Skip to main content
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on visitBerlin.com.

Balzer and Müller's Popsalon is starting the new year with a very special guest. Malakoff Kowalski is not just the only man in Berlin who still knows how to wear a Helmut Schmidt hat with style. He is also one of the greatest musicians and composers our small town has to offer.



His self-description is as follows: “What I know: My parents were born in Tehran, I was born in Boston, I grew up in Hamburg, and I now live in Berlin. I love nothing more than music. Everything else is question marks, exclamation marks, dashes.” His work includes records, films and incidental music for the theater.


He recently released his solo album Piano Aphorisms, the third in a piano trilogy, and his film music for Leander Haußmann's Stasi comedy. He is currently producing the score for the ARD series Sexually Available with Laura Tonke in the leading role and the film music for the rape drama You Wanted It Too by Saralisa Volm.


In the broadcast on radioeins he regularly presents “a stream of consciousness through his music collection, far away from genre boundaries” - an ideal guest for Balzer and Müller, who have been letting their streams of consciousness carry them across all genre boundaries in the Popsalon for thirteen years now (anniversary!) .


If anyone needs to get some fresh air, the indoor smoking terrace is open as always.
Additional information

Direkt zum Inhalt
Ihre gesuchte Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden. Finden Sie viele weitere Veranstaltungen, Tipps und Empfehlungen in Berlins größtem Veranstaltungskalender auf visitBerlin.de.

Ins neue Jahr startet der Popsalon von Balzer und Müller mit einem ganz besonderen Gast. Malakoff Kowalski ist nicht nur der einzige Mann in Berlin, der noch eine Helmut-Schmidt-Mütze mit Stil zu tragen versteht. Er ist auch einer der tollsten Musiker und Komponisten, die unsere kleine Stadt zu bieten hat.


Seine Selbstbeschreibung lautet folgendermaßen: „Was ich weiß: Meine Eltern wurden in Teheran geboren, ich bin in Boston zur Welt gekommen, ich bin in Hamburg aufgewachsen, und ich lebe heute in Berlin. Ich liebe nichts so sehr wie Musik. Alles andere sind Fragezeichen, Ausrufezeichen, Gedankenstriche.” Sein Wirken umfasst Platten, Filme und Bühnenmusiken fürs Theater.

Zuletzt erschienen von ihm das Soloalbum Piano Aphorisms, das dritte einer Klaviertrilogie, und seine Filmmusik zu Leander Haußmanns Stasikomödie. Aktuell produziert er den Score für die ARD-Serie Sexuell verfügbar mit Laura Tonke in der Hauptrolle und die Filmmusik für das Vergewaltigungsdrama Du wolltest es auch von Saralisa Volm.

In der Sendung auf radioeins präsentiert er regelmäßig „einen Bewusstseinsstrom durch seine Musiksammlung, fernab von Genregrenzen“ – ein idealer Gast mithin für Balzer und Müller, die sich im Popsalon seit nunmehr dreizehn Jahren (Jubiläum!) von ihren Bewusstseinsströmen über alle Genregrenzen hinweg tragen lassen.

Falls dabei jemand an die frische Luft muss, die Raucher:innenterrasse ist wie immer geöffnet.
Zusätzliche Informationen