Skip to main content

The workshop is aimed at all women who are fluent in Spanish, love to sing, are open to exploring their bodies as instruments and are interested in developing their voices through singing together and experiencing the joy and depth of Latin American folk music.


18:30 Workshop (Womxn):

Founded in January 2022 under the direction of Colombian singer Carolina Riaño, the Berlin-based women’s vocal ensemble CANTO DIÁSPORA is a project to encourage Spanish-speaking women to discover their singing voice and experience female empowerment through singing Latin American orally transmitted music together. We will first focus on traditional rhythms such as the Colombian bullerengue and the Bolivian cueca.

Direction: Carolina Riano

20:00 Concert: CANTO DIÁSPORA CANTOS DE RAIZ

The Latin female vocal ensemble CANTO DIÁSPORA consists of 20 women of different origins, mostly Latin American expats, who combine their voices in Spanish on a weekly basis and sing songs from the oral tradition of Latin America together. The audience will be delighted with melodies and rhythms such as the Colombian bullerengue, the tambora and the currulao, the Venezuelan joropo and fulía, the Argentine vidala and chacarera, the Chilean cueca and the Bolivian huayno.

Direction: Carolina Riano

21:00 Rueda (Fem*Jam)
Additional information

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der Workshop richtet sich an alle Frauen, die fließend Spanisch sprechen, gerne singen, offen sind, ihren Körper als Instrument zu erforschen und daran interessiert sind, ihre Stimmen durch gemeinsames Singen zu entwickeln und die Freude und Tiefe der lateinamerikanischen Volksmusik zu erleben.


18:30 Workshop (Womxn):

Das Berliner Frauen Vokalensemble CANTO DIÁSPORA wurde im Januar 2022 unter der Leitung der kolumbianischen Sängerin Carolina Riaño gegründet und ist ein Projekt, das spanischsprachige Frauen ermutigen soll, ihre Gesangsstimme zu entdecken und durch das gemeinsame Singen lateinamerikanischer, mündlich überlieferter Musik weibliches Empowerment zu erfahren. Wir werden uns zunächst auf traditionelle Rhythmen wie den kolumbianischen Bullerengue und die bolivianische Cueca konzentrieren.

Leitung: Carolina Riaño

20:00 Konzert: CANTO DIÁSPORA CANTOS DE RAIZ

Das weibliche Latin Vokalensemble CANTO DIÁSPORA besteht aus 20 Frauen unterschiedlicher Herkunft, zumeist lateinamerikanische Auswanderer, die wöchentlich ihre Stimmen auf Spanisch vereinen und gemeinsam Lieder aus der mündlichen Tradition Lateinamerikas singen. Das Publikum wird mit Melodien und Rhythmen wie dem kolumbianischen Bullerengue, der Tambora und dem Currulao, dem venezolanischen Joropo und Fulía, der argentinischen Vidala und Chacarera, der chilenischen Cueca und dem bolivianischen Huayno begeistert.

Leitung: Carolina Riaño

21:00 Rueda (Fem*Jam)
Zusätzliche Informationen