Skip to main content

With Abdallah Damra, Aїda Jamal, Lori Kharpoutlian, Mehdi Dahkan, nasa4nasa, Nermin Habib, Synda Jebali & Sara Dziri, Yara Boustany, Ziad Wallace

After its launch in 2019, the second edition of the project "Un|controlled Gestures" 2022, curated by Nedjma Hadj Benchelabi and Shaymaa Shoukry, also shows works by young choreographers and dancers from Egypt, Lebanon, Morocco, Tunisia and the Palestinian Territories. They have come together in residencies in Cairo and Berlin to develop new creations in the field of contemporary dance and its interfaces with other art forms.

Un|controlled Gestures – 2nd Edition im Goethe-Institut Kairo
Un|controlled Gestures – 2nd Edition im Goethe-Institut Kairo Goethe-Institut Kairo

The performances of the participating artists take private and collective memories as their point of departure, break open entrenched narratives and search for a new language in dance that is capable of inspiring the imagination and thus triggering a process of transformation. The pandemic deceleration and forced retreat during the development of the project forced the artists to search for new forms of expression, to experiment with them, and to incorporate them directly into the project.

Nine productions will be on view at HAU3 over three evenings as a work in progress.

The first edition in 2019 offered young dancers and choreographers from MENA countries the opportunity to create and present new performances that reflect the autonomy of the body and social control over the body in its political and economic context. The project included residencies and meetings between the artists in Rabat and Cairo, and a final presentation in Tunis in February 2020.

Un|controlled Gestures is a project of the Goethe-Institut Cairo in collaboration with HAU Hebbel am Ufer.

Buy ticket

Additional information
Events
Datum
Hebbel am Ufer - HAU3
Datum
Hebbel am Ufer - HAU3
Datum
Hebbel am Ufer - HAU3

Direkt zum Inhalt

Mit Abdallah Damra, Aїda Jamal, Lori Kharpoutlian, Mehdi Dahkan, nasa4nasa, Nermin Habib, Synda Jebali & Sara Dziri, Yara Boustany, Ziad Wallace

Nach dem Launch im Jahr 2019 zeigt auch die zweite Ausgabe des Projekts “Un|controlled Gestures” 2022, kuratiert von Nedjma Hadj Benchelabi und Shaymaa Shoukry, Arbeiten junger Cho­reo­graf:innen und Tänzer:innen aus Ägypten, Libanon, Marokko, Tunesien sowie den palästinensischen Autonomiegebieten. Sie sind in Residenzen in Kairo und Berlin zusammengekommen, um neue Kreationen im Feld des zeitgenössischen Tanzes und dessen Schnittstellen zu anderen Kunstformen zu erarbeiten.

Un|controlled Gestures – 2nd Edition im Goethe-Institut Kairo
Un|controlled Gestures – 2nd Edition im Goethe-Institut Kairo Goethe-Institut Kairo

Die Performances der beteiligten Künstler:innen gehen von privaten und kollektiven Erinnerungen aus, brechen eingefahrene Narrative auf und suchen nach einer neuen Sprache im Tanz, welche es vermag, die Vorstellungskraft zu beflügeln und so einen Prozess der Transformation anzustoßen. Die pandemiebedingte Entschleunigung und der erzwungene Rückzug während der Entwicklung des Projekts zwangen die Künstler:innen, nach neuen Formen des Ausdrucks zu suchen, mit diesen zu experimentieren und sie direkt in das Projekt einfließen zu lassen.

Im HAU3 werden neun Produktionen an drei Abenden als Work in Progress zu sehen sein.

Die erste Ausgabe 2019 bot jungen Tänzer:innen und Choreograf:innen aus den MENA-Ländern die Möglichkeit, neue Performances zu kreieren und zu präsentieren, die die Autonomie des Körpers und die soziale Kontrolle über den Körper in seinem politischen und wirtschaftlichen Kontext widerspiegeln. Das Projekt umfasste Residenzen und Treffen zwischen den Künstler:innen in Rabat und Kairo sowie eine Abschlusspräsentation im Februar 2020 in Tunis.

Un|controlled Gestures ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts Kairo in Zusammenarbeit mit HAU Hebbel am Ufer.

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
Hebbel am Ufer - HAU3
Datum
Hebbel am Ufer - HAU3
Datum
Hebbel am Ufer - HAU3