Skip to main content

For many years now, Ailbhe Reddy has been touring the pubs of the capital, performing on all the festival stages in Ireland, and has won herself a lot of fans. Since her debut album "Personal History" she has become known far beyond the island, not least because with her intense lyrics and her grandiose voice she repeatedly breaks down the boundaries between personal experience and universal validity. In April Ailbhe Reddy will come to Berlin for the first time with her new songs.

AILBHE REDDY
AILBHE REDDY NIAMH BARRY

"Tell me how did I get here? This endless pitiful affair." With these words Ailbhe Reddy opens her new album "Endless Affair", which will be released in March 2023 - and thus captures the basic idea in the first sentences. The challenge of letting something or a person go and accepting that finality.

The Dublin native reflects this theme from different directions, using her full musical spectrum from playful upbeat tracks to somber and heartbreaking tones. The whole human life spreads out, from the carefree beginning, the exciting days of searching - as on the new single, the adolescence and party song "Shitshow" - to its serious end in the rearview mirror.

A fine highlight is the penultimate song, "Pray for Me," which the Irishwoman wrote after the death of her grandmother and which oscillates quite instinctively between honest grief and vulnerability on the one hand and irony, youthful stupidity and anger on the other. That's where the whole greatness of her songwriting is revealed, with which she allows the range of emotions to shine through in just a few words and harmonies. This has brought her among the leading alternative folk artists on the island.

Buy ticket

Events
Datum
frannz club berlin - Frannz Club

Direkt zum Inhalt

Seit vielen Jahren schon tourt Ailbhe Reddy durch die Pubs der Hauptstadt, steht auf allen Festivalbühnen Irlands und hat sich eine Menge Fans erspielt. Seit ihrem Debütalbum „Personal History“ ist sie weit über die Insel hinaus bekannt geworden, nicht zuletzt, weil sie mit ihren intensiven Lyrics und ihrer grandiosen Stimme immer wieder die Grenzen zwischen persönlicher Erfahrung und universeller Gültigkeit niederreißt. Im April kommt Ailbhe Reddy mit ihren neuen Songs das erste Mal auch nach Berlin

AILBHE REDDY
AILBHE REDDY NIAMH BARRY

„Tell me how did I get here? This endless pitiful affair.“ Mit diesen Worten eröffnet Ailbhe Reddy ihr neues Album „Endless Affair“, das im März 2023 erscheint - und fängt damit in den ersten Sätzen den grundlegenden Gedanken ein. Die Herausforderung, etwas oder eine Person gehen zu lassen und diese Endgültigkeit zu akzeptieren.

Die gebürtige Dublinerin spiegelt dieses Thema aus verschiedenen Richtungen und verwendet dafür ihr komplettes musikalisches Spektrum von verspielten Upbeat-Tracks bis hin zu düsteren und herzergreifenden Tönen. Das ganze menschliche Leben breitet sich aus, vom sorglosen Beginn, den aufregenden Tagen der Suche – wie auf der neuen Single, dem Adoleszenz- und Party-Song „Shitshow“ – bis zu seinem ernsten Ende im Rückspiegel.

Ein feiner Höhepunkt ist der vorletzte Song, „Pray for Me“, den die Irin nach dem Tod ihrer Großmutter geschrieben hat und der ganz instinktiv zwischen ehrlicher Trauer und Verletzlichkeit einerseits und Ironie, jugendlicher Dummheit und Zorn andererseits pendelt. Da zeigt sich die ganze Größe ihres Songwritings, mit der sie die Spannbreite der Gefühle in wenigen Worten und Harmonien aufscheinen lässt. Das hat sie unter die führenden Alternative-Folker:innen der Insel gebracht.

Ticket kaufen

Termine
Datum
frannz club berlin - Frannz Club