Skip to main content

On a total of five stages and in a large outdoor area, an exciting program full of literature, performances and live music, comedy and poetry with writers and artists from Africa and the Diaspora will be offered.

African Book Festival 2022
African Book Festival 2022 © African Book Festival 2022

For three days, authors will explore this year's theme, "Yesterday.Today.Tomorrow." In panels, they reflect on the influence of older generations on current writing and ask for new forms, styles and global stories.

The youngest can participate actively on Family Day. In cooperation with FEZ Berlin, there will be children's book readings, face painting, water games and painting classes, picture book cinema, and discussion panels on topics such as empowerment and (e.g. black or bi-national) parenthood.


curated by Lidudumalingani


In addition, there will be a book table, food trucks with African food and market stalls with fashion, arts and crafts.

The AFRICAN BOOK FESTIVAL brings the most renowned authors, poets and artists from Africa and the Diaspora to Berlin every year.

  • READINGS
  • POESIE
  • FILM
  • MUSIC
  • PERFORMANCES
  • PANEL DISCUSSIONS
  • LECTURES
Since 2018, the African Book Festival has provided a platform for intellectual debate and contemporary literature from the African continent.

The festival goes far beyond the mere presentation of new books and authors. It also has a political function.

The authors who come to the African Book Festival are rarely to be found on German bookshelves, although they are internationally known and have often been awarded the most important literary prizes in the world.


A rather one-sided portrayal of the African continent as a place of animals and savannahs and at the same time as a place of doom in the form of poverty, flight, hardships and violence is perpetuated by a lack of selection and translations in the local bookstores and perpetuates prejudices.

The aim of the festival is therefore to promote greater awareness of the existence of intellectual debates, outstanding art and especially excellent contemporary literature in all 54 recognized African countries and to enter into conversation. At the same time, Berlin will be further established as a cosmopolitan cultural center.

The festival program is designed by a different African literary personality each year, which means that new accents are always set, while the immense diversity of Africa is taken into account with a changing regional, linguistic and cultural focus.

Through the enthusiasm for literature, the African Book Festival connects people in Europe and Africa, creates space for intercultural dialogue at eye level and thus enables a change of perspective that is important in the Berlin area and unique in this dimension.

Buy ticket

Additional information
Events
Datum
Napoleon Komplex
Datum
Napoleon Komplex
Datum
Napoleon Komplex

Direkt zum Inhalt

Auf insgesamt fünf Bühnen und in einer großen Outdoor Area wird ein spannendes Programm voller Literatur, Performances und Live-Musik, Comedy und Poesie mit Schriftsteller*innen und Künstler*innen aus Afrika und der Diaspora geboten.

African Book Festival 2022
African Book Festival 2022 © African Book Festival 2022

Drei Tage lang beschäftigen sich Autor*innen mit dem diesjährigen Thema „Yesterday.Today.Tomorrow“. In Panels reflektieren sie den Einfluss älterer Generationen auf aktuelles Schreiben und fragen nach neuen Formen, Stilen und globalen Geschichten.

Die Jüngsten können am Family Day akiv mitmachen. In Kooperation mit dem FEZ Berlin finden Kinderbuchlesungen, Kinderschminken, Wasserspiele und Malkurse, Bilderbuchkino und Diskussionsrunden zu Themen wie Empowerment und (z.B. Schwarze oder bi-nationale) Elternschaft statt.


kuratiert von Lidudumalingani

Dazu gibt es einen ein Büchertisch, Food-Trucks mit afrikanischem Essen und Marktstände mit Mode, Kunst und Handwerk.

Das AFRICAN BOOK FESTIVAL bringt jährlich die bekanntesten Autor*innen,  Poet*innen und  Künstler*innen aus  Afrika und der Diaspora nach Berlin. 

  • LESUNGEN
  • POESIE
  • FILM
  • MUSIK
  • PERFORMANCES
  • PODIUMSDISKUSSIONEN
  • VORTRÄGE
Seit 2018 bietet das African Book Festival eine Plattform für intellektuelle Debatten und zeitgenössische Literatur des afrikanischen Kontinents.

Dabei geht das Festival weit über das bloße Präsentieren neuer Bücher und Autor*innen hinaus. Ihm kommt auch eine politische Funktion zu.

Die Autor*innen, die zum African Book Festival kommen, sind nur selten in den deutschen Bücherregalen zu finden, obwohl sie international bekannt und nicht selten mit den wichtigsten Literaturpreisen der Welt ausgezeichnet wurden.

Eine eher einseitige Darstellung des afrikanischen Kontinents als Ort der Tiere und Savannen und gleichzeitig als Ort des Untergangs in Form von Armut, Flucht, Nöten und Gewalt schreibt sich durch mangelnde Auswahl und fehlende Übersetzungen in den hiesigen Buchläden fort und verfestigt Vorurteile.

Ziel des Festivals ist es daher ein größeres Bewusstsein für die Existenz intellektueller Debatten, hervorragender Kunst und insbesondere ausgezeichneter zeitgenössischer Literatur in allen 54 anerkannten afrikanischen Ländern zu fördern und ins Gespräch zu kommen. Gleichzeitig wird Berlin als weltoffenes kulturelles Zentrum weiter etabliert.

Das Festivalprogramm wird in jedem Jahr von einer anderen afrikanischen literarischen Persönlichkeit gestaltet, was zur Folge hat, dass immer neue Akzente gesetzt werden, während mit einer wechselnden regionalen, sprachlichen und kulturellen Fokussierung der immensen Vielseitigkeit Afrikas Rechnung getragen wird.

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
Napoleon Komplex
Datum
Napoleon Komplex
Datum
Napoleon Komplex