Skip to main content
Katharina Grosse, I Think This Is a Pine Tree, 2013, Ausstellungsansicht „Wall Works“, Detail, Hamburger Bahnhof, 2013
Katharina Grosse, I Think This Is a Pine Tree, 2013, Ausstellungsansicht „Wall Works“, Detail, Hamburger Bahnhof, 2013 © Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie / Thomas Bruns / VG Bild-Kunst / Bonn 2019
Top Event

Katharina Grosse

It Wasn’t Us

With her spectacular site-specific paintings that she fabricates with air guns and vibrant acrylic paints, Katharina Grosse (born 1961 in Freiburg) assumes a central position in contemporary art. Her large-scale works present themselves as pulsating, three-dimensional visual worlds that incorporate the walls, ceiling and floor of the exhibition space.

Tickets

Address
Hamburger Bahnhof - Museum für Gegenwart

Invalidenstraße 50/51 10557  Berlin


Everything becomes the canvas for these paintings and is seized by a vibrating charge of colour that disrupts our typical conception of reality and opens up previously unimagined spheres of possibility. Grosse’s works, which the viewer can walk through, are produced in interior and exterior spaces, and reflect upon our interaction with institutional and urban spaces. In 2020, the artist will use the historical hall of the Hamburger Bahnhof along with sections of the museum’s grounds for a new work that incorporates sculptural elements and radically destabilises and renegotiates the existing order of the space of the museum.

The exhibition is made possible by the Freunde der Nationalgalerie and supported by Volkswagen.
A special exhibition of the Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Special opening hours Tuesday to Friday 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturday and Sunday 11 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Tickets cost 10, reduced 5 €.

TicketsEvent calendar

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
Katharina Grosse, I Think This Is a Pine Tree, 2013, Ausstellungsansicht „Wall Works“, Detail, Hamburger Bahnhof, 2013
Katharina Grosse, I Think This Is a Pine Tree, 2013, Ausstellungsansicht „Wall Works“, Detail, Hamburger Bahnhof, 2013 © Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie / Thomas Bruns / VG Bild-Kunst / Bonn 2019
Top-Veranstaltung

Katharina Grosse

It Wasn’t Us

Mit ihren spektakulären ortsbezogenen Malereien, die sie mit Sprühpistole und starkfarbigen Acrylfarben anfertigt, nimmt Katharina Grosse (*1961, Freiburg i. Br.) eine zentrale Position in der Gegenwartskunst ein. Ihre raumgreifenden Arbeiten sind als pulsierende, dreidimensionale Bildwelten zu erleben, die Wand, Decke und Boden mit einbeziehen und auch Objekte im Raum besetzen können.

Tickets

Adresse
Hamburger Bahnhof - Museum für Gegenwart

Invalidenstraße 50/51 10557  Berlin


Alles wird in dieser Malerei zum Bildträger und wird erfasst von einer vibrierenden Farbenergie, die unser gewöhnliches Realitätsbild stört und noch nicht erdachte Möglichkeitsräume eröffnet. Grosses begehbare Bilder tauchen in Innen- wie Außenräumen auf und reflektieren den Umgang mit institutionellen wie städtischen Räumen. Im Frühjahr 2020 wird die Künstlerin die Historische Halle des Hamburger Bahnhofs sowie Teile des Außenbereichs für ein neues Bild mit skulpturalen Elementen verwenden, das die bestehende Ordnung des musealen Raums radikal destabilisieren und neu verhandeln wird.
Die Ausstellung wird ermöglicht durch die Freunde der Nationalgalerie und unterstützt von Volkswagen.

Eine Sonderausstellung der Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Sonderöffnungszeiten Dienstag bis Freitag 10 bis 18 Uhr sowie Samstag und Sonntag 11 bis 18 Uhr geöffnet.
Tickets kosten 10, ermäßigt 5 €

TicketsVeranstaltungskalender

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen