Skip to main content

On Rape – And Institutional Failure

In an assemblage of her own and found photographs, reports, quotes, videos and artifacts, the Catalan artist Laia Abril (*1986) devotes her extensive research to the topic of structurally enabled rape.


Across different time horizons, cultural practices and media, she traces the normalization of misogynistic ways of thinking and acting in society and politics, without resorting to explicit depictions of sexual violence.

Rather, the focus is on traditional ideas, laws and institutionalized failures that maintain power dynamics and dependency relationships and thus enable rape. It is the second chapter of her long-term project A History of Misogyny, in which Abril responds to the diverse forms of systemic violence against women. She counters the speechlessness that is often felt when it comes to this topic with a moving and political narrative and immediately appeals to the responsibility of society as a whole.

C/O Berlin presents the artist's first institutional solo exhibition in Germany.


Additional information
Price info: Visitors of the Museum of Photography and the Helmut Newton Foundation receive a discount of 2,00 €, respectively 1,00 € (for the reduced ticket) on the day of validity of their ticket.

Price: €12.00

Reduced price: €6.00

Reduced price info: Children and young people up to the age of 18 are admitted free of charge.
Dates
March 2024
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Direkt zum Inhalt

On Rape – And Institutional Failure

In einer Assemblage aus eigenen und gefundenen Fotografien, Berichten, Zitaten, Videos und Artefakten widmet sich die katalanische Künstlerin Laia Abril (*1986) in ihrer umfassenden Recherchearbeit dem Thema der strukturell ermöglichten Vergewaltigung.


Über verschiedene Zeithorizonte, Kulturpraktiken und Medien hinweg, zeichnet sie die Normalisierung misogyner Denk- und Handlungsweisen in Gesellschaft und Politik nach, ohne dabei auf explizite Darstellungen sexualisierter Gewalt zurückzugreifen.

Im Fokus stehen vielmehr tradierte Vorstellungen, Gesetze und institutionalisiertes Versagen, die Machtdynamiken und Abhängigkeitsverhältnisse aufrechterhalten und somit Vergewaltigung ermöglichen. Es ist das zweite Kapitel ihres Langzeitprojekts A History of Misogyny, in dem Abril auf die vielfältigen Formen systemischer Gewalt gegen Frauen reagiert. Der bei dieser Thematik häufig empfundenen Sprachlosigkeit setzt sie eine bewegende wie politische Erzählung entgegen und appelliert sogleich an die gesamtgesellschaftliche Verantwortung.

C/O Berlin präsentiert die erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung der Künstlerin in Deutschland.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Preisinformationen: Besucher*innen des Museums für Fotografie und der Helmut Newton Stiftung erhalten am Geltungstag ihres Tickets eine Ermäßigung von 2,00 €, bzw. 1,00 € (für das ermäßigte Ticket).

Preis: 12,00 €

Ermäßigter Preis: 6,00 €

Informationen zum ermäßigten Preis: Kinder und Jugendliche bis zum vollendeten 18. Lebensjahr haben freien Eintritt.
Termine
März 2024
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31