Skip to main content

Anne Welenc

Mary, Elizabeth, Penthesilea and Valkyrie have been touring the underworlds for 419 years now, uniting them with a mix of opera, drag, techno, pop and post-punk. They all met post mortem in limbo, the outermost circle of hell, the place of the not damned, but also the not-in-heaven dangers.

Ballhaus Ost | Queens
Ballhaus Ost | Queens © Eva Tuerbl

PREMIERE: Queens

Innocently guilty, they see themselves not only as time travelers, but as a world political institution. Triggered by their breakthrough song, the gates to our reality are now opening for them for the first time. At Ballhaus Ost, they sniff the success of the earth’s crust again after centuries and pose the question of domination anew against the background of our contemporary society.

»Queens« moves between opera, drag and science-fantasy and is based on research that questions the relationship between power and gender using the tale of Mary Stuart, which was dominated by Friedrich Schiller.

Buy ticket

Additional information
Direction, Text & Concept Anne Welenc

Costumes & Design Michel Wagenschütz

Mask design Christina Neuss

Performance, collaboration music-composition & text Daniel Hellmann, Shlomi Moto Wagner

Music-composition, Performance & collaboration Text Valerie Renay

Video Annalena Fröhlich / JAMES

Performance Video Annina Machaz

Light design Jones Seitz

Production management Kim Walz

A production by Anne Welenc in cooperation with Ballhaus Ost. Supported by the process funding from the Fonds Darstellende Künste with funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media within the framework of NEUSTART KULTUR and by the aid program DIS-TANZEN of the Dachverband Tanz Deutschland.
Events
Datum
Ballhaus Ost
Datum
Ballhaus Ost
Datum
Ballhaus Ost

Direkt zum Inhalt

Anne Welenc

Seit 419 Jahren touren Mary, Elizabeth, Penthesilea und Valkyrie bereits durch die Unterwelten und vereinen diese mit einer Mischung aus Oper, Drag, Techno, Pop und Post-Punk. Kennengelernt haben sie sich alle post-mortem in Limbo, dem äußersten Zirkel der Hölle, dem Ort der Nicht-Verdammten aber auch der Nicht-in-den-Himmel Gefahrenen.

Ballhaus Ost | Queens
Ballhaus Ost | Queens © Eva Tuerbl

PREMIERE: Queens

Unschuldig schuldig verstehen sie sich nicht nur als Zeitreisende, sondern als Welten- übergreifende politische Institution. Ausgelöst durch ihren Breakthrough-Song öffnen sich nun für sie erstmals die Tore zu unserer Realität. Am Ballhaus Ost schnuppern sie nach Jahrhunderten wieder am Erfolg der Erdkruste und stellen sich auf ein Neues die Frage nach Herrschaft vor dem Hintergrund unserer heutigen Gesellschaft.

»Queens« bewegt sich zwischen Oper, Drag und Science-Fantasy und basiert auf einer Recherche, die anhand des von Friedrich Schiller dominierten Narrativs zu Maria Stuart das Verhältnis von Macht und Geschlecht hinterfragt.

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Regie, Text & Konzept Anne Welenc

Kostüm & Ausstattung Michel Wagenschütz

Maskenbild Christina Neuss

Performance, Mitarbeit Musik-Komposition & Text Daniel Hellmann, Shlomi Moto Wagner

Musik-Komposition, Performance & Mitarbeit Text Valerie Renay

Video Annalena Fröhlich / JAMES

Performance Video Annina Machaz

Lichtdesign Jones Seitz

Produktionsleitung Kim Walz

Eine Produktion von Anne Welenc in Kooperation mit dem Ballhaus Ost. Gefördert durch die Prozessförderung vom Fonds Darstellende Künste aus Mitteln der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien im Rahmen von NEUSTART KULTUR und durch das Hilfsprogramm DIS-TANZEN des Dachverband Tanz Deutschland.
Termine
Datum
Ballhaus Ost
Datum
Ballhaus Ost
Datum
Ballhaus Ost