Skip to main content
Rennbahn Hoppegarten -  race track near Berlin
Race track Hoppegarten © Frank Sorge/GALOPPFOTO.DE

Rennbahn Hoppegarten

The largest race track in Germany

Whether breathlessly cheering on your favourite to win the race or just lots of fun for the little ones, the Hoppegarten is a popular destination for the whole family.

Tickets

On the outskirts of Berlin is the Hoppegarten race track, home to world-class horse racing for more than 145 years. The largest race track in Germany with its distinctive atmosphere is a great day out for people of all ages.
A day at the races not only offers the thrill of the race and chances to place bets on long-shots or sure wins, but also an entertaining way to spend a day  for the whole family. Visitors enjoy relaxing with a picnic alongside the track or sampling the many culinary delights in the cosy beer garden. And the younger racing fans are certainly given plenty to choose from, too. They can try out a career as a jockey at the pony ride, jump around the bouncy castle and spend time at the free crafts stall or even place a child's wager for a really big prize for little persons. Also a spacious playground and free childcare are available at the track.

Just like Ascot

Many ladies like to add glamorous, creative and fancy hats to a day at the race track, especially on Ladies Day, held each year on Whitsun (Pentecost) Sunday, when Berlin's largest hat competition is held.

The Hoppegarten over the years

The Prussian king and prime minister opened the track on 17 May 1868 on what had once been a hops farm. Berlin quickly became one of the centres of equestrian sport in Germany and the track's success story took off: 430 hectares, 800 horses, 20 racing days, up to 40,000 spectators. Many important races were once held here: the Preis der Diana mare's race as well as the Henckel and Union races and the Grand Prix of Berlin.
The Hoppegarten's history has been shaped by the eras of Berlin history it has seen, from Empire to the Weimar Republic, from the Third Reich to forty years of East Germany and then Reunification. In the first few years of the Second World War, the thoroughbreds were still galloping at the Hoppegarten. But the war took its toll: the grandstand was converted into a munitions plant in 1944 and bombs inflicted severe damage on the building and the track itself. The race horses returned during the Communist years, with the last GDR Derby on 24 June 1990 and the Grand Prix of the GDR on 5 August 1990. One high point in the track's long history was the first German-German race day on 31 March 1990. Tens of thousands of visitors took part in this memorable event less than five months after the fall of the Berlin Wall.
Since privatization in 2008, the Hoppegarten is now the only racecourse in Europe entirely in private hands and is once again German's largest equestrian race track.

 

Book your ticket

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
Rennbahn Hoppegarten: Galopprennbahn bei Berlin
Rennbahn Hoppegarten © Frank Sorge/GALOPPFOTO.DE

Rennbahn Hoppegarten

Die größte Rennbahn Deutschlands

Ob atemlose Spannung beim Pferderennen oder Unterhaltung für die Kleinen: Die Rennbahn Hoppegarten ist ein beliebtes Ausflugsziel für die ganze Familie.

Tickets

Vor den Toren Berlins erstreckt sich die Rennbahn Hoppegarten, die seit über 145 Jahren Rennsport der Spitzenklasse bietet. Die größte Rennbahn Deutschlands ist mit ihrer unverwechselbaren Atmosphäre ein beliebtes Ausflugsziel.

Ein Renntag für die ganze Familie

Der Besuch eines Renntages bietet nicht nur spektakuläre Rennszenen und spannende Wettmöglichkeiten, sondern auch ein Unterhaltungsprogramm für die ganze Familie. Besucher genießen den Nachmittag mit Picknickdecke an der Rennstrecke oder die zahlreichen kulinarischen Highlights im gemütlichen Biergarten. Die kleinen Rennsportfans kommen bei einem vielfältigen Kinderangebot voll auf ihre Kosten. Sie können ihr Jockey-Talent beim Ponyreiten testen, sich auf der Hüpfburg und der kostenlosen Bastelstraße austoben, oder bei einer Kinderspaßwette kleine Preise abräumen. Auch einen großzügigen Spielplatz und kostenfreie Betreuung im Kindergarten stellt die Rennbahn bereit.

Wie in Ascot

Bei vielen Frauen gehören wie einst glamouröse, und ausgefallene Hüte zu einem Tag auf der Rennbahn. Vor allem am Ladies Day am Pfingstsonntag schmücken kreative Hüte die Häupter, denn dann findet Berlins größter Hutwettbewerb statt.

Die Rennbahn Hoppegarten im Wandel der Zeit

Am 17. Mai 1868 eröffneten Kaiser Wilhelm I. und Reichskanzler Otto von Bismarck die Rennbahn auf einem ehemaligen Hopfenanbaugebiet. Berlin entwickelte sich schnell zu einem der Magneten des Pferdesports in Deutschland und schon bald schrieb die Bahn Erfolgsgeschichte: 430 Hektar Fläche, 800 Pferde, 20 Renntage, bis zu 40.000 Zuschauer. Viele wichtige Rennen wurden damals hier ausgetragen – die Stutenrennen Preis der Diana und Henckel-Rennen sowie das Union-Rennen und der Große Preis von Berlin.


Monarchie, Weimarer Republik, Drittes Reich und 40 Jahre DDR – jede dieser Epochen hat die Rennbahn geprägt. In den ersten Jahren während des Zweiten Weltkriegs galoppierten in Hoppegarten noch Vollblüter. Doch der Krieg hinterließ seine Spuren: Die Haupttribüne wurde 1944 zur Rüstungsfabrik umgebaut, Bomben beschädigten die Gebäude und das Geläuf stark. In der DDR-Zeit galoppierten die Rennpferde dann wieder über den Rasen der Hoppegartener Rennstrecke. Das letzte DDR-Derby fand am 24. Juni 1990 statt, das letzte Rennen um den Großen Preis der DDR am 5. August 1990. Ein Höhepunkt in der langen Geschichte der Rennbahn war dann der erste Deutsch-Deutsche Renntag am 31. März 1990. Zehntausende Besucher wollten nach dem Mauerfall an diesem Ereignis teilnehmen und machten es zu einem denkwürdigen Tag.
Seit der Privatisierung im Jahr 2008 ist Hoppegarten als einzige Rennbahn in Europa komplett in privater Hand und wieder das, was sie früher einmal war: Deutschlands größte Rennbahn.

Tickets buchen

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen