Skip to main content

Babylon Berlin - it's THE TV series from Berlin. It portrays the Berlin of the 1920s - the exciting city of sins and the emerging metropolis. Star director Tom Tykwer together with Henk Handloegten and Achim von Borries have elaborately set the stage for the most expensive German TV series. With a lot of attention to detail, the Berlin of the era comes alive. The series starts on October 13 on German SKY.

All about Babylon Berlin

A journey into the 1920s

The series celebrates the myth of the twenties between economic crisis and inflation, the intoxicating dance on the volcano, and the journey to modernity. At the same time, it is the first German TV series to show how national socialism slowly spread and the Weimar Republic came to an end.

 

Berlin as a protagonist of the series

The city of Berlin plays an important role in the series. Director Achim von Borries said: "The city of Berlin is clearly the focal point of our series. In 1929, Berlin was international, magical, a cosmopolitan capital that attracted people all around the world. It was a real challenge to create Berlin in the late 1920s. The Neue Berliner Strasse, designed by our production designer Uli Hanisch for Babelsberg studio, made it possible for us to film street scenes from various parts of Berlin."

Top locations

Where was it filmed?

Babylon Berlin: Wolter (PETER KURTH) mit Charlotte Ritter (LIV LISA FRIES)
Altes Bild des Delphie Kinos in Weißensee
© Foto: Jean Moeller BERLIN

Former cinema Delphi

The former cinema Delphi in Weißensee is transformed into the Moka Efti bar for Babylon Berlin, where people celebrate in high spirits. Charlie Ritter parties and dances here at a roaring party full of glamour and decadence. The silent film cinema …

Read more

View across the Alexanderplatz
© (c) visumate

Alexanderplatz

Many scenes from the TV series Babylon Berlin are set in Alexanderplatz. This is where the "Rote Burg" is, the police department where Gereon Rath works. The square can easily be seen in the trailer for the series - of course without the TV Tower and …

Read more

Exterioir view Berliner Town Hall with the fontain
© ©2009 BTM/Scholvien

Red Town hall

The interior shots were filmed for the police department in which Gereon Rath works in the Red Town Hall. The original police department building on Alexanderplatz, called the Rote Burg, was built at the end of the 19th century and was the largest …

Read more

Films from and in Berlin

Discover the film city of Berlin. From innovative silent films to the current blockbusters, Berlin has played the leading role in numerous films. We have put together 11 tips for special films in Berlin, from Berlin, and about Berlin. The biggest German film production company, UFA, is celebrating 100-years since its founding in 2017. The Museum of Film and Television shows its changing history in a large exhibition. In addition to the Museum of Film and Television, there are other museums dedicated to film, photography, and design in Berlin. Go on a discovery tour.

Berlinale: Roter Teppich vor dem Berlinale Palast in Berlin

Film city Berlin

Films, stars and red carpets

  • Where to watch movies: Overview of cinemas
  • Meet the stars: VIP spotting
  • What was shot where? Film locations

 

Read more

The 20s in Berlin

The 20s in Berlin

You might find this also interesting

Direkt zum Inhalt

Babylon Berlin – das ist DIE Serie aus Berlin. Sie erzählt vom Berlin der 20er Jahre – dem aufregenden Sündenbabel und der aufstrebenden Metropole. Star-Regisseur Tom Tykwer hat zusammen mit Henk Handloegten und Achim von Borries die teuerste deutsche Serie aufwändig inszeniert. Mit viel Liebe zum Detail wird das Berlin jener Zeit lebendig. "Babylon Berlin" läuft ab 13. Oktober auf SKY und dann 2018 in der ARD.

Alles über Babylon Berlin

Eine Reise in die Zwanziger Jahre

Die Serie feiert den Mythos der Zwanziger Jahre zwischen Wirtschaftskrise und Inflation, dem rauschenden Tanz auf dem Vulkan und den Weg in die Moderne. Zugleich zeigt sie als erste deutsche Serie, wie sich langsam der Nationalsozialismus ausbreitet und die Weimarer Republik beendet.

Berlin als Protagonist der Serie

Die Stadt Berlin spielt eine wichtige Rolle in der Serie. So sagte Regisseur  Achim  von  Borries:  „Die  Stadt  Berlin  steht  ganz  klar  im Mittelpunkt unserer Serie. 1929 war Berlin international, magisch, eine kosmopolitische Hauptstadt, die alle Welt anzog. Es war eine echte Herausforderung, das Berlin der späten 20er Jahre zu erschaffen. Die Neue Berliner Straße, die unser Szenenbildner Uli Hanisch für Studio Babelsberg entworfen hat, machte es uns möglich, Straßenzüge von verschiedensten Stadtteilen Berlins zu bespielen.“

Top-Drehorte

Wo wurde was gedreht?

Babylon Berlin: Wolter (PETER KURTH) mit Charlotte Ritter (LIV LISA FRIES)
Ausblick über den Alexanderplatz
© (c) visumate

Alexanderplatz

Am Alexanderplatz spielen mehrere Szenen in der Serie "Babylon Berlin". Hier befindet sich die „Rote Burg“, das Polizeipräsidium, in dem Gereon Rath arbeitet. Bereits im Trailer zur Serie ist der Platz gut zu sehen – natürlich ohne Fernsturm und DDR …

Weiterlesen

Außenansicht Berliner Rathaus mit Brunnen
© ©2009 BTM/Scholvien

Rotes Rathaus

Im Roten Rathaus wurden die Innenaufnahmen für das Polizeipräsidium gedreht, in dem Gereon Rath arbeitet. Das Originalgebäude des Polizeipräsidiums am Alexanderplatz, die sogenannte Rote Burg, wurde Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts erbaut und war neben dem …

Weiterlesen

Film in Berlin und aus Berlin

Entdecken Sie die Filmstadt Berlin. Von innovativen Stummfilmen bis zum aktuellen Blockbustern hat Berlin in zahlreichen Filmen die Hauptrolle gespielt. Wir haben für Sie Tipps für besondere Filme in Berlin, aus Berlin und über Berlin zusammengestellt. Die wichtigste deutsche Filmproduktionsfirma, die UFA, feiert 2017 ihr 100-jähriges Bestehen. Das Museum für Film und Fernsehen zeigt ihre wechselvolle Geschichte in einer großen Ausstellung. Neben dem Museum für Film und Fernsehen gibt es in Berlin weitere Museen,  die sich Film, Fotografie und Design widmen. Gehen Sie auf Entdeckungstour.

Berlinale: Roter Teppich vor dem Berlinale Palast in Berlin

Filmstadt Berlin

Filme, Stars und Glamour

  • Wo die Filme laufen: Übersicht der Kinos
  • Wo Sie die Stars treffen: Promispotting
  • Wo wurde was gedreht? Drehorte

 

Weiterlesen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren