Skip to main content

At just 34 years old, American pianist and Grammy Award winner Christian Sands can already look back on a truly picture-book career: He took up the piano at the age of four, wrote his first compositions at five, followed by his first album at twelve. He impresses with his breathtaking technique combined with a sensitive and almost tender musicality; he also shines as an entertainer:


Look forward to the ZigZag debut of piano shooting star Christian Sands!

  • CHRISTIAN SANDS - PIANO
  • MAX LIGHT - GUITAR
  • JONATHAN MUIR-COTTON - BASS
  • RYAN SANDS - DRUMS

Christian Sands is an American jazz pianist. His extraordinary musicality became apparent very early on, so it was only a matter of time before Sands would rise to the jazz Olympus. He studied with Billy Taylor at the Manhattan School of Music and quickly became a fixture on the New York scene. His collaboration with Bobby Sanabria was honored with two Grammys and the list of his collaboration partners is long and peppered with the biggest names on the scene: Wynton Marsalis, James Moody, Bill Evans, Russell Malone, Terence Blanchard and many more. Since the 2010s, he has been a member of bass master Christian McBride's trio, whose 2016 album "Live at the Village Vanguard" will be fondly remembered by many jazz fans, as this work by Sands was also awarded a Grammy. We will be hearing a lot more from this young pianist!

Max Light is a guitarist based in Brooklyn, NY. He won 2nd place in the 2019 Herbie Hancock Institute of Jazz International Guitar Competition, judged by Pat Metheny, John Scofield und Lionel Loueke. Max is from the Washington DC area, now living in New York City. He lived in Boston for 6 years where he received his Bachelor’s Degree at New England Conservatory and performed every Friday and Saturday at the legendary Wally’s Jazz Cafe with world renowned trumpeter Jason Palmer. He received his Master’s Degree from the Aaron Copland School of Music at Queens College. Max has performed and recorded with Noah Preminger, Christian Sands, Donny McCaslin, Jeremy Dutton, Kaisa Maensivu, Jason Palmer, Jon Gordon, John Ellis, Dan Weiss, Colin Stranahan, Kevin Sun among others.

Jonathon S. Muir-Cotton is a multi-award winning young, up and coming double bassist and bassist trained in both the jazz and classical traditions; playing many genres including jazz, funk, gospel, blues, R&B and neo-soul. Jonathon has continued to garner great opportunities to perform internationally, with consistent rotations in Detroit, New York, Ann Arbor, and many other venues across the state of Michigan and around the country. Muir-Cotton has performed with various renowned artists both locally and nationally, including Esperanza Spalding, Karriem Riggins, Kris Johnson, Dwight Adams, Curtis Taylor, Joe Farnsworth and Ali Jackson.

Hailing from Conetticut Ryan Sands has worked his way to becoming one of the top young drummers in his field. His emphatic performance have landed him performances with Terell Stafford, Geoffrey Keezer, Wayne Escoffrey, Tamir Hendleman, Lucy Yeghiazaryan, and Jason Marsalis. Ryan’s musical education includes a BA in Jazz Performance from the New England Conservatory and an MA in Jazz Arts from the Manhattan School of Music. For teaching, he has taught for Neighborhood Music School in New Haven, CT, and iSchool of Music and Art in Shanghai. He currently teaches private drums at Yale University for their Yale Undergrad Jazz Collective.

1. Show: Start 18:30 h (Entry18:00 h)
2. Show: Start 21:00 h (Entry  20:30 h)

Artist Support Fee: 30€

Additional information
Dates
March 2024
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Direkt zum Inhalt

Mit gerade mal 34 Jahren kann der amerikanische Pianist und Grammy-Award-Gewinner Christian Sands bereits auf eine wahre Bilderbuch-Karriere zurückblicken: Mit vier Jahren kam er zum Klavier, mit fünf schrieb er erste Kompositionen, mit zwölf folgte das erste Album. Er beeindruckt mit atemberaubender Technik bei einer gleichzeitig einfühlsamen und fast zärtlichen Musikalität; brilliert wie nebenbei auch noch als Entertainer:


Freuen Sie sich auf das ZigZag-Debut des Piano-Shooting-Stars Christian Sands!

  • CHRISTIAN SANDS - PIANO
  • MAX LIGHT - GUITAR
  • JONATHAN MUIR-COTTON - BASS
  • RYAN SANDS - DRUMS

Christian Sands ist ein US-Amerikanischer Jazzpianist. Seine außergewöhnliche Musikalität zeigte sich schon sehr früh, sodass es nur eine Frage der Zeit war, bis Sands in den Jazz-Olymp aufsteigen würde. Er studierte bei Billy Taylor an der Manhattan School of Music und wurde schnell eine feste Größe in der New Yorker Szene. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Bobby Sanabria wurde mit zwei Grammys honoriert und die Liste seiner Kollaborationspartner ist lang und gespickt mit den größten Namen der Szene: Wynton Marsalis, James Moody, Bill Evans, Russell Malone, Terence Blanchard und noch viele weitere. Seit dem 2010er-Jahren ist er Mitglied im Trio von Bass-Meister Christian McBride, deren 2016er Album “Live at the Village Vanguard” vielen Jazzfans noch in guter Erinnerung geblieben sein wird, wurde doch auch diese Arbeit Sands’ mit dem Grammy ausgezeichnet.

Von diesem jungen Pianisten wird man noch sehr viel zu hören bekommen!

Max Light ist ein Gitarrist aus Brooklyn, NY. Er gewann den 2. Platz beim Herbie Hancock Institute of Jazz International Guitar Competition 2019, bewertet von Pat Metheny, John Scofield und Lionel Loueke. Max stammt aus dem Raum Washington DC und lebt jetzt in New York City. Er lebte 6 Jahre lang in Boston, wo er seinen Bachelor-Abschluss am New England Conservatory machte und jeden Freitag und Samstag im legendären Wally's Jazz Cafe mit dem weltbekannten Trompeter Jason Palmer auftrat. Seinen Master-Abschluss machte er an der Aaron Copland School of Music am Queens College. Max trat auf und machte Aufnahmen mit Noah Preminger, Christian Sands, Donny McCaslin, Jeremy Dutton, Kaisa Maensivu, Jason Palmer, Jon Gordon, John Ellis, Dan Weiss, Colin Stranahan, Kevin Sun und anderen.

Jonathon S. Muir-Cotton ist ein mehrfach preisgekrönter junger, aufstrebender Kontrabassist und Bassist, der sowohl in der Jazz- als auch in der klassischen Tradition ausgebildet ist und viele Genres wie Jazz, Funk, Gospel, Blues, R&B und Neo-Soul spielt. Jonathon erhält immer wieder großartige Gelegenheiten, international aufzutreten, und tritt regelmäßig in Detroit, New York, Ann Arbor und an vielen anderen Orten im Staat Michigan und im ganzen Land auf. Muir-Cotton ist mit verschiedenen renommierten Künstlern sowohl auf lokaler als auch auf nationaler Ebene aufgetreten, darunter Esperanza Spalding, Karriem Riggins, Kris Johnson, Dwight Adams, Curtis Taylor, Joe Farnsworth und Ali Jackson.

Der aus Conetticut stammende Ryan Sands hat sich zu einem der besten jungen Schlagzeuger in seinem Fach entwickelt. Seine eindringliche Performance hat ihm Auftritte mit Terell Stafford, Geoffrey Keezer, Wayne Escoffrey, Tamir Hendleman, Lucy Yeghiazaryan und Jason Marsalis eingebracht. Ryans musikalische Ausbildung umfasst einen BA in Jazz Performance vom New England Conservatory und einen MA in Jazz Arts von der Manhattan School of Music. Als Lehrer hat er für die Neighborhood Music School in New Haven, CT, und die iSchool of Music and Art in Shanghai unterrichtet. Derzeit unterrichtet er privates Schlagzeug an der Yale University für deren Yale Undergrad Jazz Collective.

1. erste Veranstaltung: Beginn 18:30 Uhr (Einlass ab 18:00Uhr)
2. zweite Veranstaltung: Beginn 21:00 Uhr (Einlass ab 20:30 Uhr)

Artist Support Fee: 30€


Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
März 2024
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31