Skip to main content
Top Event

In the work commissioned by LAS, Danish artist Jakob Kudsk Steensen transforms the Halle am Berghain into a virtual wetland through a monumental digital installation in his first major solo exhibition in Europe from 10 July to 26 September.

Jakob Kudsk Steensen, 'Berl-Berl', Halle am Berghain, 2021
Jakob Kudsk Steensen, 'Berl-Berl', Halle am Berghain, 2021 © Timo Ohler


The work presents different perspectives on a lost and existing wetland landscape around Berlin, as well as its once native species and associated mythologies.


Jakob Kudsk Steensen is one of the world's leading artists to fully exploit the potential of the latest technologies for art.
To this end, he uses the possibilities of gaming platforms to tell his stories in virtual worlds and let them emerge in hybrid landscapes in analogue space.


Visitors to the exhibition can expect a journey through a virtual wetland that will take up the entire 1,435 square metre space and extend over two floors.


Various perspectives of the virtual Berl-Berl world will be spread throughout the space, visually changing and evolving from hyper-realistic images to the fictional and futuristic. In addition to the site-specific installation of the virtual world, Berl-Berl will also be experienced online, not only as a documentation, but as a work of art in its own right.

For the realisation, the artist explored the still preserved marshes of the Berlin-Brandenburg region, especially the Spreewald, for several months and created an extensive image archive by means of macro-photogrammetry.Using the Unreal computer game engine, Kudsk Steensen generated a virtual 3D world from this archive, in which relics of the Ice Age meet today's wetlands, and which, mediated by technology, at the same time opens up a new view of nature.


In collaboration with the musician Arca and the sound artist Matt McCorkle, Kudsk Steensen also developed a site-specific soundscape for the installation.

They mixed samples of Arca's voice with archive recordings of the natural soundscape of voice with archive recordings of the natural soundscape of wetlands recorded in and around Berlin from 1960 to the present day, as well as settings of numerous words for 'Berlin' from different centuries.


"Berl", the Slavic word for swamp, is considered the origin of the word 'Berlin' and is the title of the exhibition. Like many other metropolises around the world, Berlin was created in a swamp - a saturated landscape that serves as a livelihood for a variety of species.Despite their crucial ecological importance, marshes are often perceived as dangerous, murky or hostile spaces. Kudsk Steensen is fascinated by this discrepancy, as well as the history and mysterious character of these places, which are simultaneously fertile and decomposing.The Museum für Naturkunde Berlin proved to be a crucial partner for the project.
The artist was given access to the extensive archives and incorporated sound recordings and digital copies of objects from fauna and flora into his work. Together, a special educational programme was also developed, offering guided tours of wetlands and continuing insights into these ecosystems. More information will be announced soon.


The project aims to link different perspectives on the landscape from different times and disciplines. It is not only digitally and technologically innovative, but also draws on local folklore, myths and legends and incorporates the current state of research in the field of wetlands.

The exhibition invites visitors to explore the future of these landscapes and to understand the immediate need for their protection.

Berl-Berl is commissioned by LAS and curated by guest curator Emma Enderby.
About LAS
LAS is a Berlin-based art platform at the intersection of art, technology and science. Through experimental projects in unconventional spaces, both digital and physical, LAS continues to explore innovative forms of exhibition practice. In its reflections on the future, LAS follows its leitmotif of light - a symbol that stands for cross-border thinking, new knowledge and innovation.Jakob Kudsk Steensen (b. 1987, Denmark) focuses his practice on environmental work with 3D animation, sound and immersive installations. His work has recently been exhibited at Serpentine Galleries (London, 2019), Pylon Hub (Dresden, 2019), MATADERO (Madrid, 2019), Tranen Center for Contemporary Art (Copenhagen, 2018) or Times Square Arts and BRIC (New York, 2017). Among others, he has participated in the Collateral Events of the 58th Venice Biennale (Pinchuk Foundation, 2019) and the 5th Trondheim Biennale for Art and Technology (Trondheim, 2018). He was the first to receive the Serpentine Galleries' Augmented Architecture Commission award, launched in 2019 in partnership with Google Arts & Culture and architect Sir David Adjaye, OBE. In addition, Kudsk Steensen was shortlisted for the Future Generation Art Prize 2019, and as part of the prize programme he was invited to exhibit his work RE-ANIMATED (2018-2020) in the form of new installations in Kieve and Venice. He has been awarded the Danish Arts Foundation Prize, the Lumen Arts Prize, the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences Prize, the Games for Change Prize, the Lumiere Foundation Prize, The Telly Awards and a Cinequest Festival Prize. He has been artist in residence at the Luma Foundation and Callie's, among others.
Additional information
Opening hours
Monday - Thursday: 13 - 22 h
Friday - Sunday: 11 am - 11 pm

Accessibility

The entrance to the Halle am Berghain is suitable for people with limited mobility, wheelchairs and prams. A stair lift also allows people who need a wheelchair to reach the upper exhibition floor. Our Visitor Service Team can assist you with prams. A barrier-free toilet is located on the upper floor.
Events
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain

Direkt zum Inhalt
Top-Veranstaltung

In der von LAS in Auftrag gegebenen Arbeit verwandelt der dänische Künstler Jakob Kudsk Steensen die Halle am Berghain in seiner ersten großen Einzelausstellung in Europa vom 10. Juli bis zum 26. September mithilfe einer monumentalen digitalen Installation in ein virtuelles Feuchtgebiet.

Jakob Kudsk Steensen, 'Berl-Berl', Halle am Berghain, 2021
Jakob Kudsk Steensen, 'Berl-Berl', Halle am Berghain, 2021 © Timo Ohler

Die Arbeit präsentiert verschiedene Perspektiven auf eine verlorene und die existierende Sumpflandschaft rund um Berlin sowie deren einst beheimateten Arten und damit verbundenen Mythologien.

Jakob Kudsk Steensen ist weltweit einer der führenden Künstler, die das Potenzial neuester Technologien für die Kunst voll ausschöpfen.
Dafür nutzt er die Möglichkeiten von Gaming-Plattformen, um seine Geschichten in virtuellen Welten zu erzählen und diese in hybriden Landschaften im analogen Raum entstehen zu lassen.

Die Besucher:innen der Ausstellung erwartet eine Reise durch ein virtuelles Feuchtgebiet, das den kompletten 1.435 Quadratmeter großen Raum einnehmen wird und sich über zwei Geschosse erstreckt.

Im Raum verteilt werden verschiedene Blickwinkel auf die virtuelle Berl-Berl Welt eröffnet, die sich von hyperrealistischen Bildern bis ins Fiktive und Futuristische hinein visuell verändern und entwickeln wird. Neben der ortsspezifischen Installation der virtuellen Welt wird Berl-Berl auch online erfahrbar sein, nicht nur als Dokumentation, sondern als eigenständiges Kunstwerk.

Für die Realisierung erforschte der Künstler über mehrere Monate hinweg die noch erhaltenen Sümpfe der Region Berlin-Brandenburg, insbesondere den Spreewald, und erstellte mittels Makrofotogrammetrie ein umfangreiches Bildarchiv.
In der Computerspiel-Engine Unreal generierte Kudsk Steensen aus diesem Archiv eine virtuelle 3D-Welt, in der Relikte der Eiszeit auf heutige Feuchtgebiete treffen, und die, vermittelt über Technologie, zugleich einen neuen Blick auf die Natur öffnet.In Zusammenarbeit mit der Musikerin Arca und dem Soundkünstler Matt McCorkle entwickelte Kudsk Steensen zudem eine ortsspezifische Soundscape für die Installation. Sie vermischt Samples von Arcas Stimme mit Archivaufnahmen der natürlichen Geräuschkulisse von Stimme mit Archivaufnahmen der natürlichen Geräuschkulisse von Feuchtgebieten, die in und um Berlin von 1960 bis heute aufgenommen wurden sowie Vertonungen zahlreicher Wörter für ‚Berlin‘ aus verschiedenen Jahrhunderten.
„Berl“, das slawische Wort für Sumpf, gilt als Ursprung des Wortes ‚Berlin‘
und ist titelgebend für die Ausstellung. Wie viele andere Metropolen weltweit entstand auch Berlin in einem Sumpfgebiet – einer gesättigten Landschaft, die einer Vielzahl von Arten als Lebensgrundlage dient. Trotz ihrer entscheidenden ökologischen Bedeutung werden Sümpfe oft als gefährliche, trübe oder lebensfeindliche Räume wahrgenommen. Kudsk Steensen ist fasziniert von dieser Diskrepanz sowie der Geschichte und dem geheimnisvollen Charakter dieser Orte, die gleichzeitig fruchtbar und zersetzend sind.Als entscheidender Partner für das Projekt erwies sich das Museum für Naturkunde Berlin. Der Künstler erhielt Zugang zu den umfassenden Archiven und ließ Lautaufnahmen und Digitalisate von Objekten aus Fauna und Flora in sein Werk einfließen. Gemeinsam wurde zusätzlich ein spezielles Vermittlungsprogramm entwickelt, das Führungen durch Feuchtgebiete anbietet und fortführend Einblicke in dieser Ökosysteme gewährt.
Mehr Informationen werden demnächst bekannt gegeben.

Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, unterschiedliche Sichtweisen auf die Landschaft aus unterschiedlichen Zeiten und Disziplinen zu verknüpfen.
Es ist nicht nur digital und technologisch innovativ, sondern greift zudem lokale Folklore, Mythen und Legenden auf und bezieht den aktuellen Forschungsstand auf dem Gebiet der Sumpfgebiete mit ein.

Die Ausstellung lädt die Besucher:innen ein, die Zukunft dieser Landschaften zu erkunden und die unmittelbare Notwendigkeit ihres Schutzes zu begreifen.
Berl-Berl ist eine Auftragsarbeit von LAS und wird kuratiert von der Gastkuratorin Emma Enderby.Über LAS

LAS ist eine Berliner Kunstplattform an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Technologie und Wissenschaft. Mit experimentellen Projekten an unkonventionellen Orten, sowohl im digitalen als auch im physischen Raum, erkundet LAS immer wieder innovative Formen der Ausstellungspraxis. In ihren Reflexionen über die Zukunft folgt LAS ihrem Leitmotiv Licht – ein Symbol, das für grenzüberschreitendes Denken, neues Wissen und Innovation steht.

Jakob Kudsk Steensen (*1987, Dänemark) konzentriert sich in seiner Praxis auf umweltbezogenes Arbeiten mit 3D-Animationen, Sound und immersiven Installationen. Seine Werke wurden in jüngster Zeit in den Serpentine Galleries (London, 2019), im Pylon-Hub (Dresden, 2019), im MATADERO (Madrid, 2019), im Tranen Center for Contemporary Art (Copenhagen, 2018) oder im Times Square Arts and BRIC (New York, 2017) ausgestellt. Unter anderem hat er an den Collateral Events der 58. Biennale von Venedig (Pinchuk Foundation, 2019) und an der 5. Trondheim Biennale für Kunst und Technologie (Trondheim, 2018) teilgenommen. Er bekam als erster die Auszeichnung der Augmented Architecture Commission der Serpentine Galleries, die 2019 zusammen mit Google Arts & Culture sowie dem Architekten Sir David Adjaye, OBE, ins Leben gerufen wurde. Darüber hinaus war Kudsk Steensen auf der Shortlist für den Future Generation Art Prize 2019. Als Teil des Preis-Programms wurde er eingeladen, seine Arbeit RE-ANIMATED (2018–2020) in Form von neuen Installationen in Kieve und Venedig auszustellen. Er wurde mit dem Preis der Danish Arts Foundation, dem Lumen Arts Prize, dem Preis der International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, dem Games-for-Change-Preis, dem Preis der Lumiere Foundation, dem The Telly Awards und einem Preis des Cinequest Festivals ausgezeichnet. Er war Artist in Residence u.a. bei der Luma Foundation und Callie‘s.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Öffnungszeiten
Montag – Donnerstag: 13 – 22 Uhr
Friday – Sunday: 11 – 23 Uhr

Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit

Der Eingang zur Halle am Berghain ist für Menschen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität, Rollstühle und Kinderwagen geeignet. Über einen Treppenlift erreichen Menschen, die einen Rollstuhl benötigen, auch die obere Ausstellungsetage. Unser Visitor Service Team kann Ihnen mit Kinderwägen behilflich sein. Eine barrierefreie Toilette befindet sich im Obergeschoss.
Termine
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain
Datum
Halle am Berghain