Skip to main content

The virtual exhibition "Standing by the Wall - Berlin 1990" with an extensive selection of photographs by Josef Wolfgang Mayer will be on view at the Koschmieder Gallery until the end of the year.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: Standing by the Wall – Berlin 1990, Josef Wolfgang Mayer
© visitBerlin, Grafik: Mona Schäfer

As a dramatic crystallization point of the Cold War, the construction and fall of the Wall create a bracket that defines the second half of the 20th century both temporally and historically. Images of the beginning and the end of the division of Germany and Berlin are interdependent and have become part of our collective memory.

Thirty years ago, in the summer of 1990, photographer Josef Wolfgang Mayer and gallery owner Annette Koschmieder were working and living in the western part of Berlin in what was then the district of Kreuzberg 36, in the shadow of "the Wall." The world behind the border fortifications seemed far away, the Wall insurmountable. From the upper floors of adjoining houses, one could follow what was everyday life in the so-called "death strip": patrol vehicles driving up and down, armed border guards peering west from the watchtowers, and at night the strip shone illuminated as bright as day from the dark east.

With the fall of the Wall in the fall of 1989, everything changed very quickly. The border fortifications became permeable, the patrol vehicles disappeared, and the watchtowers, abandoned by the personnel, rose orphaned and useless out of the stone desert, providing ample wall space for new graffiti.

The death strip, i.e., the area between the 4-meter-high concrete wall that had been erected to the west and the wall on the eastern side, became walkable and the view from there to the west and east became possible.

The photographer Josef Wolfgang Mayer expressed his amazement at what was now visible with his photographs. In the summer of 1990, before reunification, he took some extraordinary pictures of the Berlin Wall and its surroundings. The color photographs transport us directly into the historical "in-between" of those days and show the Berlin Wall, its breakthroughs and remnants.

The photographs are photographed as triptychs, expanding the field of vision into a panorama and aesthetically picking up on the simultaneity of separation and connection.The work in large format creates precise images, making visible the abundance of details that tell their stories about those tumultuous days and record the gradual changes for our memories.

The dangers that once emanated from this place are still palpable, as is the yearning for connection and change. People and vehicles make their way through improvised crossings and swiftly reconstructed streets. Brownfields emerge as free architectural forms between the burst seams of stone and barbed wire. The summer of freedom had begun. The wound that the Wall had cut across the city and the countryside is still clearly visible - the scar can still be felt today.

The official demolition of the inner-city Wall began on June 13, 1990, and the roughly 1.7 million tons of "construction debris" were quickly removed. Except for short sections that remained as memorials, the Wall disappeared within a few months.

The color photographs by Josef Wolfgang Mayer are contemporary witnesses and lore. The virtual exhibition of the Koschmieder Gallery is complemented by the illustrated book "Standing by the Wall - Berlin 1990" (Verlag Buchkunst Berlin), which takes up the principle of triptychs in its design and becomes part of the journey through time to which Josef Wolfgang Mayer invites us with his photographs.
Additional information

Direkt zum Inhalt

Die virtuelle Ausstellung „Standing by the Wall – Berlin 1990“  mit einer umfangreichen Auswahl der Fotografien von Josef Wolfgang Mayer wird  bis zum Ende des Jahres in der Galerie Koschmieder zu sehen sein.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: Standing by the Wall – Berlin 1990, Josef Wolfgang Mayer
© visitBerlin, Grafik: Mona Schäfer

Als dramatischer Kristallisationspunkt des Kalten Krieges erzeugen Mauerbau und Mauerfall eine Klammer, welche die zweite Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts zeitlich wie auch historisch definiert. Bilder vom Anfang und vom Ende der Teilung Deutschlands und Berlins bedingen einander und sind in unser kollektives Gedächtnis eingegangen.

Vor 30 Jahren, im Sommer 1990, arbeiteten und lebten der Fotograf Josef Wolfgang Mayer und die Galeristin Annette Koschmieder im westlichen Teil von Berlin im damaligen Bezirk Kreuzberg 36, im Schatten „der Mauer“. Die Welt hinter den Grenzanlagen schien weit weg, die Mauer unüberwindbar. Aus den oberen Etagen angrenzender Häuser konnte man verfolgen, was im sogenannten „Todesstreifen“ Alltag war: Patrouillenfahrzeuge, die auf und ab fuhren, von den Wachtürmen spähten bewaffnete Grenzsoldaten gen Westen und nachts leuchtete der Streifen aus dem dunklen Osten taghell illuminiert.

Mit dem Mauerfall im Herbst 1989 wurde sehr schnell alles anders. Die Grenzanlage wurde durchlässig, die Patrouillenfahrzeuge verschwanden, die Wachtürme, vom Personal verlassen, ragten verwaist und nutzlos aus der Steinwüste und boten reichlich Wandfache für neue Graffitis.

Der Todesstreifen, also das Gebiet zwischen der 4 m hohen Betonmauer, die Richtung Westen errichtet worden war und der Mauer auf der östlichen Seite, wurde begehbar und der Blick von dort nach Westen und Osten möglich.

Der Fotograf Josef Wolfgang Mayer hat seinem Staunen über das, was nun sichtbar wurde, mit seinen Fotografien Ausdruck verliehen. Im Sommer 1990, noch vor der Wiedervereinigung, gelangen ihm außergewöhnliche Bilder der Berliner Mauer und ihrer Umgebung. Die Farbfotografien versetzen uns direkt in das historisches „Zwischenland“ jener Tage und zeigen die Berliner Mauer, deren Durchbrüche und Überreste.

Die Aufnahmen sind als Triptychen fotografiert, das Sehfeld wird so zum Panorama erweitert und greift ästhetisch die Gleichzeitigkeit von Trennung und Verbindung auf.
Die Arbeit im Großformat schafft präzise Abbildungen, macht die Fülle an Details sichtbar, die ihre Geschichten über diese stürmischen Tage erzählen und die schrittweisen Veränderungen für unsere Erinnerungen festhalten.

Die Gefahren, die von diesem Ort einst ausgingen, sind ebenso noch spürbar wie die Sehnsucht nach Verbindung und Veränderung. Menschen und Fahrzeuge bahnen sich ihre Wege durch improvisierte Übergänge und zügig wieder hergestellte Straßenzüge. Es entstehen Brachen als freie architektonische Formen zwischen den aufgeplatzten Nähten aus Stein und Stacheldraht. Der Sommer der Freiheit hatte begonnen. Die Wunde, die die Mauer quer durch die Stadt und das Land geschlagen hatte, ist noch deutlich sichtbar – die Narbe ist noch heute zu spüren.

Der offizielle Abriss der innerstädtischen Mauer begann am 13. Juni 1990. Die rund  1,7 Millionen Tonnen „Bauschutt“ wurden rasch abgetragen. Bis auf kurze Abschnitte, die als  Mahnmal erhalten blieben, verschwand die Mauer innerhalb weniger Monate.

Die Farbfotografien von Josef Wolfgang Mayer sind Zeitzeugen und Überlieferung. Sie geben den Nachgeborenen eine erzählerische wie auch genaue Sichtweise auf die Zeit nach den ersten Monaten der „friedlichen Revolution“.Die virtuelle Ausstellung der Galerie Koschmieder wird durch den Bildband „Standing by the Wall – Berlin 1990“ (Verlag Buchkunst Berlin) ergänzt, der gestalterisch das Prinzip der Triptychen aufnimmt und Teil der Zeitreise wird, zu der uns Josef Wolfgang Mayer mit seinen Fotografien einlädt.
Zusätzliche Informationen