Skip to main content
St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale
© (c) visumate

St.-Hedwigs-Kathedrale

The Bishop's Church of the Archdiocese of Berlin

An example of religious tolerance: St. Hedwig's Cathedral fascinates with its striking dome and the modern, simple interior, which is currently being rebuilt.

St. Hedwig's Cathedral to be rebuilt by 2023

St. Hedwig's Cathedral in the middle of Berlin - a church that has stood for religious tolerance throughout history. The Bishop's Church of the Archdiocese of Berlin adorns the Bebelplatz with its striking dome. The simple interior of the circular building is now being renovated and redesigned in order to be able to celebrate future church services according to the liturgical guidelines of the Second Vatican Council.

The first Catholic church building in Reformed Berlin

St. Hedwig's Cathedral is the first Catholic church after the Reformation in Protestant Berlin. The Prussian King Frederick the Great allowed the construction of the rotunda after the model of the Pantheon in order to provide a reference for the Catholic Silesians in Berlin. Friedrich also donated the building site on the Forum Friderizianum, the new representative square next to the opera house and library. Between 1747 and 1773, St. Hedwig was built by Johann Boumann the Elder according to plans by Georg Wenzeslaus von Knobelsdorff.

The diocese of Berlin is founded in 1930. St. Hedwig becomes a bishop's church and its interior is redesigned in an expressionist style. After the destruction of the rotunda after an air raid in World War II, reconstruction begins in 1952. The interior is redesigned by the architect Hanns Schwippert.

Since 2010, the cathedral has been in increasing need of renovation. Today's liturgical celebration of the services according to the specifications of the Second Vatican Council is complicated by the wide floor opening with wide stairs in the centre of the cathedral. In November 2013, the Archdiocese of Berlin therefore launched a competition for a new spatial concept. Among the 169 designs received, the jury decided in favour of the proposal by Sichau & Walter Architekten GmbH/Fulda and Leo Zogmayer/Vienna. The new church will no longer have a wide circular floor opening, but the altar in the centre, around which the community will gather. An archaic but convincing thought.

Resistance under National Socialism: Cathedral provost Bernhard Lichtenberg

Bernhard Lichtenberg has been provost of the cathedral since 1938. He opposes National Socialist terror, prays publicly for persecuted Jews and condemns the euthanasia program. After his arrest, he dies after two years in prison when he is transferred to a concentration camp. In 1996 Pope John Paul II beatified Bernhard Lichtenberg during his visit to Berlin. In 2004, the Yad Vashem memorial honoured him as a "righteous among the nations".

The Cathedral Forum: Open for visitors

The Bernhard-Lichtenberg-House is located right next to the church. Here is the Cathedralforum St. Hedwig, a meeting place for Berliners and their guests. Discussions and meditations, grief counseling and retreats as well as a permanent exhibition invite you to meet and get to know each other. The small bookshop offers Christian books and gifts and visitors can talk to the volunteers over a cup of coffee.
The Forum will remain open for the time being during the construction phase (Mon-Sat from 11-17.30) and will also provide information about the conversion.

Services of the congregation St. Hedwig in St. Joseph

Until the end of the reconstruction measures in 2023, the services of the Metropolitan Chapter will be celebrated in the church of St. Joseph im Wedding in Berlin Mitte.

Sankt Joseph, Müllerstraße 161, 13353 Berlin, Near S+U Wedding (S41, S42, U6)

Holy Mass

Mon - Fri 08.00 am
Mon - Fri 06.00 pm
Sa | Sat 08.00 am
        06.00 pm  
Sun 08:00 a.m.
        10:00 a.m.
        High Mass.
        12:00 noon.
        04.00 pm
        (polish mission)
        06.00 pm

*) on the 1st Sunday of each month in Latin.
Eucharistic Adoration
Friday: 05.00 p.m.- 05.45 p.m.

Organ concerts and church music

The cathedral music is also temporarily at home in Sankt Joseph im Wedding. The wide repertoire of the choir of St. Hedwig's Cathedral ranges from classical vocal polyphony to modern music. The focus is on the Mass settings of the Classical and Romantic periods.
Every 1st Sunday of the month an organ evening takes place at 7.30 p.m. and on Saturdays an organ matinee of half an hour takes place in St. Joseph at 12 noon. (Admission free)
Further concerts and performances of the choir of St. Hedwig's Cathedral in St. Joseph's Church can be found on the website.

Sights near St. Hedwig's Cathedral

    Bebelplatz
    Memorial to the burning of books by Micha Ulmann
    State Opera Unter den Linden
    Under the lime trees
    Old Library

 

 

Opening hours

Monday 10:00 – 17:00
Tuesday 10:00 – 17:00
Wednesday 10:00 – 17:00
Thursday 10:00 – 17:00
Friday 10:00 – 17:00
Saturday 10:00 – 17:00
Sun + public holidays 13:00 – 17:00

Find further information here

Direkt zum Inhalt
© (c) visumate

St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale

Die Bischofskirche des Erzbistums Berlin

Ein Beispiel für religiöse Toleranz: Die St. Hedwig-Kathedrale fasziniert mit ihrer markanten Kuppel und dem modern-schlichtem Innenraum, der zur Zeit umgebaut wird.

Die St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale mitten in Berlin – eine Kirche, die im Laufe der Geschichte immer wieder für religiöse Toleranz steht und nun umgebaut wird. Die Bischofskirche des Erzbistums Berlin schmückt mit ihrer markanten Kuppel den Bebelplatz. Der schlichte Innenraum des Rundbaues wird bis 2023 saniert und umgestaltet, um zukünftige Gottesdienste nach den liturgischen Vorgaben des Zweiten Vatikanischen Konzils feiern zu können.

Der erste katholische Kirchbau im reformierten Berlin

Die St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale ist die erste katholische Kirche nach der Reformation im protestantischen Berlin. Der preußische König Friedrich der Große erlaubt den Rundbau nach Vorbild des Pantheons, um den katholischen Schlesiern in Berlin eine Referenz zu erweisen. Friedrich schenkt dafür auch den Baugrund auf dem Forum Friderizianum, dem neuen repräsentativen Platz neben Opernhaus und Bibliothek. Zwischen 1747 und 1773 wird St. Hedwig von Johann Boumann dem Älteren nach den Plänen von Georg Wenzeslaus von Knobelsdorff errichtet.

1930 wird das Bistum Berlin gegründet. St. Hedwig wird zur Bischofskirche, ihr Innenraum im expressionistischen Stil umgestaltet. Nach der Zerstörung des Rundbaues nach einem Luftangriff im Zweiten Weltkrieg beginnt 1952 der Wiederaufbau, wobei der Innenraum vom Architekten Hanns Schwippert neu gestaltet wird. 

Seit 2010 ist die Kathedrale zunehmend sanierungsbedürftig. Die heutige liturgische Feier der Gottesdienste nach den Vorgaben des Zweiten Vatikanischen Konzils wird wegen der weiten Bodenöffnung mit breiter Treppe im Zentrum der Kathedrale erschwert. Daher hat das Erzbistum Berlin im November 2013 einen Wettbewerb für ein neues Raumkonzept ausgelobt. Unter den 169 eingegangenen Entwürfen entschied sich das Preisgericht für den Vorschlag von Sichau & Walter Architekten GmbH/Fulda und Leo Zogmayer/Wien. Der neue Kirchenraum wird nicht mehr mit einer weiten kreisrunden Bodenöffnung rechnen, sondern mit dem Altar im Zentrum, um den sich die Gemeinde versammeln wird. Ein archaischer, aber überzeugender Gedanke.

Widerstand im Nationalsozialismus: Domprobst Bernhard Lichtenberg

Bernhard Lichtenberg ist seit 1938 Domprobst. Er wendet sich gegen den nationalsozialistischen Terror, betet öffentlich für verfolgte Juden und verurteilt das Euthanasieprogramm. Nach seiner Verhaftung stirbt er nach zwei Jahren im Gefängnis bei der Verlegung ins Konzentrationslager. 1996 sprach Papst Johannes Paul II. bei seinem Berlin-Besuch Bernhard Lichtenberg selig. Die Gedenkstätte Yad Vashem ehrt ihn 2004 als „Gerechten unter den Völkern“.

Das Kathedralforum: Geöffnet für Besucher

Das Bernhard-Lichtenberg-Haus liegt gleich neben der Kirche. Hier befindet sich das Kathedralforum St. Hedwig, ein Ort der Begegnung für Berliner und für ihre Gäste. Gesprächs- und Meditationsangebote, Trauerbegleitung und Exerzitien sowie eine Dauerausstellung laden zum Begegnen und Kennenlernen ein. Der kleine Buchladen bietet christliche Büchern und Geschenke an und die Besucher können bei einer Tasse Kaffee mit den ehrenamtlichen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern ins Gespräch kommen.
Das Forum bleibt während der Bauphase vorläufig geöffnet (Mo-Sa von 11-17.30 Uhr) und informiert auch über den Umbau.

Gottesdienste der Gemeinde St. Hedwig in St. Joseph

Bis zum Ende der Umbaumaßnahmen im Jahr 2023 werden die Gottesdienste des Metropolitankapitels in der Kirche St. Joseph im Wedding in Berlin Mitte gefeiert.

Sankt Joseph, Müllerstraße 161, 13353 Berlin, Nähe S+U Wedding (S41, S42, U6)

Heilige Messe | Holy Mass
Mo – Fr     08.00 Uhr | 08.00 am
Mon – Fri  18.00 Uhr | 06.00 pm
Sa | Sat     08.00 Uhr | 08.00 am
                  18.00 Uhr | 06.00 pm  
So | Sun    08.00 Uhr | 08.00 am
                   10.00 Uhr | 10.00 am
                   (Hochamt) | (High Mass)
                   12.00 Uhr | noon
                   16.00 Uhr | 04.00 pm
                   (poln. Mission) | (polish mission)
                   18.00 Uhr | 06.00 pm

*) am 1.Sonntag jeden Monats in lateinischer Sprache.
Eucharistische Anbetung
Freitag: 17:00 - 17:45 Uhr

Orgelkonzerte und Kirchenmusik
Auch die Dommusik ist vorübergehend in Sankt Joseph im Wedding beheimatet. Das breit gefächerte Repertoire des Chores der St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale reicht von der altklassischen Vokalpolyphonie bis hin zur Moderne. Schwerpunkte sind die Messvertonungen der Klassik und Romantik.
An jedem 1. Sonntag im Monat findet um 19.30 Uhr ein Orgelabend und samstags um 12 Uhr eine halbstündige Orgelmatinee in St. Joseph statt. (Eintritt frei)
Weitere Konzerte und Auftritte des Chors der St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale in der St. Joseph-Kirche finden Sie auf der Webseite.

Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Nähe der St. Hedwigs-Kathedrale

 

Öffnungszeiten

Montag 10:00 – 17:00
Dienstag 10:00 – 17:00
Mittwoch 10:00 – 17:00
Donnerstag 10:00 – 17:00
Freitag 10:00 – 17:00
Samstag 10:00 – 17:00
Sonn- und Feiertage 13:00 – 17:00

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen