Skip to main content
Kulturforum Berlin with Neue Nationalgalerie, St. Matthäus Church, Philharmonie, Kunstgewerbemuseumr infront of Potsdamer Platzes
Kulturforum near Potsdamer Platz © visitberlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Kulturforum

Art, music, and science in one spot

This art and culture ensemble, which is not just architecturally diverse, lies between Potsdamer Platz and the Landwehr Canal.

The Kulturforum looks back on an extensive evolutionary and architectural history, which is also reflected in the very different architectural styles of the buildings.

At the end of the 1950s, plans existed for a cultural axis across Berlin. They were based on the ideas of the architect Hans Scharoun, who was at that time president of the Akademie der Künste (Academy of Arts). The wall had not yet been built, and the axis was to extend from the Museum Island in the east to Charlottenburg Palace in the west.

The site of the present-day Kulturforum is located in Mitte. As a result of massive planning interventions during the Nazi era and the devastation of the Second World War, the area there lay fallow. A new cultural centre for a burgeoning post-war Berlin was to be built on it.

It was to provide visitors with the opportunity to enjoy art, listen to music, and study scientific writings in future. The impact of the individual institutes would be heightened by concentrating them on one spot – that was the plan.

Then came the building of the Berlin Wall and the Kulturforum, located close to the wall, became an important prestige project for the West. This not only meant it had to hold its own during the ongoing strife with the GDR regime, but also send a clear message to West Germany. The repatriation of the art and literature outsourced to the Federal Republic of Germany went anything but quickly. The construction of suitable buildings aimed to put pressure on bringing them back to West Berlin.

Everything takes time

A start was made in the 1960s and 1970s with three designs by two internationally renowned architects. The Philharmonie by Hans Scharoun marked the beginning of the construction activity at the Kulturforum. It celebrated its opening in 1963. Its unusual tent-like roof and yellow façade contrasted with the strict, functionalist form of the New National Gallery by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, which opened five years later.

The buildings made St. Matthew’s Church, which has been situated within the complex since the 19th century, seem somewhat antiquated.

Scharoun's long-standing employee Edgar Wisniewski realised the Kammermusiksaal (Chamber Music Hall) and the Musikinstrumentenmuseum (Musical Instrument Museum) according to his plans. The Museum opened in 1984, and the Kammermusiksaal in 1987 to mark the 750th anniversary of the city of Berlin.

In the 1970s, the Staatsbibliothek was built on the other side of Potsdamer Strasse according to Scharoun's designs. It was opened in 1978, six years after the death of the architect. The neighbouring Ibero-American Institute was also based on one of Scharoun's designs.

The construction of the Staatsbibliothek devoured more money than originally estimated, which led to a delay in starting the construction of the other art houses planned.

Museum architecture in transition

West Berlin had already held an architectural competition in 1965 for the design of the entire Kulturforum. The expectations were high, and the most compelling design was to offer no less than a “structural characterisation of what a museum means for us today”.

In the eyes of the jury, no competitor would be able to achieve this ambitious goal. As a compromise, the responsible parties agreed to award the contract to the Stuttgart architect Rolf Gutbrod.

His designs dated back to a period in which the tasks and functions of museum architecture were questioned. What was the reciprocal relationship between the museums and the collections they housed? Which target groups were to be addressed?

The architect considered his designs to be an alternative to the classical and neo-baroque buildings on the Museum Island. His museums should not be intimidating but encourage people of all social strata to visit.

The Kunstgewerbemuseum (Museum of Decorative Arts) opened in 1985. Based on a 20-year-old design, the concept of the building with its brutalist façade and dominant stairwells had become outdated. And it wasn’t well received by the public: the criticism was so devastating, Gutbrod had to resign. It was initially unclear as to how things should proceed with the Kulturforum.

The Munich architects Heinz Hilmer and Christoph Sattler were awarded the contract to revise Gutbrod’s designs for the Kupferstichkabinett (Gallery of Prints and Drawings) and Kunstbibliothek. They changed numerous details and did away with the envisaged exposed concrete columns in the exhibition hall, for example.
The opening took place in 1994. With its façade clad in concrete and clinker brick, the building today is emphatically reserved.

The Gemäldegalerie was also the work of Hilmer and Sattler and opened in 1998. They needed to adapt their design because the location and entrance had been determined by Gutbrod. The architects abandoned prestigious façades and focussed on the quality of the interior design. Classically cut halls with perfect lighting conditions accentuated the precious collection.

The future of the Kulturforum

The New National Gallery has been closed since 2014 due to renovation work and is planned to reopen in 2020. Furthermore, there has long been insufficient exhibition space to display all the collections from the 20th century.

The Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation thus held a competition in 2015 for a new museum building: the Nationalgallerie20, the museum of the 20th century.
Developing the open space between the Philharmonie and New National Gallery is to create a stronger spatial link between all the buildings.

The competition’s winning design came from the Swiss architects Herzog & De Meuron. The opening should take place in the mid-2020s.

Our tips for the Kulturforum

You can find even more culture in the Gropius-Bau, which is within walking distance. Many galleries have opened close to the “Tagesspiegel” building on Potsdamer Strasse. Another recommendable location for exhibitions is Daimler Contemporary Berlin on Alte Potsdamer Strasse. Or you can take a look at the future site of the Bauhaus Archive near Lützowplatz.

If you are interested in history, the Memorial and Information Centre for the Victims of the Nazi “Euthanasia” Murders (Gedenk- und Informationsort für die Opfer der nationalsozialistischen „Euthanasie“-Morde), the Memorial Centre for the German Resistance (Gedenkstätte Deutscher Widerstand), the Topography of Terror (Topographie des Terrors), and the German Spy Museum (Deutsche Spionagemuseum) are good starting points. The Kulturforum is part of the Historic Diplomatic Quarter, which you can explore by foot. Extra tip: guided tours are offered in the Philharmonie on a daily basis [https://www.berliner-philharmoniker.de/philharmonie/fuehrungen/].

Practical information from visitBerlin

The Kulturforum at Potsdamer Platz is connected to the S- and U-Bahn network. Bus lines (M29, M48, 200) will take you from there to the City West, the historical city centre, and Alexanderplatz. To explore the city by public transport, we recommend the Berlin WelcomeCard. It can be supplemented with the museum pass of the National Museums in Berlin. With one admission price you can visit 30 museums free of charge. Children and young people up to the age of 18 can enjoy free admission to many museums.

 

Opening hours

Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday 10:00 – 18:00
Thursday 10:00 – 20:00
Saturday, Sunday 11:00 – 18:00

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
Blick auf den Potsdamer Platz
Kulturforum nahe Potsdamer Platz © visitberlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Kulturforum

Kunst, Musik und Wissenschaft an einem Fleck

Zwischen Potsdamer Platz und Landwehrkanal liegt das nicht nur architektonisch vielfältige Kunst- und Kulturensemble.

Tickets

Das Kulturforum blickt auf eine ausgedehnte Entstehungs- und Baugeschichte zurück. Das spiegelt sich auch in den architektonisch sehr unterschiedlichen Gebäuden wider.

Ende der 1950er Jahre existieren Pläne für eine kulturelle Achse quer durch Berlin. Sie basieren auf Ideen des Architekten Hans Scharoun, dem damaligen Präsidenten der Akademie der Künste. Noch ist die Mauer nicht gebaut, und die Achse soll sich von der Museumsinsel im Osten bis zu Schloss Charlottenburg im Westen erstrecken.

Das Gebiet des heutigen Kulturforums befindet sich in der Mitte. Als Folge massiver Planungseingriffe in der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus und der Zerstörungen des Zweiten Weltkriegs liegen dort Flächen brach. Darauf soll ein neues kulturelles Zentrum für das aufblühende Nachkriegsberlin errichtet werden.

Besucher können hier in Zukunft Kunst genießen, Musik hören und wissenschaftliche Schriften studieren. Die Wirkung der einzelnen Einrichtungen soll sich durch ihre Konzentration auf einem Fleck verstärken – das ist der Plan.

Dann kommt der Mauerbau, und das Kulturforum, nahe der Mauer gelegen, wird zu einem wichtigen Prestigeprojekt für den Westen. Es gilt, im andauernden Wettstreit mit dem DDR-Regime zu bestehen. Aber auch eine klare Botschaft Richtung West-Deutschland zu senden. Die Rückführung der in die Bundesrepublik ausgelagerten Kunst- und Literaturbestände geht alles andere als schnell voran. Der Bau geeigneter Gebäude soll den Druck erhöhen, diese nach West-Berlin zurückzubringen.

Alles braucht seine Zeit

Den Anfang machen in den 1960er und 1970er Jahren drei Entwürfe zweier international renommierter Architekten. Die Philharmonie von Hans Scharoun markiert den Beginn der Bautätigkeit am Kulturforum. Sie feiert im Jahr 1963 Eröffnung. Ihre ungewöhnliche zeltartige Dachform und die gelbe Fassade stehen im Kontrast zu der strengen, funktionalistischen Form der fünf Jahre später eröffneten Neuen Nationalgalerie von Ludwig Mies van der Rohe.

Wie aus der Zeit gefallen wirkt die sich schon seit dem 19. Jahrhundert an Ort und Stelle befindende St. Matthäus-Kirche.

Scharouns langjähriger Mitarbeiter Edgar Wisniewski realisiert den Kammermusiksaal und das Musikinstrumenten-Museum nach dessen Plänen. Das Museum öffnet 1984, der Kammermusiksaal 1987, zur 750-Jahrfeier der Stadt Berlin.

In den 1970er Jahren entsteht nach Scharouns Entwürfen auf der anderen Seite der Potsdamer Straße die Staatsbibliothek. Die Eröffnung findet 1978 statt, sechs Jahre nach dem Tod des Architekten. Auch das benachbarte Ibero-Amerikanische Institut geht auf einen Entwurf Scharouns zurück.
Der Bau der Staatsbibliothek verschlingt mehr Geld als ursprünglich veranschlagt. Dies führt zur Verzögerung des Baubeginns an den weiteren geplanten Kunsthäusern.

Museumsarchitektur im Wandel

Für die Gestaltung des gesamten Kulturforums hatte West-Berlin bereits 1965 einen Architekturwettbewerb ausgerufen. Die Erwartungen sind hoch, der überzeugendste Entwurf soll nicht weniger bieten als eine „bauliche Wesensbestimmung dessen, was heute für uns Museum heißt“.

Dieses ehrgeizige Ziel erreicht in den Augen der Jury kein Wettbewerbsteilnehmer. Als Kompromiss einigen sich die Verantwortlichen darauf, den Auftrag an den Stuttgarter Architekten Rolf Gutbrod zu vergeben.
Dessen Entwürfe stammen aus einer Zeit, in der Fragen nach Aufgaben und Funktionen von Museumsarchitektur aufkommen. In welchem Wechselverhältnis stehen die Museen und die darin befindlichen Sammlungen? Welche Zielgruppen sollen angesprochen werden?

Der Architekt betrachtet seine Entwürfe als Gegensatz zu den klassizistischen und neobarocken Bauten auf der Museumsinsel. Seine Museen sollen nicht einschüchtern, sondern Menschen aller sozialen Schichten zu einem Besuch anregen.
1985 öffnet das Kunstgewerbemuseum. Das Konzept des 20 Jahre zuvor entworfenen Gebäude mit seiner brutalistischen Fassade und den dominanten Treppenhäusern ist zu diesem Zeitpunkt überholt. Und es kommt in der Öffentlichkeit nicht gut an: Die Kritik ist verheerend, sodass Gutbrod seinen Hut nehmen muss. Erst einmal bleibt offen, wie es mit dem Kulturforum weitergehen soll.

Die Münchner Architekten Heinz Hilmer und Christoph Sattler erhalten den Auftrag, Gutbrods Entwürfe für Kupferstichkabinett und Kunstbibliothek zu überarbeiten. Sie verändern zahlreiche Details, beispielweise fallen die vorgesehenen Sichtbetonstützen im Ausstellungssaal weg.
Die Eröffnung erfolgt im Jahr 1994. Heute präsentiert sich die mit Beton und Klinkerstein verkleidete Fassade des Gebäudes betont zurückhaltend.

Die Gemäldegalerie stammt ebenfalls von Hilmer und Sattler und eröffnet 1998. Bei ihrem Entwurf müssen sie sich anpassen, denn Standort und Eingang sind von Gutbrod festgelegt. Die Architekten verzichten auf repräsentative Fassaden und konzentrieren sich auf die Qualität der Innenraumgestaltung. Klassisch geschnittene Säle mit perfekten Lichtverhältnissen bringen die kostbare Sammlung zur Geltung.

Die Zukunft des Kulturforums

Seit 2014 ist die Neue Nationalgalerie wegen Sanierung geschlossen, ihre Wiedereröffnung für 2020 geplant. Zudem reichte die Ausstellungsfläche seit Langem nicht mehr aus, um alle Bestände des 20. Jahrhunderts zu präsentieren.

Daher ruft die Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz 2015 einen Ideenwettbewerb für einen neuen Museumsbau aus: die Nationalgalerie20, das Museum des 20. Jahrhunderts.
Durch die Bebauung der Freifläche zwischen Philharmonie und Neuer Nationalgalerie soll ein stärkerer räumlicher Bezug zwischen allen Gebäuden entstehen.
Der Siegerentwurf des Wettbewerbs stammt von dem Schweizer Architekturbüro Herzog & De Meuron. Die Eröffnung soll Mitte der 2020er Jahre erfolgen.

Grand Tour der Moderne

Zum 100-jährigen Bauhaus-Jubiläum im Jahr 2019 entwickelte der Bauhausverbund eine Grand Tour der Moderne, die Architekturfans durch ganz Deutschland führt. Das Kulturforum ist Bestandteil dieser Themenroute.

Die weiteren Berliner Standorte als Grand Tour der Berliner Moderne:

Grand Tour der Berliner Moderne

 

Unsere Tipps rund ums Kulturforum

Noch mehr Kultur finden Sie im Gropius-Bau, der fußläufig erreichbar ist. Nahe dem „Tagesspiegel“-Gebäude in der Potsdamer Straße haben sich viele Galerien angesiedelt. Eine weitere empfehlenswerte Location für Ausstellungen ist Daimler Contemporary Berlin in der Alten Potsdamer Straße. Oder werfen Sie einen Blick auf die künftige Baustelle der Bauhaus-Archives nahe dem Lützowplatz.

Wenn Sie sich für Geschichte interessieren, sind der Gedenk- und Informationsort für die Opfer der nationalsozialistischen „Euthanasie“-Morde, die Gedenkstätte Deutscher Widerstand, die Topographie des Terrors, aber auch das Deutsche Spionagemuseum gute Anlaufpunkte. Das Kulturforum ist Teil des historischen Diplomatenviertels, das Sie auf einem Spaziergang erkunden können. Extra-Tipp: In der Philharmonie werden täglich Führungen angeboten.

Praktische Infos von visitBerlin

Das Kulturforum am Potsdamer Platz ist an das S- und U-Bahnnetz angebunden. Bus-Linien (M29, M48, 200) bringen Sie von dort in die City West, in die historische Innenstadt und zum Alexanderplatz. Um die Stadt zu erkunden, empfehlen wir für den öffentlichen Nahverkehr die Berlin Welcome Card. Sie lässt sich mit dem Museumspass der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin ergänzen. Mit einem Eintritt können Sie 30 Museen kostenfrei besuchen. Kinder und Jugendliche bis zu 18 Jahren haben in vielen Museen freien Eintritt.

 

Tickets

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag, Mittwoch, Freitag 10:00 – 18:00
Donnerstag 10:00 – 20:00
Samstag, Sonntag 11:00 – 18:00

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen