Skip to main content

SODA Lecture Series Performativity of Class

Through an assemblage of readings and reflections, this intervention will playfully speculate on the paradoxical position of the 'curator' within broader structures of the global art circuitry and, by extension, the social totality. It primarily draws on Marxian class theory and literature on the relationship between contemporary art and class, but also anecdotal observations, to ask:

Uferstudios
Uferstudios Guido Borgers

Should a curator be likened to a precarized worker or a hedge fund manager? Have there been attempts in recent history to situate the 'curatorial' within expressions of class struggle? What is the real 'value' of the social capital that curators supposedly hold? Can they - would they - unionize and see themselves as operating from a ? And most importantly, does the curatorial refer to a specific form of labor or class position, or is it a portmanteau concept that obfuscates class positionalities instead of rendering them more legible?

How do class and classism manifest themselves in bodies? How do experiences of exclusion, isolation, assimilation or shame translate into somatic experiences or bodily stances and gestures? What do 'social advancement' and 'belonging' taste and smell like? The Performativity of Class lecture series is an intersectional examination of the current comeback of the concept of class with a focus on the conditions and realities of work in the fields of education and body-based performing arts: areas in which social inequality and privilege are often reproduced, rather than dismantled.

In dialogue with experts from art, scholarship and education, the series explores how class positions determine relationships among students, teachers. In a larger social context, it will also examine how social privileges translate into understandings of knowledge and the body, into speaker positions and structures, and what role performative and artistic (counter-) strategies play in this.

The lecture series is jointly curated and organised by Prof. Dr. Sandra Noeth (MA SODA/HZT Berlin) and Prof. Dan Belasco Rogers (UdK Studium Generale).

(Program in English)
Additional information
Performers 

Edwin Nasr (b. 1994) is a writer and curator from Beirut. Their research is broadly concerned with art practice and material culture's ability to make legible spaces of capture and extraction. Since 2018, Nasr has been taking part in the development of programs, publications, and exhibitions at Ashkal Alwan and is currently a curator at CCA Berlin - Center for Contemporary Arts. They completed de Appel’s Curatorial Programme in 2020-2021, followed by a research fellowship. Together with Sarah Rifky, they curated a three-day multidisciplinary summit, Towards an Institute of Black Studies, at the Quai Branly Museum, Paris; and Alexandria: Past Futures, a survey exhibition that will travel between Bozar - Center for Fine Arts, Brussels and the MUCEM, Marseille. With Hera Chan, they launched an ongoing podcast and research project, NOT A READY-MADE HISTORY, commissioned by SAVVY Contemporary in Berlin and further developed with the Singapore Art Museum and the Seoul Museum of Art. Forthcoming and recent essays can be found in Afterall Journal, n+1, Bidoun, Spike Art Magazine, The White Review, and The Funambulist.
Events
Datum
Uferstudios: Uferstudio 11

Direkt zum Inhalt

SODA Lecture Series Performativity of Class

Durch eine Zusammenstellung von Lektüren und Reflexionen wird dieser Beitrag spielerisch über die paradoxe Position des ‚Kurators‘ innerhalb der breiteren Strukturen des globalen Kunstkreislaufs und, im weiteren Sinne, der sozialen Gesamtheit spekulieren. Er stützt sich in erster Linie auf die Marxsche Klassentheorie und Literatur über die Beziehung zwischen zeitgenössischer Kunst und Klasse, aber auch auf anekdotische Beobachtungen, um zu fragen:

Uferstudios
Uferstudios Guido Borgers

Sollte ein/eine Kurator:in mit einem/einer prekarisierten Arbeiter:in oder einem/einer Hedgefondsmanager:in verglichen werden? Gab es in der jüngeren Geschichte Versuche, das ‚Kuratorische‘ in Begriffen des Klassenkampfes zu fassen? Was ist der wirkliche ‚Wert‘ des sozialen Kapitals, das Kurator:innen angeblich besitzen? Und vor allem: Bezieht sich das Kuratorische auf eine bestimmte Form von Arbeit oder Klassenposition, oder ist es ein Portmanteau-Konzept, das Klassenpositionen verschleiert, anstatt sie besser lesbar zu machen?

Wie manifestieren sich Klasse und Klassismus im Körper? Wie schlagen sich Erfahrungen von Ausgrenzung, Isolation, Assimilation oder Scham in somatischen Erfahrungen oder körperlichen Haltungen und Gesten nieder? Wie schmecken und riechen "sozialer Aufstieg" und "Zugehörigkeit"? Die Vortragsreihe The Performativity of Class ist eine intersektionale Untersuchung des aktuellen Comebacks des Klassenbegriffs mit einem Fokus auf die Arbeitsbedingungen und -realitäten in den Bereichen Ausbildung und körperbasierte darstellende Künste: Bereiche, in denen soziale Ungleichheiten und Privilegien oft eher reproduziert als abgebaut werden.

Im Dialog mit Expert:innen aus Kunst, Wissenschaft und Bildung untersucht die Reihe, wie Klassenpositionen die Beziehungen zwischen Student:innen und Lehrenden bestimmen. In einem größeren gesellschaftlichen Kontext geht es auch darum, wie sich soziale Privilegien in Wissens- und Körperverständnisse, in Sprecher:innen-Positionen und -strukturen niederschlagen und welche Rolle performative und künstlerische (Gegen-)Strategien dabei spielen.

Die Vortragsreihe wird gemeinsam kuratiert und organisiert von Prof. Dr. Sandra Noeth (MA SODA/HZT Berlin) und Prof. Dan Belasco Rogers (UdK Studium Generale).

(Programm in englischer Sprache)
Zusätzliche Informationen
Besetzung 

Edwin Nasr (geb. 1994) ist ein Schriftsteller* und Kurator* aus Beirut. Nasrs Forschungen befassen sich im Wesentlichen mit der Kunstpraxis und der Fähigkeit der materiellen Kultur, Räume der Vereinnahmung und Extraktion lesbar zu machen. Seit 2018 ist Nasr an der Entwicklung von Programmen, Publikationen und Ausstellungen bei Ashkal Alwan beteiligt und arbeitet derzeit als Kurator* am CCA Berlin - Center for Contemporary Arts. Nasr absolvierte das Kuratorenprogramm von de Appel in den Jahren 2020-2021, gefolgt von einem Forschungsstipendium. Zusammen mit Sarah Rifky kuratierten Nasr ein dreitägiges multidisziplinäres Gipfeltreffen, Towards an Institute of Black Studies, im Quai Branly Museum, Paris; und Alexandria: Past Futures, eine Überblicksausstellung, die zwischen dem Bozar - Center for Fine Arts, Brüssel, und dem MUCEM, Marseille, wandern wird. Mit Hera Chan startete Nasr ein laufendes Podcast- und Forschungsprojekt, NOT A READY-MADE HISTORY, das von SAVVY Contemporary in Berlin in Auftrag gegeben und mit dem Singapore Art Museum und dem Seoul Museum of Art weiterentwickelt wurde. Künftige und aktuelle Essays finden sich in Afterall Journal, n+1, Bidoun, Spike Art Magazine, The White Review und The Funambulist.
Termine
Datum
Uferstudios: Uferstudio 11