Skip to main content
Thomas Aurin
Thomas Aurin © Thomas Aurin

Once to be realised

A woman in black, a sound continuum interrupted by an explosion, crowds storming the stage, traffic lights, the deafening singing of the cicadas on Chios in the midday heat, performing in an ensemble as a cipher of social constellations, invoking the metaphysical other, composing as an attempt to break with the musical syntax, or even as a “slight pressure against the limit of meaning”:

Address
Deutsche Oper Berlin - Tischlerei

Richard-Wagner-Straße 10585  Berlin


The cosmos of the Greek composer Jani Christou is labyrinthine branches in the richness of his suggestive images and designs. He transgresses the purely musical to the integration of scene, text, and image, and at the same time departs from the realms of art, and he sees political and social elements as compositional material, he creates a performance in tangible landscapes and cultural spaces. And ultimately it remains a prophetic design, ONCE TO BE REALISED:

In the last years of his life Christou created nearly 130 sketches for compositions to be realized later on. He was only able to work out a few of them before his untimely death in a car accident in 1970 on his 44th birthday. Most of these visionary drafts were never realized in the just under 50 years following his death, and only now will become the foundation of a new music theater work: Together with the renowned Greek director Michail Marmarinos, six composers, who are among the most distinguished creators of contemporary music theater, will tackle Christou’s designs. They encounter them with their own musical language, explore them, let themselves be inspired, and work their way through them, in order to use their own means and their own ideas to continue and write on into the future.

The result is a music theater that is as much an archaic drama as a social sculpture that conjures up mythical powers in order to jump from practicing music into, in Christou’s terms, a “metapraxis” into creating a metaphysical “other” — and it’s an “outburst from the syntax,” an attack on the logic in the relationship of the performer to his own special means of expression.

(Program in German)

Event calendar

Teilnehmende Künstler
Beat Furrer (Komposition)
Barblina Meierhans (Komposition)
Olga Neuwirth (Komposition)
Samir Odeh-Tamimi (Komposition)
Younghi Pagh-Paan (Komposition)
Christian Wolff (Komposition)
Cordula Bürgi (Musikalische Leitung)
Michail Marmarinos (Inszenierung)
Michail Marmarinos (Konzept)
Lenio Liatsou (Konzept)
Yorgos Sapountzis (Bühne, Kostüme, Video)
Sebastian Hanusa (Dramaturgie)
Natalie Jurk (Mezzospran)
Martin Gerke (Bariton)
Manon Perant (Performance)
Marius Boehm (Performance)
Meik van Severen (Performance)
Robyn Schulkowsky (Schlagzeug)
Cantando Admont (Ensemble)
Friederieke Kühl (Sopran I)
Elina Viluma-Helling (Sopran II)
Annika Westlund (Mezzo / Alt I)
Helena Sorokina (Mezzo / Alt II)
Hugo Paulsson Stove (Tenor I)
Bernd Lambauer (Tenor II)
Matias Bocchio (Bariton)
Christoph Brunner (Bass)
Ensemble dissonArt (Ensemble)
Jannis Anissegos (Flöte)
Alexandros Stavridis (Klarinette)
Theodoros Patsalidis (Violine)
Chara Sira (Viola)
Vassilis Saitis (Violoncello)
Yiannis Chatzis (Kontrabass)
Lenio Liatsou (Klavier)
Alexandros Giovanos (Schlagzeug)

Find further information here

Events in Month April 2021
MondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturdaySunday
1
No event
2
No event
3
No event
4
No event
5
No event
6
No event
7
No event
8
No event
9
No event
10
No event
11
No event
12
No event
13
No event
14
No event
15
No event
16
19:00
17
No event
18
No event
19
No event
20
No event
21
No event
22
No event
23
No event
24
No event
25
No event
26
No event
27
No event
28
No event
29
No event
30
No event

Direkt zum Inhalt
Thomas Aurin
Thomas Aurin © Thomas Aurin

Once to be realised

Eine Frau in Schwarz, ein Klangkontinuum, unterbrochen durch eine Explosion, Menschenmassen, die die Bühne stürmen, Verkehrsampeln, der ohrenbetäubende Gesang der Zikaden auf Chios in der Mittagshitze, das Spiel im Ensemble als Chiffre gesellschaftlicher Konstellationen, die Beschwörung des metaphysisch Anderen, Komponieren als Versuch eines Bruchs mit der musikalischen Syntax oder auch als »leichter Druck gegen die Sinngrenze«:

Adresse
Deutsche Oper Berlin - Tischlerei

Richard-Wagner-Straße 10585  Berlin


Der Kosmos des griechischen Komponisten Jani Christou ist labyrinthisch verzweigt im Reichtum seiner suggestiven Bilder und Entwürfe. Er überschreitet das rein Musikalische hin zu einer Integration von Szene, Text und Bild und verlässt zugleich die Räume der Kunst, versteht das Politische und Soziale ebenso als kompositorisches Material wie er Kompositionen für konkrete Naturlandschaften und Kulturräume entwirft. Und er bleibt letztlich prophetischer Entwurf, ONCE TO BE REALISED:

Christou entwarf in seinen letzten Lebensjahren in knapp 130 einzelnen Skizzen eine Reihe noch zu komponierender Stücke. Nur wenige davon hat er jedoch vor seinem plötzlichen Tod bei einem Autounfall, 1970, an seinem 44. Geburtstag, ausarbeiten können. Der Großteil dieser visionären Entwürfe wurde in den knapp 50 Jahre seit seinem Tod nicht realisiert und erst jetzt werden sie zur Grundlage eines neuen Musiktheaters: Zusammen mit dem renommierten griechischen Regisseur Michail Marmarinos konfrontieren sich sechs Komponist*innen, die zu den profiliertesten Schöpfer*innen aktuellen Musiktheaters zählen, mit Christous Entwürfen. Sie begegnen ihnen mit ihrer eigenen Musiksprache, setzen sich ihnen aus und lassen sich inspirieren, um mit ihren eigenen Mitteln und ihrer eigenen Idee in die Zukunft fort- und weiterzuschreiben.

Dabei entsteht ein Musiktheater, das archaisches Drama ebenso ist wie soziale Skulptur, das die Mächte des Mythos beschwört, um von einer musikalischen Praxis hin den Sprung in, im Sinne Christous, eine »Metapraxis«, in ein metaphysisch Anderes zu schaffen — und ist »Ausbruch aus der Syntax«, Anschlag auf die Logik im Verhältnis des Ausführenden zu seinen eigenen besonderen Ausdrucksmitteln.

ca. 2 Stunden / eine Pause

Veranstaltungskalender

Teilnehmende Künstler
Beat Furrer (Komposition)
Barblina Meierhans (Komposition)
Olga Neuwirth (Komposition)
Samir Odeh-Tamimi (Komposition)
Younghi Pagh-Paan (Komposition)
Christian Wolff (Komposition)
Cordula Bürgi (Musikalische Leitung)
Michail Marmarinos (Inszenierung)
Michail Marmarinos (Konzept)
Lenio Liatsou (Konzept)
Yorgos Sapountzis (Bühne, Kostüme, Video)
Sebastian Hanusa (Dramaturgie)
Natalie Jurk (Mezzospran)
Martin Gerke (Bariton)
Manon Perant (Performance)
Marius Boehm (Performance)
Meik van Severen (Performance)
Robyn Schulkowsky (Schlagzeug)
Cantando Admont (Ensemble)
Friederieke Kühl (Sopran I)
Elina Viluma-Helling (Sopran II)
Annika Westlund (Mezzo / Alt I)
Helena Sorokina (Mezzo / Alt II)
Hugo Paulsson Stove (Tenor I)
Bernd Lambauer (Tenor II)
Matias Bocchio (Bariton)
Christoph Brunner (Bass)
Ensemble dissonArt (Ensemble)
Jannis Anissegos (Flöte)
Alexandros Stavridis (Klarinette)
Theodoros Patsalidis (Violine)
Chara Sira (Viola)
Vassilis Saitis (Violoncello)
Yiannis Chatzis (Kontrabass)
Lenio Liatsou (Klavier)
Alexandros Giovanos (Schlagzeug)

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen

Veranstaltungen im Monat April 2021
MontagDienstagMittwochDonnerstagFreitagSamstagSonntag
1
No event
2
No event
3
No event
4
No event
5
No event
6
No event
7
No event
8
No event
9
No event
10
No event
11
No event
12
No event
13
No event
14
No event
15
No event
16
19:00
17
No event
18
No event
19
No event
20
No event
21
No event
22
No event
23
No event
24
No event
25
No event
26
No event
27
No event
28
No event
29
No event
30
No event