Skip to main content

Barton • Redfern, Stoll • based on Anton Tschechows „Drei Schwestern"

"I don't know why my soul is so bright! This morning I remembered that it's my birthday, and suddenly I was glad and remembered the childhood days: the summer days at Wannsee, carousel rides at the German-American Folk Festival, shopping at the mall on Clayallee. Eating banana splits with Dad."


It's Ivy's twenty-first birthday. To celebrate, Sister Masha has invited a surprise guest: Father Andrew is coming back to Germany after years. The eldest sister Olivia does not like this at all. But the reunion raises many questions: Would life have been different with him as a black identification figure? Would the sisters have been happier in the USA? How does one acquire an identity, where does one feel one belongs, and when is one actually "German"? Are Asians allowed to play classical music or is that appropriation? And who is actually allowed to play Chekhov? A modern Three Sisters overwriting.

The collective Glossy Pain works in changing constellations with international artists. Glossy Pain focuses on feminist, anti-capitalist and anti-racist issues. Following Audre Lorde, the collective sets itself the task of liberating eroticism as a force from the clutches of patriarchy and using it as a motor to create a utopia of free, collaborative work far from hierarchical, patriarchal structures.

Let's unfuck the patriarchy out of our bodies!

Supported by the Hauptstadtkulturfonds

A production of Glossy Pain


Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
Pia Amofa-Antwi
Amanda Babaei Vieira
Golda Barton
Julia Boxheimer
Kamil Janus
Martha Lange
MING
Diana Marie Müller
Ute Pliestermann
Isabelle Redfern (Regie)
Isabelle Redfern
Pierre Sanoussi-Bliss
Carlotta Schuhmann
Katharina Stoll (Regie)
Iman Tekle
Lani Tran-Duc
Golda Barton (Autor/in)
Iman Tekle (mit)
Pia Amofa-Antwi (mit)
Amanda Babaei Vieira (mit)
Pierre Sanoussi-Bliss (mit)
Diana Marie Müller (mit)
Isabelle Redfern (mit)
MING (mit)
Golda Barton (Text)
Julia Boxheimer (Regieassistenz)
Kamil Janus (Foto- und Videodokumentation)
Lani Tran-Duc (Bühne)
Martha Lange (Kostüme)
Carlotta Schuhmann (Kostüme)
MING (Musik)
Ute Pliestermann (Choreographie)
Dates
April 2024
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Direkt zum Inhalt

Barton • Redfern, Stoll

„Ich weiß nicht, warum mir in der Seele so hell ist! Heute Morgen fiel mir ein, dass ich Geburtstag habe, und plötzlich war ich froh und erinnerte mich der Kinderzeit: Die Sommertage am Wannsee, Karussellfahrten auf dem deutsch-amerikanischen Volksfest, Einkaufen in der Mall an der Clayallee. Banana Split essen mit Vater.“


Es ist Ivys einundzwanzigster Geburtstag. Zur Feier des Tages hat Schwester Masha einen Überraschungsgast eingeladen: Vater Andrew kommt nach Jahren zurück nach Deutschland. Der ältesten Schwester Olivia passt das überhaupt nicht in den Kram. Doch wirft das Wiedersehen viele Fragen auf: Wäre ein Leben mit ihm als Schwarzer Identifikationsfigur anders verlaufen? Wären die Schwestern in den USA glücklicher geworden? Wie erlangt man eine Identität, wo fühlt man sich zugehörig und wann ist man eigentlich „deutsch“? Dürfen Asiat:innen Klassik spielen oder ist das Appropriation? Und wer darf eigentlich Tschechow spielen? Eine moderne Drei Schwestern-Überschreibung.

Das Kollektiv Glossy Pain arbeitet in wechselnden Konstellationen mit internationalen Künstler:innen zusammen. Glossy Pain legt den Fokus auf feministische, antikapitalistische und antirassistische Fragestellungen. In Anlehnung an Audre Lorde macht sich das Kollektiv zur Aufgabe, die Erotik als Kraft aus den Fängen des Patriarchats zu befreien und sie als Motor zu nutzen, um eine Utopie des freien, gemeinschaftlichen Arbeitens fernab hierarchischer, patriarchaler Strukturen zu schaffen.

Let’s unfuck the patriarchy out of our bodies!

Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds

Eine Produktion von Glossy Pain

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Teilnehmende Künstler
Pia Amofa-Antwi
Amanda Babaei Vieira
Golda Barton
Julia Boxheimer
Kamil Janus
Martha Lange
MING
Diana Marie Müller
Ute Pliestermann
Isabelle Redfern (Regie)
Isabelle Redfern
Pierre Sanoussi-Bliss
Carlotta Schuhmann
Katharina Stoll (Regie)
Iman Tekle
Lani Tran-Duc
Golda Barton (Autor/in)
Iman Tekle (mit)
Pia Amofa-Antwi (mit)
Amanda Babaei Vieira (mit)
Pierre Sanoussi-Bliss (mit)
Diana Marie Müller (mit)
Isabelle Redfern (mit)
MING (mit)
Golda Barton (Text)
Julia Boxheimer (Regieassistenz)
Kamil Janus (Foto- und Videodokumentation)
Lani Tran-Duc (Bühne)
Martha Lange (Kostüme)
Carlotta Schuhmann (Kostüme)
MING (Musik)
Ute Pliestermann (Choreographie)
Termine
Dezember 2023
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31