Skip to main content
Exhibition space of the New National Gallery Berlin
Exhibition space of the New National Gallery Berlin © Thomas Bruns

Neue Nationalgalerie

The world-famous museum of classical modernism is reopening its doors

The Neue Nationalgalerie is one of Berlin's most renowned cultural venues. Immerse yourself in the fascinating worlds of great artists of the 20th century.

Tickets

After six years of restoration work, the Neue Nationalgalerie once again opened its doors on 22 August, 2021. The magnificent collection of 20th century visual art has moved back in. There are also exciting new exhibitions to see as well.

Exterior view of the New National Gallery Berlin
Exterior view of the New National Gallery Berlin © Marcus Ebener

Mies van der Rohe's steel and glass architecture with its vast hall flooded with light has been fascinating visitors with its unique construction since it was built 50 years ago: only eight slender pillars outside the glass façade support the monumental, 65-square-metre coffered roof.

The restoration of the Neue Nationalgalerie barely leaves a trace: "As much Mies as possible"

"Our work was surgical in nature. We hope to have returned this beloved patient seemingly untouched except for it running more smoothly."

Words from British star architect David Chipperfield on the €140 million restoration of Mies van der Rohe's world-famous museum building that he was commissioned with seven years ago. Chipperfield had already undertaken several internationally acclaimed projects in Berlin before, such as the reconstruction of the Neues Museum on Museum Island. The difference to the restoration of the Neue Nationalgalerie is noticeable: although the building was stripped down to its foundations, it has remained as Mies van der Rohe first designed it - even a reproduction of the original carpet has been laid in the exhibition rooms.

Spectacular exhibitions to mark the reopening

The collection rooms on the lower level will be showing the newly curated permanent exhibition entitled The Art of Society: Around 250 first-class paintings and sculptures from the first half of the 20th century by world-famous artists such as Otto Dix, Hannah Höch, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner and Paula Modersohn-Becker will be on display. They represent only a fraction of the Neue Nationalgalerie’s collection of around 1,800 works.

Immerse yourself in the world of the avant-garde and experience works of Expressionism, Cubism and Dada. Current topics such as the relationship between Expressionism and Colonialism, and the emancipation of women in the Weimar Republic are addressed and discussed here.

New National Gallery, exhibition The Art of Society
New National Gallery, exhibition The Art of Society © © Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie / David von Becker

On the western side of the lower level, a door leads into the green outdoor sculpture garden. Inspired by MoMA’s sculpture garden in New York, it was designed as an extension of the museum space. Between plants and sculptures, the garden's water feature is now back in its original location, where a special highlight of the collection, Sky Piece by David Black, can be seen.

The large opening exhibition in the glass hall above is showcasing numerous works by one of the most famous American sculptors of the 20th century: Alexander Calder. The exhibition Minimal/Maximal focuses on his monumental sculptures and his moving wire constructions, from small objects to large sculptures. Calder's art superbly fills the light-flooded exhibition space - through kinetics, sound and interaction.

New National Gallery Exhibition Alexander Calder
New National Gallery Exhibition Alexander Calder © © 2021 Calder Foundation, New York / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York. VG-Bildkunst, Bonn 2021 / Photo by David von Becker

A well-known contemporary artist is also represented in the opening exhibitions of the Neue Nationalgalerie: In Rosa Barba. In a Perpetual Now, Barba screens moving film installations on vintage projectors: lonely scenes, such as deserts with solar panels and oil pumps or corridors devoid of people and empty shelves that spatially connect with objects and sculptures.

The Neue Nationalgalerie: An Icon of Architectural History

The Neue Nationalgalerie, opened in 1968 not far from Potsdamer Platz on the Reichpietschufer, was Mies van der Rohe's last solo work. The building with its flowing, open hall and seemingly floating flat roof is considered to be an icon of architecture. The glass enclosure and the design language reduced to the essentials set the mood for the collection. The concept: temporary exhibitions take place in the main hall, the glass pavilion, while the lower level houses the permanent exhibition.

In the freshly renovated building, a special exhibition is dedicated to the architectural history of the Neue Nationalgalerie and its architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe. The focus is on the construction period (1965-1968) and on the major restoration work performed by David Chipperfield and his team over the last six years (2015-2021). Artworks from the Neue Nationalgalerie’s collection which have a connection with the museum’s architecture provide a visual illustration to complement this historical exhibition.

New National Gallery, exhibition The Art of Society
New National Gallery, exhibition The Art of Society © © Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie / David von Becker

The Neue Nationalgalerie collection

The Neue Nationalgalerie’s collection contains magnificent milestones of painting and sculpture - from classical modernism to the 1980s. German Expressionism forms a focal point, with Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Otto Dix and Max Beckmann as its protagonists. Dalí, Miró and Picasso take us on a journey into Surrealism, while Klee and Kandinsky provide insights into the teachings of the Bauhaus - the world-famous art and design school. On large canvases, colourful and abstract works by the American painters Barnett Newman, Frank Stella and Ellsworth Kelly herald a new era.

Highlights

  • The Neue Nationalgalerie building by Mies van der Rohe - an icon of modern architecture
  • The Pillars of Society (1926), George Grosz
  • Potsdamer Platz (1914), Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
  • Eiffel Tower (1928), Robert Delaunay
  • Head in Brass (1925), Rudolf Belling

Art, culture and politics around Berlin’s Kulturforum

Great art is also right at home in the Gemäldegalerie (Portrait Gallery) at the Kulturforum. Marvel at the famous paintings from the 13th to 18th centuries, including works by Titian, Holbein, Dürer and Rembrandt. The Botticelli collection is one of the most renowned in the world. A few steps away, the Kunstgewerbemuseum (Museum of Decorative Arts) at the  Kulturforum presents precious medieval goldsmith's work, ornately painted maiolica and filigree porcelain. A look at the history of design from the Middle Ages to the present day is also exciting. The Kulturforum opposite Potsdamer Platz is one of Berlin's major cultural centres. Its prestigious museums, the Berlin Philharmonic, the Chamber Music Hall and the Staatsbibliothek are of international standing. Crossing the Großer Tiergarten park from the Kulturforum, you can then reach Bellevue Palace, the official residence of the Federal President, on the banks of the Spree. Prince Ferdinand of Prussia had the stately three-wing complex built as a pleasure palace in the 18th century.

Information for your visit to the Neue Nationalgalerie

You can easily reach the Neue Nationalgalerie by taking the U2 underground line to the Potsdamer Platz station. The S-Bahn lines S1, S2 and S25 also stop here. The visitor entrance to the Neue Nationalgalerie is located at Potsdamer Straße 50. With the 3-Day Berlin Museum Pass you can visit the exhibition free of charge.

Tickets

Opening hours (additional information)

Please note: The current opening and closing hours and special hygiene rules for the Covid-19 are available on this website.

Tuesday - Sunday 10.00 am - 6.00 pm

Thursday 10.00 am - 8.00 pm

Direkt zum Inhalt
Ausstellungsraum der Neuen Nationalgalerie Berlin
Ausstellungsraum der Neuen Nationalgalerie Berlin © Thomas Bruns

Neue Nationalgalerie

Das weltberühmte Museum der Klassischen Moderne öffnet wieder seine Türen

Eine der großen Berliner Kulturadressen ist die Neue Nationalgalerie. Tauchen Sie ein in die faszinierenden Welten großer Künstler des 20. Jahrhunderts.

Tickets

Nach sechsjähriger Sanierung öffnete die Neue Nationalgalerie am 22. August 2021 auf's Neue ihre Türen. Die großartige Sammlung bildender Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts ist dort wieder eingezogen. Zusätzlich gibt es aufregende neue Ausstellungen zu sehen.

Außenansicht der Neuen Nationalgalerie Berlin
Außenansicht der Neuen Nationalgalerie Berlin © Marcus Ebener

Die Stahl-Glas-Architektur Mies van der Rohes, eine weite, lichtdurchflutete Halle, faszinierte schon vor 50 Jahren durch eine einzigartige Konstruktion: Nur acht, schlank aufsteigende Stützpfeiler außerhalb der Glasfassade tragen das monumentale, 65 mal 65 Meter große Kassettendach.

Sanierung der Neuen Nationalgalerie hinterlässt kaum Spuren: "So viel Mies wie möglich"

"Unsere Arbeit war von chirurgischer Natur. Wir hoffen, den Patienten dem Anschein nach unberührt entlassen zu haben - nur in viel besserem Zustand."

Worte von David Chipperfield zur 140 Millionen teuren Sanierung des weltberühmten Museumbaus von Mies van der Rohe. Vor sieben Jahren wurde der britische Star-Architekt damit beauftragt. Chipperfield hat in Berlin schon mehrere international gewürdigte Arbeiten vorgenommen, zum Beispiel den Wiederaufbau des Neuen Museums auf der Museumsinsel. Der Unterschied zur Sanierung der Neuen Nationalgalerie ist spürbar: Obwohl der Bau bis in seine Fundamente auseinander genommen wurde, ist er geblieben, wie ihn Mies van der Rohe konzipierte - sogar ein original nachgewebter Teppich wurde in in Ausstellungsräumen wieder verlegt.

Spektakuläre Ausstellungen zur Wiedereröffnung

Die Sammlungsräume des Untergeschosses zeigen die neu konzipierte Dauerausstellung "Die Kunst der Gesellschaft": Rund 250 erstklassige Gemälde und Skulpturen aus der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts präsentieren weltbekannnte Künstler wie Otto Dix, Hannah Höch, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner oder Paula Modersohn-Becker. Sie stellen nur einen Bruchteil der rund 1.800 Werke umfassenden Sammlung der Nationalgalerie dar.

Tauchen Sie ein in die Welt der Avantgardisten und erleben Sie Werke des Expressionismus, des Kubismus oder Dada. Aktuelle Themen wie die Bezüge zwischern Expressionismus und Kolonialismus oder wie die Emanzipation der Frauen in der Weimarer Republik werden hier aufgegriffen und thematisiert.

Neue Nationalgalerie, Ausstellung Die Kunst der Gesellschaft
Neue Nationalgalerie, Ausstellung Die Kunst der Gesellschaft © © Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie / David von Becker

An der Westseite des Untergeschosses führt eine Tür in den grünen Skulpturengarten unter freiem Himmel. Der ist inspiriert vom Skulpturengarten des MoMa in New York und als eine Erweiterung des Museumsraumes konzipiert. Zwischen Pflanzen und Skulpturen befindet sich nun wieder das Wasserbecken des Gartens an seinem ursprünglichen Standort, in dem ein besonderes Highlight der Sammlung, das "Sky Piece" von David Black, zu sehen ist.

Die große Eröffnungsausstellung in der oberen Glashalle zeigt zahlreiche Werke eines der berühmtesten amerikanischen Bildhauer des 20. Jahrhunderts: Alexander Calder. Im Fokus der Ausstellung "Minimal/Maximal" stehen seine Monumentalplastiken und seine beweglichen Drahtkonstruktionen, von Kleinstobjekten hin zu Großskulpturen. Calders Kunst erobert den lichtdurchfluteten Ausstellungsraum - durch Kinetik, Klang und Interaktion.

Neue Nationalgalerie Ausstellung Alexander Calder
Neue Nationalgalerie Ausstellung Alexander Calder © © 2021 Calder Foundation, New York / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York. VG-Bildkunst, Bonn 2021 / Photo by David von Becker

Auch eine bekannte zeitgenössische Künstlerin ist im Eröffnungsreigen der Neuen Nationalgalerie vertreten: In der Ausstellung "Rosa Barba. In a Perpetual Now" zeigt Barba mit Vintage-Projektoren bewegte Filminstallationen: einsame Szenen, ob Wüsten mit Solaranlagen und Ölpumpen oder menschenleere Gänge und Regale, die sich mit Objekten und Skulpturen räumlich verbinden.

Die Neue Nationalgalerie: Ikone der Architekturgeschichte

Es ist Mies van der Rohes letztes eigenständiges Werk, die 1968 eröffnete Neue Nationalgalerie unweit vom Potsdamer Platz am Reichpietschufer. Der Bau mit der fließenden, offenen Halle und dem schwebenden Flachdach gilt als eine Ikone der Architektur. Die Rundumverglasung und die auf das Wesentliche reduzierte Formensprache stimmen auf die Sammlung ein. Das Konzept, welches auch heute gilt: In der Haupthalle, dem Glaspavillon, finden Wechselausstellungen statt, im Untergeschoss geht es zur Dauerausstellung.

Im frisch sanierten Gebäude ist der Baugeschichte der Neuen Nationalgalerie und ihrem Architekten Ludwig Mies van der Rohe eine besondere Ausstellung gewidmet. Der Fokus liegt auf der Bauzeit (1965–1968) und auf der Grundinstandsetzung durch David Chipperfield und seinem Team in den letzten sechs Jahren (2015–2021). Kunstobjekte aus der Sammlung der Nationalgalerie, die einen Bezug zur Architektur des Museums aufweisen, veranschaulichen die dokumentarische Ausstellung.

Neue Nationalgalerie, Ausstellung Die Kunst der Gesellschaft
Neue Nationalgalerie, Ausstellung Die Kunst der Gesellschaft © © Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie / David von Becker

Die Sammlung der Neuen Nationalgalerie

Der Bestand der Nationalgalerie birgt großartige Meilensteine der Malerei und Bildhauerkunst – von der klassischen Moderne bis in die 1980er-Jahre. Der Deutsche Expressionismus bildet einen Schwerpunkt. Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Otto Dix, und Max Beckmann sind ihre Protagonisten. Dalí, Miró und Picasso entführen in den Surrealismus. Klee und Kandinsky geben mit ihren Werken Einblicke in die Lehre vom Bauhaus – der weltberühmten Kunst- und Designschmiede. Auf großen Leinwänden, abstrakt und bunt, läuten die amerikanischen Maler Barnett Newman, Frank Stella und Ellsworth Kelly eine neue Ära ein.

Highlights

  • Bau der Nationalgalerie von Mies van der Rohe – eine Ikone der modernen Architektur
  • "Stützen der Gesellschaft" (1926), George Grosz
  • „Potsdamer Platz“ (1914), Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
  • „Tour Eiffel" (1928), Robert Delaunay
  • „Kopf in Messing“ (1925), Rudolf Belling

Kunst, Kultur und Politik rund um das Berliner Kulturforum

Große Kunst ist auch in der Gemäldegalerie im Kulturforum zu Hause. Staunen Sie über die namhaften Bilder des 13. bis 18. Jahrhunderts, unter anderem von Tizian, Holbein, Dürer und Rembrandt. Die Botticelli-Sammlung zählt zu den renommiertesten der Welt. Wenige Schritte entfernt präsentiert das Kunstgewerbemuseum am Kulturforum kostbare mittelalterliche Goldschmiedearbeiten, kunstvoll bemalte Majolika und filigrane Porzellane. Spannend ist auch ein Blick in die Geschichte des Designs vom Mittelalter bis in die Gegenwart. Überhaupt ist das Kulturforum gegenüber dem Potsdamer Platz eines der großen kulturellen Zentren Berlins. Seine bedeutenden Museen, die Philharmonie, der Kammermusiksaal und die Staatsbibliothek haben internationale Bedeutung. Überqueren Sie vom Kulturforum aus den Großen Tiergarten, gelangen Sie am Spreeufer zum Schloss Bellevue, dem Amtssitz des Bundespräsidenten. Prinz Ferdinand von Preußen lässt die stattliche Dreiflügelanlage im 18. Jahrhundert als Lustschloss errichten.

Infos für Ihren Besuch der Neuen Nationalgalerie

Die Neue Nationalgalerie erreichen Sie einfach mit der U-Bahn-Linie U2 bis Station Potsdamer Platz. Auch die S-Bahn-Linien S1, S2 und S25 halten hier. Der Besuchereingang der Neuen Nationalgalerie befindet sich an der Potsdamer Straße 50. Mit dem 3-Tage-Museumspass Berlin können Sie die Ausstellung kostenlos besuchen.

Tickets

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag 10:00 – 18:00
Mittwoch 10:00 – 18:00
Donnerstag 10:00 – 20:00
Freitag 10:00 – 18:00
Samstag 10:00 – 18:00
Sonntag 10:00 – 18:00
Öffnungszeiten (Zusatzinfos)

Bitte um Beachtung: Die derzeitigen, Covid-19-bedingten Öffnungs- und Schließzeiten sowie die besonderen Hygieneregeln entnehmen Sie bitte der Webseite.