird Berlin, wenn auch mit Unterbrechungen, zur Hauptstadt der Homosexualität. In der schon damals armen Metropole, vornehmlich in den Bezirken Schöneberg und Kreuzberg, entsteht eine Szene aus Bars, Vereinen, Gruppen und Varietés, deren Anzahl bis heute unübertroffen ist. Über 100 Treffpunkte für Homosexuelle soll es damals geben, vom berühmten Eldorado über die Damentanzdiele Zur Manuela bis hin zu großen Bällen der verschiedenen Homosexuellen-Vereinigungen.

Magnus Hirschfeld gründet bereits 1897 in Berlin das Wissenschaftlich-Humanitäre Komitee, die erste schwul-lesbische Menschenrechtsorganisation überhaupt. Ab 1919 betreibt er in Berlin das legendäre Institut für Sexualwissenschaft, das einen entscheidenden Beitrag zur Emanzipation von Schwulen und Lesben in aller Welt liefert.

Nach der Zerschlagung der gesamten schwul-lesbischen Kultur und Subkultur durch die Nazis dauert es bis 1971, dass sich die Homosexuellen-Szene wieder erholt – denn dann wurde die Schwulenbewegung Homosexuelle Aktion Westberlin gegründet.

1979 findet der erste Christopher Street Day in Berlin statt. Mit der Gründung der Berliner Lesbenwoche 1985 und des ältesten und größten schwul-lesbischen Stadtmagazins Siegessäule 1984 etabliert sich eine neue Szene. Seit 1993 wird jedes Jahr in Berlin das Lesbisch-schwule Stadtfest gefeiert – es ist das größte seiner Art in der Welt und es sorgt bis heute mit dafür, dass Berlin eine der vielfältigsten, lebendigsten und angesagtesten schwul-lesbischen Szenen Europas hat.

Inzwischen feiern jedes Jahr bis zu 750.000 Menschen zusammen den CSD Berlin in den Straßen der Stadt – egal ob schwul, lesbisch, bi, hetero, transgender oder eine andere sexuelle Orientierung. Über 50 Festwagen fahren dann durch die Stadt und auf das Brandenburger Tor zu. Das Berliner Nachtleben ist berühmt für die Schwulenclubs – am bekanntesten sind das Berghain am Ostbahnhof und der KitKatClub in Mitte. Berlin hat Regenbogen-Kieze in Kreuzberg, Mitte, Schöneberg und Prenzlauer Berg.

Und Berlin hatte mit Klaus Wowereit einen schwulen Bürgermeister. Er ist der erste deutsche Spitzenpolitiker, der offen zu seinem Schwulsein steht. Sein Outing mit dem Satz „Ich bin schwul – und das ist auch gut so.“ ging um die Welt und wurde zum geflügelten Wort. 

Kommen Sie nach Berlin und erleben Sie die typische Berliner Toleranz selbst. Wir haben viele Tipps und Empfehlungen für Sie, um Berlin von seiner regenbogenfarbenen Seite kennenzulernen.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren