Skip to main content

The Transformation of Matter Creates Light is Kévin Bray’s most comprehensive immersive installation to date. Set to open at Trauma Bar und Kino on 17 September 2022, the exhibition will showcase the interdisciplinary artist’s latest work— an automated choreography of moving screens that produce large light sculptures in Trauma Bar und Kino’s main space.

Kévin Bray, wooden bas relief with projection, installation view from Wills Wheels Wells solo show at Future Gallery Berlin
Kévin Bray, wooden bas relief with projection, installation view from Wills Wheels Wells solo show at Future Gallery Berlin © Andrea Rosetti

Exhibited here for the first time, Bray’s installation invites us to experience the visual mapping and exploration of technically enhanced human transformations. In this work, the artist and video maker employs a technique he developed as part of a research residency earlier this year in AlUla, Saudi Arabia, which uses different layers to assemble his light sculptures. 

Bray’s works and installations are distinguished through multimedia approaches, particularly the technique of projection / video mapping. It uses a projector to cast light on arbitrarily structured surfaces in a tailored way, whereby video projections seamlessly layer themselves like a new skin to interact mutually on top of our physical reality. In a universe that keeps creating infinitely more complex structures, from atoms and molecules to planets and living creatures, Kévin Bray’s exhibition at Trauma Bar und Kino highlights and celebrates the urge to change and transform ourselves to adapt to our inner and outer surroundings. Alongside this installation will be displayed a site-specific mapping which takes viewers through bright, shape-shifting landscapes and his video Morpher that acts as the spine and living archive of his artistic practice. All sharing the same goal: to create light. 

There was less light in the universe last week than today, and there will be more light in the universe next week than today. (Kévin Bray)
Additional information
Kévin Bray 
The Transformation of Matter Creates Light
17 September – 16 October 2022
Opening: 17 September, 2022, 8 pm – 3 am 
Doors open: 8 pm
Live Performances: Nunguja, DJ Lag, Tati Au Miel 
Trauma Bar und Kino
Heidestraße 50, 10557 Berlin 
Tickets: 15 Euro, https://ra.co/events/1576741 

Opening Hours
The exhibition can be visited every Friday, 5 pm – 9 pm (admission free) and during the accompanying events (with a ticket) as well as by personal appointment—please see the website for exact dates and times: www.traumabarundkino.de

Direkt zum Inhalt

The Transformation of Matter Creates Light ist Kévin Brays bislang umfassendstes immersives Projekt. Im Rahmen der Ausstellung, die am 17. September 2022 in der Trauma Bar und Kino eröffnet, wird das neueste Werk des interdisziplinär arbeitenden Künstlers und Filmemachers gezeigt:Eine automatisierte Choreografie aus beweglichen Bildschirmen, die im Hauptraum von Trauma Bar und Kino große Lichtskulpturen generieren.

Kévin Bray, wooden bas relief with projection, installation view from Wills Wheels Wells solo show at Future Gallery Berlin
Kévin Bray, wooden bas relief with projection, installation view from Wills Wheels Wells solo show at Future Gallery Berlin © Andrea Rosetti

Mit der Installation, die erstmalig gezeigt wird, lädt Bray die Besucher dazu ein, die visuelle Kartierung und Erforschung von technologiebasierten Transformationen des Menschen zu erleben. Dafür setzt er eine während seines Forschungsaufenthalts in AlUla, Saudi-Arabien, entwickelte Technik ein, die die Lichtskulpturen aus Schichten zusammensetzt. 

Brays Werke und Installationen zeichnen sich durch einen multimedialen Ansatz aus, insbesondere durch die Technik des „Projektionsmapping“, bei dem man mit einem Projektor beliebig strukturierte Oberflächen angepasst beleuchtet und bei der sich die Videoprojektionen wie eine zweite Haut über unsere physische Realität legen und mit ihr interagieren. In einem Universum, das immer komplexere Strukturen hervorbringt, von Atomen und Molekülen bis hin zu Planeten und Lebewesen, unterstreicht und zelebriert die Ausstellung von Kévin Bray den Drang, uns zu verändern und zu transformieren, um uns an unsere innere und äußere Umgebung anzupassen. Neben dieser Installation wird ein ortsspezifisches Mapping gezeigt, das den Betrachter durch helle, sich verändernde Landschaften führt, sowie sein Video Morpher, das als Rückgrat und lebendiges Archiv seiner künstlerischen Praxis dient - alle mit demselben Ziel: Licht zu schaffen.  

There was less light in the universe last week than today, and there will be more light in the universe next week than today. (Letzte Woche gab es weniger Licht im Universum als heute, und nächste Woche wird es mehr Licht im Universum geben als heute) Kévin Bray 
Zusätzliche Informationen
Kévin BrayThe Transformation of Matter Creates Light
17. September – 16. Oktober 2022
Eröffnung: 17. September 2022, 20:00 – 03:00 Uhr
Doors open: 20:00 Uhr 
Live-Performances Nunguja, DJ Lag, Tati Au Miel
Trauma Bar und KinoHeidestraße 50, 10557 Berlin 

ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN
Die Ausstellung kann jeden Freitag zwischen 17:00 und 21:00 Uhr (Eintritt frei) sowie während der begleitenden Veranstaltungen mit Ticket oder nach persönlicher Vereinbarung besucht werden, genaue Termine und Zeiten zu den Veranstaltungen entnehmen Sie bitte der Webseite: www.traumabarundkino.de