Skip to main content

Eliza Doolittle is at the bottom of the social hierarchy: without money or education, but with all the repartee of the rough street jargon, she fights her way through by selling flowers to passers-by. But then she meets the linguist Henry Higgins.


Eliza sees the professor as her chance for social advancement and asks for speaking lessons. After initial hesitation, Higgins agrees to it; he senses the possibility of a language and social experiment. He and his colleague Pickering make a bet: Higgins wants to use his expertise to introduce Eliza into upper-class English society within a few months.

George Bernard Shaw wrote his ironic-satirical work - based on the Ovid myth of the same name - as a supposed romance without a happy ending.
Shaw's play was adapted many years later as a love story under the title My Fair Lady, which became a global Broadway and cinema success.

Bastian Kraft places the language experiment at the center of his examination of the dazzling figure of Eliza Doolittle.
How are language, class and gender connected? What power and influence does speaking have on people and their perception in society? Can people play all sorts of social roles once they acquire language? And don't they ultimately bet with themselves every day as to whether others will buy their own role?


  • Programme in German

Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
George Bernard Shaw (Autor/in)
Bastian Kraft
Julia Gräfner
Jens Koch
Daria von Loewenich
Mercy Dorcas Otieno
Caner Sunar
Dates
April 2024
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Direkt zum Inhalt

Eliza Doolittle steht ganz unten in der gesellschaftlichen Rangordnung: Ohne Geld und Bildung, dafür mit aller Schlagfertigkeit des rauen Straßenjargons, kämpft sie sich durch, indem sie Blumen an Passant:innen verkauft. Dann jedoch trifft sie auf den Sprachwissenschaftler Henry Higgins.


Eliza sieht in dem Professor ihre Chance auf den gesellschaftlichen Aufstieg und bittet um Sprechunterricht. Nach anfänglichem Zögern lässt sich Higgins darauf ein, vielmehr noch wittert er die Möglichkeit eines Sprach- und Gesellschaftsexperiments. Er und sein Kollege Pickering gehen eine Wette ein: Higgins will mit seiner Expertise Eliza innerhalb weniger Monate in die gehobene Gesellschaft der englischen Upper-Class einführen. 

George Bernard Shaw schrieb sein ironisch-satirisches Werk – basierend auf dem gleichnamigen Mythos des Ovid – als vermeintliche Romanze ohne Happy End.
Shaws Stück wurde viele Jahre später als Liebesgeschichte, unter dem Titel My Fair Lady, zum weltweiten Broadway- und Kino-Erfolg adaptiert. 

Bastian Kraft stellt das Sprachexperiment ins Zentrum seiner Auseinandersetzung mit der schillernden Figur der Eliza Doolittle.
Wie sind Sprache, Klasse und Geschlecht miteinander verbunden? Welche Macht, welchen Einfluss hat das Sprechen auf den Menschen und seine Wahrnehmung in der Gesellschaft? Können Menschen alle möglichen sozialen Rollen spielen, sobald sie sich ihre Sprache aneignen? Und wetten sie letztlich nicht jeden Tag mit sich selbst, ob die anderen ihnen die eigene Rolle abkaufen werden?


  • Premiere: 27. April 2024

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Teilnehmende Künstler
George Bernard Shaw (Autor/in)
Bastian Kraft
Julia Gräfner
Jens Koch
Daria von Loewenich
Mercy Dorcas Otieno
Caner Sunar
Termine
April 2024
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30