Skip to main content
Six Day Race at Velodrom Berlin
Velodrom Berlin © Camera4

Velodrom

Sport and shows

It’s the fastest six days in the city – watch the unique track cycling event at Berlin’s Velodrom.

Tickets

Pumping thighs, nail-biting sprints and high-speed chases are what make the world-famous Six-Day Race one of the highlights of Berlin’s sporting calendar. The Velodrom is where the exciting races are held, and the 250-metre track is regarded as one of the fastest in the world. The Six-Day Race is the perfect mixture of top-class cycling, musical events and shows, and has a tradition going back more than 100 years.

Sport, concerts and shows

As well as the traditional highlight in January, there’s plenty for fans of other sports to enjoy at the Velodrom, including table tennis, basketball tournaments, motocross and figure skating.

The state-of-the-art circular arena in Prenzlauer Berg is also a venue for shows and concerts. Renowned musicians such as Robbie Williams, The Cure and Rammstein have played here in front of up to 12,000 fans.

From a multi-purpose hall to a modern arena

In GDR times, what is now the site of the Velodrom was occupied by the Werner-Seelenbinder-Halle, a multi-purpose hall for sports events, party conferences and concerts. After the old hall was demolished, the Velodrom was completed in 1997. It was originally conceived as part of Berlin’s bid to host the Olympics.

The Velodrom is located beside the swimming and diving centre at the Europasportpark (SSE). Both venues are almost completely sunk into a plateau, so that from outside you can only see the spectacular, wood-panelled roofs, with apple trees growing on them. The inconspicuous exterior belies the actual size of the hall, and in particular the roof structure, which is unique in Europe.

From the circle line to the cycle track

It’s not only the cyclists at the Velodrom who are fast – you can get there quickly too. The arena is directly at Landsberger Allee station on Berlin’s S-Bahn circle line. The Velodrom is also easily reached by tram, only eleven minutes’ ride from Alexanderplatz.

Book your ticket

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
Sechstagerennen im Berliner Velodrom
Velodrom © Camera4

Velodrom

Sport und Show

Es sind die rasantesten sechs Tage in der Stadt: Verfolgen Sie einmalige Radrennen im Berliner Velodrom.

Tickets

Muskulöse Schenkel, beeindruckende Sprints, schnelle Jagden. Das ist das weltberühmte Sechstagerennen, das alljährliche Highlight unter den Berliner Sportevents. Im Velodrom werden die packenden Wettfahrten ausgetragen. Die 250 Meter lange Radrennbahn gilt als eine der schnellsten der Welt. Zum Sechstagerennen erwartet Sie hier die richtige Mischung aus Radsport der Extraklasse und Musik- und Showprogramm – mit einer mehr als 100-jährigen Tradition.

Sport, Konzerte und Shows

Neben dem traditionellen Highlight im Januar dürfen Sie auch als Fan anderer Sportarten im Velodrom jubeln: zum Tischtennis oder Basketballturnier, zum Moto-Cross oder Eiskunstlauf.

Die moderne Arena im Bezirk Prenzlauer Berg bietet auch den Rahmen für Showveranstaltungen und Konzerte. Namhafte Musiker wie Robbie Williams, The Cure oder Rammstein standen hier schon auf der Bühne und begeisterten bis zu 12.000 Zuschauer in der kreisförmigen Arena.

Von der Mehrzweckhalle zur modernen Arena

Auf dem Gelände des heutigen Velodroms stand zu DDR-Zeiten die Werner-Seelenbinder-Halle, eine Mehrzweckhalle für Sportwettkämpfe, SED-Parteitage und Kulisse für Konzerte. Nach deren Abriss wurde das Velodrom 1997 fertigstellt. Ursprünglich war es im Rahmen der Olympiabewerbung Berlins als Olympiasportstätte gedacht.

Das Velodrom liegt neben der Schwimm- und Sprunghalle im Europasportpark (SSE). Beide Wettkampfstätten sind fast vollständig in einem Plateau versenkt. Von außen sieht man nur die spektakulären, mit Holzplatten verkleideten Dachplattenkonstruktionen, auf denen Apfelbäume wachsen. Die tatsächliche Größe der Halle und insbesondere die in Europa einmalige Dachkonstruktion stehen im Kontrast zu diesem unscheinbaren Äußeren.

Von der Ringbahn auf die Radbahn

Rasant sind nicht nur die Radfahrten im Velodrom – auch Sie sind schnell vor Ort. Die Veranstaltungshalle befindet sich direkt an der Ringbahnstation Landsberger Allee. Auch mit der Tram erreichen Sie das Velodrom bequem, beispielsweise in nur elf Minuten vom Alexanderplatz.

Tickets buchen

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen