Skip to main content

Literatur LIVE

The word that ten-year-old Josef Ambacher picks up sounds terrifying: Siberia. Adults use it for everything in the far, foreign East. That's where hundreds of thousands of German civilians - it's 1945 - are deported by the Soviet army, including Josef. Kazakhstan is the destination.

PORTRAIT Sabrina Janesch
PORTRAIT Sabrina Janesch © Frank Zauritz

Once there, he finds himself in a harsh, but also wondrous, myth-filled world - and he learns to stand up to the steppe and its pretenses. Mühlheide, 1990: Josef Ambacher is confronted with his past when, after the collapse of the Soviet Union, a wave of emigrants reaches the small town in Lower Saxony. His daughter Leila stands between worlds and must mediate - at a time when she herself is trying to understand and banish the haunting of history.

Sabrina Janesch tells the story of two childhoods, one in Central Asia after the Second World War, the other fifty years later in northern Germany, in a stirring manner and in bright colors. In doing so, she masterfully spans an arc that connects unknown, untold chapters of German-Russian history. A great novel about the search for home, the ghosts of the past and the love that is able to conquer them.

An event by Literatur LIVE in cooperation with Rowohlt Berlin Verlag and Thalia Buchhandlung.

(Program in German)

Buy ticket

Additional information
Events
Datum
Pfefferberg - Theater

Direkt zum Inhalt

Literatur LIVE

Furchterregend klingt das Wort, das der zehnjährige Josef Ambacher aufschnappt: Sibirien. Die Erwachsenen verwenden es für alles, was im fernen, fremden Osten liegt. Dorthin werden Hunderttausende deutscher Zivilisten – es ist das Jahr 1945 – von der Sowjetarmee verschleppt, unter ihnen auch Josef. Kasachstan ist das Ziel.

PORTRAIT Sabrina Janesch
PORTRAIT Sabrina Janesch © Frank Zauritz

Dort angekommen, findet er sich in einer harten, aber auch wundersamen, mythenvollen Welt wieder – und er lernt, sich gegen die Steppe und ihre Vorspiegelungen zu behaupten. Mühlheide, 1990: Josef Ambacher wird mit seiner Vergangenheit konfrontiert, als nach dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion eine Woge von Aussiedlern die niedersächsische Kleinstadt erreicht. Seine Tochter Leila steht zwischen den Welten und muss vermitteln – und das zu einem Zeitpunkt, an dem sie selbst den Spuk der Geschichte zu begreifen und zu bannen versucht.

Sabrina Janesch erzählt mitreißend und in leuchtenden Farben die Geschichte zweier Kindheiten, einmal in Zentralasien nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, einmal fünfzig Jahre später in Norddeutschland. Dabei spannt sie meisterhaft einen Bogen, der unbekannte, unerzählte Kapitel der deutsch-russischen Geschichte miteinander verbindet. Ein großer Roman über die Suche nach Heimat, die Geister der Vergangenheit und die Liebe, die sie zu besiegen vermag.

Eine Veranstaltung von Literatur LIVE in Kooperation mit dem Rowohlt Berlin Verlag und der Thalia Buchhandlung.

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
Pfefferberg - Theater