Skip to main content
Berliner im Park
© visitberlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Kitty-Kuse-Platz

Visible signs of lesbians

Women who love women have always been less visible, and less commemorated, even though the Schöneberg neighbourhood of the 1920s had more lesbian locations than anywhere else in Berlin and was a hot spot that has never been surpassed.

It was home to one of the most famous cabaret stars, Claire Waldoff, who was synonymous with the image of the blunt but big-hearted Berliner. In 1989, a plaque was unveiled at her home at Regensburger Straße 33. At Leberstraße 65 there is a plaque marking the birthplace of Marlene Dietrich, who symbolised seductive femininity in the film The Blue Angel, but also became a butch idol.

In 1997, a square in Schöneberg was renamed in honour of Kitty Kuse, a prominent activist of the lesbian movement in the 1970s. During the Nazi era she helped the Jewish painter Gertrude Sandmann to survive. And this artist, who was also involved in the lesbian movement, has been commemorated since 2014 by a plaque where she lived at Eisenacher Straße 89.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Berliner im Park
© visitberlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Kitty-Kuse-Platz

Sichtbare Spuren der Lesben

Frauen liebende Frauen waren und sind weniger sichtbar. Auch in der Erinnerung. Obwohl der Schöneberger Szene-Kiez in den 1920er Jahren mit den meisten Lesben-Lokalitäten Berlins ein bis heute unübertroffener Hot-Spot ist.

Zu Hause war hier eine der bekanntesten Kabarett-Stars, Claire Waldoff, die ein  Synonym für die „Berliner Schnauze mit Herz“ ist. 1989 wird eine Plakette an ihrem Wohnhaus in der Regensburgerstr. 33 eingeweiht. In der Leberstraße 65 befindet sich eine Erinnerungstafel am Geburtshaus von Marlene Dietrich. Sie wurde in ihrer Filmrolle im „Blauen Engel“ zum Sinnbild verführerischer Weiblichkeit und obendrein zum Butch-Idol.

Den Namen von Kitty Kuse trägt seit Juni 1997 ein Platz in Schöneberg. Sie war eine herausragende Aktivistin der Lesbenbewegung der 1970er Jahre. Während der NS-Zeit sorgte sie für das Überleben der jüdischen Malerin Gertrude Sandmann. Und auch an diese Künstlerin, die sich ebenfalls in der Lesbenbewegung engagierte, erinnert seit 2014 eine Tafel an ihrem Wohnhaus in der Eisenacher Str. 89.