Skip to main content

Sport in Berlin

From top-class sport to leisure sport

Women's Race at Berlin Tiergarten
Women's Race at Berlin Tiergarten with view to Brandenburg Gate © Camera4

Sports events in Berlin!

Velothon, ISTAF & the Berlin Marathon! In Berlin you can experience top-level sport 365 days a year – as a spectator or by being active yourself. You can find all the highlights on visitBerlin.de 
The Sportmetropole Berlin initiative has the goal of maintaining and marketing Berlin as a sports city. You’ll find all the information about Berlin as a city for sport on the website. 

Find out about the next sports events in Berlin and cheer along the players and participants. 
Our travel service for a stress-free holiday in Berlin: You can buy tickets for the Olympia Stadium in Berlin easily and conveniently online. This is how you can get the right ticket in 3 minutes. 
 

Sightseeing, culture – and sport. Yes, these belong together in Berlin. For instance, you can visit the large sports facilities such as Olympia Stadium. On a guided tour there you can even get a look inside the changing rooms of the Berlin football team Hertha BSC. Watch a game played by Berlin’s top teams. Basketball, football, ice hockey, handball or volleyball – the choice is yours.  

Of course, you can also be active yourself: Berlin has indoor swimming pools, outdoor pools and many possibilities for trying out a variety of leisure activities. 
You can relocate your sightseeing programme to a bicycle or jog through the city – we’ve compiled a list of tips and recommendations about everything for you at visitBerlin.de. 

Experience Berlin

and its Sports facilities

entrance of the Olympiastadion Berlin
The Stadion an der Alten Försterei in Berlin Köpenick: Football stadium of 1. FC Union Berlin
© Camera4

Stadion An Der Alten Försterei

Near the small Wuhle River in Köpenick is the traditional venue of 1. FC Union Berlin, inaugurated with a match against Viktoria 89 in 1920. Because an old woodsman's house once stood next to the stadium, the stadium came to be called the "Stadion An Der Alten Försterei" ("Stadium by the Old Woodsman's House"). Although various anti-aircraft positions were set up around the stadium during World War II, the stadium remained fairly intact. It was expanded several times during the post-war GDR years, but there was a lack of funds to renovate the stadium after reunification.

Read more

Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Sportpark: From football to track and field athletics in Berlin
© visitBerlin, Foto: Sarah Lindemann

Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Sportpark

With 19,000 seats Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Sportpark is the third largest stadium in Berlin after the Olympiastadion and the Stadion an der Alten Försterei. Since it opened in 1952, it has served as one of the most important venues for national and international sports events and competitions in the field of football, American football, and athletics. Numerous events, such as the Cup Finals, UEFA matches, the German Bowls, and 18 track and field world records can already be counted as part of the stadium’s amazing history.

Read more

Horst-Dohm-Eisstadion (ice-stadium)
© visitberlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Horst-Dohm-Eisstadion

The surface area of the Horst-Dohm-Eisstadion (ice stadium) is exactly 6170 m². It is located in an extensive sports facility on Forckenbeckstraße, which can be easily reached by both S-Bahn and U-Bahn. You can choose from an Olympic-standard 440 metre speed skating track as well as a figure skating track. So there's plenty of space to dash across the ice like the champions to disco hits, try out your first pirouettes, or cling unsteadily to the side. You can also borrow ice skates of any size at the rink, and have them sharpened if necessary.

Read more

Trabrennbahn Mariendorf

Which sulky will be the first to cross the finish line? A day at this racetrack in Mariendorf offers exciting entertainment for fans of equestrian sports and those experiencing it for the first time.

Read more

Top-level sport in Berlin: The capital’s six largest clubs

Berlin’s top sports clubs are now well known beyond the city limits. These are the football clubs Hertha BSC and Union Berlin, the basketball club Alba Berlin, the ice hockey team the Eisbären, the BR Volleys and the Füchse handball team. 
Don’t miss the chance to take your place in the stands and cheer the teams along. 

Our tip: You’ll receive a discount of up to 50% on your Hertha and Alba tickets with the Berlin WelcomeCard. 

Find more top sports clubs 

Berlin is Germany's sport metropolis. Not only due to the many international events that the city has already experienced: these include the European and World Championships in a variety of sports such as the UEFA Champions League final in 2015.

Berlin also has its top clubs. The “Old Lady” Hertha BSC is a founding member of the football Bundesliga. Berlin's Eisbären have battled their way to seven German ice hockey championship titles. ALBA Berlin is among the top basketball teams in Germany and Europe. Berlin’s Füchse fight for the title in handball on the national and European levels. The Berlin Recycling Volleys have been confirming their dominance at the top of national and international volleyball for years. The 1st FC Union Berlin from Köpenick have worked their way into the second league, in no small part due to the tireless commitment of their fans.

And the Berliners themselves? They bring their passion to every game and ensure a good atmosphere at every match, celebrating their heroes.

Allow yourself to be swept up into Berlin’s sportive atmosphere: 

Leisure sports in Berlin

And now it’s your turn: Do some sport in Berlin! You’ll also find many options to play sport during your holiday in the capital – be it just for fun or with ambition. You’ll find tips here for lakes, as well as indoor and outdoor swimming pools. We have also compiled a list of various leisure and trend sports providers for you. Why not try black light mini golf, for example? On the visitBerlin blog you’ll find our editing team’s most popular jogging routes. Or take to a bike and see all the sights as you cycle through the city.   

You might find this also interesting

Direkt zum Inhalt

Sport in Berlin

Von Spitzensport bis Freizeitsport

Laufveranstaltung im Tiergarten Berlin
Avon Frauenlauf im Tiergarten Berlin mit Blick auf das Brandenburger Tor © Camera4

Wenn Sport, dann in Berlin!

Velothon, ISTAF & Berlin-Marathon! In Berlin erleben Sie 365 Tage im Jahr Spitzensport – zum Zuschauen oder selbst aktiv werden. Die Highlights finden Sie bei uns auf visitBerlin.de
Die Initiative Sportmetropole Berlin hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Berlin als Sportstadt auf Spitzenniveau zu halten und zu vermarkten. Auf der Website finden Sie alle Infos über Berlin als Stadt für den Sport. Informieren Sie sich über die nächsten sportlichen Events in Berlin und feuern Sie die Spieler und Teilnehmer an. 

Unser Reise-Service für einen stressfreien Urlaub in Berlin: Tickets für das Olympiastadium Berlin können Sie hier einfach und bequem online kaufen. So kommen Sie in 3 Minuten zum richtigen Ticket.

Sightseeing, Kultur – und Sport. Ja, das gehört in Berlin zusammen. Besichtigen Sie zum Beispiel große Sportstätten, wie das Olympiastadion. Dort gelangen Sie bei einer Tour sogar bis in die Umkleidekabinen der Berliner Fußballmannschaft Hertha BSC. Schauen Sie sich ein Spiel der Berliner Top-Mannschaften an. Basketball, Fußball, Eishockey, Handball oder Volleyball – Sie haben die Wahl.

Natürlich können Sie auch selbst aktiv werden: Berlin hat Schwimmhallen, Freibäder und zahlreiche Möglichkeiten, verschiedene Freizeitsportarten auszuprobieren.

Sie können Ihr Sightseeing-Programm auf das Fahrrad verlegen oder durch die Stadt joggen – für alles haben wir Ihnen auf visitBerlin.de Tipps und Empfehlungen zusammengestellt.

Spitzensport live erleben

in den Spielstätten unserer Hauptstadt-Clubs.

Der olympische Platz vorm Olympiastadion Berlin.
Das Stadion an der Alten Försterei in Berlin Köpenick: Spielstätte des 1. FC Union Berlin
© Camera4

Stadion An Der Alten Försterei

Dicht an der Wuhle in Köpenick liegt die traditionsreiche Spielstätte des 1. FC Union Berlin, die mit einem Spiel gegen Viktoria 89 im Jahr 1920 eingeweiht wurde. Da neben dem Stadion ein „Alte Försterei“ genanntes Forsthaus stand, setzte sich nach und nach die Bezeichnung „Stadion An Der Alten Försterei“ durch. Trotz diverser Flakstellungen im Umkreis des Stadions blieb es im Zweiten Weltkrieg recht unbeschädigt. Zu DDR-Zeiten baute man es mehrfach aus, doch nach der Wende fehlten die Mittel für eine Sanierung – es galt als Fußballstätte mit nostalgischem Flair.

Weiterlesen

Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Sportpark

Der Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Sportpark ist nach dem Olympiastadion und dem Stadion an der Alten Försterei das drittgrößte Stadion Berlins. Mit seinen 19.000 Sitzplätzen dient es seit seiner Eröffnung im Jahr 1952 als eine der bedeutendsten Veranstaltungsstätten für nationale und internationale Sportevents und Wettkämpfe im Bereich Fußball, American Football oder Leichtathletik. Zahlreiche Veranstaltungen wie Pokalendspiele, UEFA-Spiele und German Bowls sowie 18 Leichtathletik-Weltrekorde konnten in der Geschichte des Stadions schon bewundert werden.

Weiterlesen

Horst-Dohm-Eisstadion
© visitberlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Horst-Dohm-Eisstadion

Genau 6170 m² beträgt die Fläche des Horst-Dohm-Eisstadions in der mit S- und U-Bahn gut erreichbaren, weitläufigen Sportanlage Forckenbeckstraße. Zur Wahl stehen dabei eine olympiareife 400-Meter-Eisschnellauf-, als auch eine Eiskunstlaufbahn. Genug Platz also, um wie die Champions zu Disco-Hits über die Eisfläche zu flitzen, erste Pirouetten zu drehen - oder aber sich noch unsicher an der Bande entlang zu hangeln. Auch Schlittschuhe aller Größen können vor Ort ausgeliehen oder bei Bedarf geschliffen werden.

Weiterlesen

Trabrennbahn Mariendorf

Welcher Sulky wird als Erster ins Ziel gehen? Ein Tag auf der Rennbahn Mariendorf bietet spannende Unterhaltung für alle Freunde des Pferdesportes und die, die es werden möchten.

Weiterlesen

Spitzensport in Berlin: Die sechs großen Hauptstadt-Clubs

Die Berliner Sportclubs des Spitzensports sind inzwischen über die Grenzen Berlins bekannt. Das sind die Fußballclubs Hertha BSC und Union Berlin, die Basketballer von Alba Berlin, die Eishockey-Mannschaft der Eisbären, die BR Volleys und die Handballer von den Füchsen Berlin. Lassen Sie es sich nicht entgehen, bei einem der Teams auf der Zuschauertribüne zu sitzen und mitzufiebern.
Unser Tipp: Mit der Berlin Welcome Card erhalten Sie bis zu 50% Rabatt auf Ihre Tickets für Hertha und Alba.

Noch mehr Spitzensport in Berlin

Wenn Sport, dann in Berlin!

Berlin ist die Sportmetropole Deutschlands. Nicht nur wegen der vielen internationalen Events, die die Stadt schon gesehen hat: Dazu zählen Europa- und Weltmeisterschaften in den unterschiedlichsten Sportarten genauso wie das UEFA Champions League Finale 2015.

Berlin hat dazu noch ihre Spitzenclubs. Die „Alte Dame“ Hertha BSC ist Gründungsmitglied der Fußball-Bundesliga. Die Eisbären Berlin haben sich den Weg zu sieben deutschen Meistertiteln im Eishockey freigekämpft. ALBA Berlin gehört zu den Spitzenmannschaften im deutschen und europäischen Basketball. Die Füchse Berlin kämpfen national und auf europäischer Ebene um Titel im Handball-Sport. Die Berlin Recycling Volleys bestätigen ihre Dominanz in der nationalen und internationalen Volleyball-Spitze seit Jahren. Der 1. FC Union Berlin aus Köpenick hat sich, nicht zuletzt durch den unermüdlichen Einsatz der Fans, in die zweite Liga hochgearbeitet.

Und die Berliner selbst? Die bringen ihr Herzblut in jedes Spiel ein und sorgen für eine gute Stimmung bei jedem Spiel und lassen ihre Helden hochleben.

Lassen Sie sich von der Berliner Sportsstimmung anstecken:

Selbst aktiv werden

Und jetzt Sie: Machen Sie selbst Sport in Berlin! Sie werden in der Hauptstadt auch während Ihres Urlaubs zahlreiche Angebote finden, um Sport zu treiben – sei es nur zum Spaß oder doch mit Ambition. Sie finden hier Tipps für Seen, Freibäder und Schwimmhallen. Wir haben Ihnen außerdem verschiedene Anbieter im Bereich Freizeit- und Trendsport zusammengestellt. Probieren Sie doch mal Schwarzlicht Minigolf aus.  Auf dem visitBerlin-Blog finden Sie die liebsten Joggingstrecken unserer Redaktion. Oder Sie verlegen Ihr Sightseeing auf das Fahrrad und radeln durch die Stadt.

Berlin mit dem Fahrrad an der Glienicker Brücke

Berlin mit dem Fahrrad

Auf vier Rädern durch die Stadt

  • Geführte Touren
  • Tourenvorschläge
  • Tickets für Fahrradtouren

Weiterlesen

Das könnte Sie auch intessieren