Skip to main content

The title Venn Bodies is inspired by the concept of Venn diagrams, commonly used to illustrate complex relationships between different sets. Building on the explanation of the German mathematician Georg Cantor, who described a set as ‘many considered as one’, in this performance, each individual body is regarded as a single set, seen as a vessel of cultural memory on the stage.


In Venn Bodies, artists with different interests and backgrounds exchange their works of art and interpret each other’s works from their own artistic perspectives, exploring the diverse relationships that emerge. The performance adopts a parkour style, allowing the audience to freely explore the space while multiple performances unfold simultaneously at various locations on the stage.
Additional information
Concept and Direction: Tschoe One

Performers/Collaborators: Ji Sun Hagen, Martha Kröger, Anela Luzi, Tschoe One

Light Designer: Sujin Choi

Mentors: Diego Agulló, Friederike Hirz

Tutor: Janez Janša

Special Thanks: Soomin Chae

Tschoe One, born in Seoul and currently based in Berlin, is an artist and researcher. His work primarily revolves around socially relevant themes and a profound interest in anthropological questions related to cultural identity. He also enjoys envisioning others’ sensory experiences and explores human sensory aspects, including physical, emotional, and psychological responses, through various media in his research, experiments and work.

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der Titel Venn Bodies ist von dem Konzept der Venn-Diagramme inspiriert, die üblicherweise zur Veranschaulichung komplexer Beziehungen zwischen verschiedenen Mengen verwendet werden. In Anlehnung an die Erklärung des deutschen Mathematikers Georg Cantor, der eine Menge als "viele als eine" bezeichnete, wird in dieser Performance jeder einzelne Körper als eine einzige Menge betrachtet, die auf der Bühne als Gefäß des kulturellen Gedächtnisses gesehen wird.


In Venn Bodies tauschen Künstler:innen mit unterschiedlichen Interessen und Hintergründen ihre Kunstwerke aus und interpretieren die Werke des jeweils anderen aus ihrer eigenen künstlerischen Perspektive, um die vielfältigen Beziehungen zu erkunden, die dabei entstehen. Die Performance folgt einem Parkour-Stil, der es dem Publikum erlaubt, den Raum frei zu erkunden, während sich mehrere Performances gleichzeitig an verschiedenen Orten auf der Bühne entfalten.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Konzept und Regie: Tschoe One

Mitwirkende/Kollaborateure: Ji Sun Hagen, Martha Kröger, Anela Luzi, Tschoe One

Lichtdesigner: Sujin Choi

Mentoring: Diego Agulló, Friederike Hirz

Betreuer: Janez Janša

Besonderer Dank an: Soomin Chae

Tschoe One, geboren in Seoul und derzeit in Berlin ansässig, ist Künstler und Forscher. Seine Arbeit dreht sich hauptsächlich um gesellschaftlich relevante Themen und ein tiefes Interesse an anthropologischen Fragen zur kulturellen Identität. Er mag es auch, sich die sensorischen Erfahrungen anderer auszumalen und erforscht die menschlichen sensorischen Aspekte, einschließlich physischer, emotionaler und psychologischer Reaktionen, durch verschiedene Medien in seinen Forschungen, Experimenten und Arbeiten.