Skip to main content

As a New Yorker by birth and Berliner by choice, Music Director James Gaffigan kicks off the new season with works by European composers in the USA. Erich Wolfgang Korngold and Kurt Weill both had to leave Europe in the early 1930s because of their Jewish roots and found a new artistic home on American shores.


Korngold, often mentioned in the same breath as Richard Strauss in his homeland, now devoted himself wholeheartedly to the new genre of film music, thereby becoming one of Hollywood’s defining figures.Meanwhile, Kurt Weill, having often collaborated with Bertolt Brecht in Berlin, was now dedicating himself entirely to music theatre in New York, becoming a trailblazer in the emerging genre of musicals with works such as Lady in the Dark and One Touch of Venus .

But even at the turn of the century, great composers were already being drawn across the Atlantic. It was there that Antonín Dvořák composed not only his famous New World Symphony (No. 9), but also his equally extraordinary American Suite. Gustav Mahler likewise composed his Tenth Symphony in New York, as his final, unfinished work, thereby writing music history.
Additional information
Participating artists
James Gaffigan (Musikalische Leitung)
Susan Zarrabi (Solistin)
Evamaria Salcher (Sprecherin)
Dates
October 2024
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Direkt zum Inhalt

Als gebürtiger New Yorker und Wahl-Berliner startet Generalmusikdirektor James Gaffigan in die neue Spielzeit mit Werken europäischer Komponisten in den USA. Erich Wolfgang Korngold und Kurt Weill mussten Europa Anfang der 1930er Jahre aufgrund ihrer jüdischen Herkunft fluchtartig verlassen und fanden in den USA ein neues künstlerisches Zuhause.


Korngold, der in seiner Heimat mit Richard Strauss in einem Atemzug genannt wurde, widmete sich nun mit voller Kraft dem neuen Genre Filmmusik und wurde so zu einer der prägenden Figuren Hollywoods.Kurt Weill verschrieb sich – nach seinen Berliner Arbeiten mit Bertolt Brecht – zur selben Zeit in New York ganz dem amerikanischen Musiktheater und wird u. a. mit Lady in the Dark und One Touch of Venus Schrittmacher des aufstrebenden Musicals.

Doch bereits zur Jahrhundertwende zog es große Komponisten über den großen Teich: Antonín Dvořák schrieb hier nicht nur seine »Hitsinfonie« Nr. 9 in der »Neuen Welt«, sondern ebenso die nicht minder faszinierende American Suite. Gustav Mahler komponierte in New York seine 10., letzte und unvollendete Sinfonie und schrieb damit Musikgeschichte.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Teilnehmende Künstler
James Gaffigan (Musikalische Leitung)
Susan Zarrabi (Solistin)
Evamaria Salcher (Sprecherin)
Termine
Oktober 2024
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31