Skip to main content

Light has been Chen Ruo Bing's theme from the very beginning. Over the years, he increasingly dissolved the material in his paintings. Concrete forms, opaque colours became increasingly intangible. With brush, paint and canvas, he approaches the embodiment of light. The exhibition shows square luminous colour paintings as well as elongated light landscapes, in which the horizon line no longer separates earth and sky, but appears like a voluminous long rod, floating weightlessly in infinite space.

Ausstellung GRAU Behelfsbild
Ausstellung GRAU Behelfsbild © visitBerlin, Grafik MSF

Like no other, the artist manages to create infinite spaces of light from very little paint. He needs no more than a flat canvas to do so. The secret of his paintings cannot be fathomed. How is it possible that so much is created from almost nothing - it borders on magic.

Chen Ruo Bing (*1970 China) studied at the Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts, Hangzhou and with Gotthard Graubner at the Düsseldorf Art Academy. He is a student of Gotthard Graubner. From 1992-1998 he studied in his class at the Düsseldorf Art Academy. He has received prizes and funding, including a residency grant from the Josef and Anni Albers Foundation (2000) and the Heinrich Böll Foundation (2014). In recent years, he has had solo exhibitions at the Kunstmuseum Bochum (2016) and the Youngeun Museum of Contemporary Art, Gwangju (2013). As a representative of Chinese abstract art, he has been shown many times in museums in Germany and China. Chen Ruo Bing lives and works in Düsseldorf.
Additional information
Events
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht

Direkt zum Inhalt

Licht ist von Anfang an Chen Ruo Bings Thema. Im Laufe der Jahre löste er das Materielle in seinen Bildern immer stärker auf. Konkrete Formen, deckende Farben wurden immer ungreifbarer. Mit Pinsel, Farbe und Leinwand nähert er sich der Verkörperung des Lichts. Die Ausstellung zeigt quadratische leuchtende Farbbilder als auch langgetreckte Lichtlandschaften, in denen die Horizontlinie nicht mehr Erde und Himmel trennt, sondern wie ein voluminöser langer Stab erscheint, schwerlos schwebend im unendlichen Raum.

Ausstellung GRAU Behelfsbild
Ausstellung GRAU Behelfsbild © visitBerlin, Grafik MSF

Wie kein anderer schafft es der Künstler aus ganz wenig Farbe unendliche Lichträume zu schaffen. Dazu braucht er nicht mehr als eine flache Leinwand. Das Geheimnis seiner Bilder lässt sich nicht ergründen. Wie ist es möglich, dass aus fast nichts so viel entsteht – es grenzt an Magie.

Chen Ruo Bing (*1970 China) studierte an der Zhejiang Academy of Fine Arts, Hangzhou und bei Gotthard Graubner an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. Er ist Schüler von Gotthard Graubner. Von 1992-1998 studierte er in seiner Klasse an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf. Er erhielt Preise und Förderungen, u.a. das Aufenthaltsstipendium der Josef und Anni Albers Foundation (2000) und der Heinrich Böll Stiftung (2014). In den letzten Jahren hatte er Einzelausstellungen im Kunstmuseum Bochum (2016) und im Youngeun Museum of Contemporary Art, Gwangju (2013). Als ein Vertreter der abstrakten Kunst Chinas wurden er vielfach in Deutschland und China in Museen gezeigt. Chen Ruo Bing lebt und arbeitet in Düsseldorf.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht
Datum
Galerie Albrecht