Skip to main content

SKIN IN THE GAME features seminal works from the 1970s and early 1980s from the personal archives of internationally renowned women artists. On display are never-before-seen experiments and generative elements such as recordings, storyboards, maquettes, and concept notes. These "prototypical" works symbolize moments of emancipatory transition in the individual careers of each of the women artists. While fragmentary, broken down, and mutable, as prototypes they are likely to be repeated and revised over time. They become the organs of a corpus, a body of work, in a metabolic sense.

KW Institute for Contemporary Art von außen
KW Institute for Contemporary Art von außen © KUNST-WERKE BERLIN e. V., KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Foto Uwe Walter

The SKIN IN THE GAME exhibition offers glimpses into the inner workings of artistic practice prior to the final production and presentation of an artwork. Here, the artists' personal research collections become the starting point for seminars with artists and curators of the younger generation. In this way, KW creates a study environment or bureau d'esprit for visitors.

The participating artists will be announced in early 2023.

Through a diverse outreach and events program, SKIN IN THE GAME tests the methodology of the Metabolic Museum-University (MM-U) project that Clémentine Deliss (The Metabolic Museum, Hatje Cantz/KW, 2020) has been developing at various venues since 2015. It is an art-led curatorial platform that experiments with collections as prototypes for open-ended investigations and transdisciplinary exercises.

Beginning in February 2023, documentation of previous events such as the MM-U Debating Chamber, held at KW in 2021, will be made available on a project-owned website.
Additional information

Accessibility

KW is only partially accessible for visitors with limited mobility. KW wants to make a visit as barrier-free as possible. For this reason, they are constantly working on supplementing and improving their offerings and welcome suggestions. Contact: info@kw-berlin.de or 030/24 34 59-0.

Direkt zum Inhalt

SKIN IN THE GAME zeigt wegweisende Werke der 1970er und frühen 1980er Jahre aus den persönlichen Archiven international bekannter Künstlerinnen. Ausgestellt werden nie zuvor gezeigte Experimente und generative Elemente wie Aufnahmen, Storyboards, Maquetten und Konzeptnotizen. Diese „prototypischen“ Werke versinnbildlichen Momente des emanzipatorischen Übergangs in der individuellen Karriere jeder der Künstlerinnen. Zwar sind sie fragmentarisch, heruntergebrochen und veränderlich, aber als Prototypen werden sie im Laufe der Zeit wahrscheinlich wiederholt und überarbeitet. Sie werden zu den Organen eines Korpus, eines Werkkörpers, im metabolischen Sinne.

KW Institute for Contemporary Art von außen
KW Institute for Contemporary Art von außen © KUNST-WERKE BERLIN e. V., KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Foto Uwe Walter

Die Ausstellung SKIN IN THE GAME bietet Einblicke in das Innenleben der künstlerischen Praxis vor der endgültigen Produktion und Präsentation eines Kunstwerks. Hier werden die persönlichen Forschungssammlungen der Künstlerinnen zum Ausgangspunkt für Seminare mit Künstler:innen und Kurator:innen der jüngeren Generation. So entsteht in den KW ein Studienumfeld oder Bureau d’Esprit für die Besucher:innen.

Die teilnehmenden Künstlerinnen werden Anfang 2023 bekanntgegeben.

Durch ein vielfältiges Vermittlungs- und Veranstaltungsprogramm erprobt SKIN IN THE GAME die Methodik des Projekts Metabolic Museum-University (MM-U), das Clémentine Deliss (The Metabolic Museum, Hatje Cantz/KW, 2020) seit 2015 an verschiedenen Orten entwickelt. Es handelt sich dabei um eine von der Kunst geleitete kuratorische Plattform, die mit Sammlungen als Prototypen für ergebnisoffene Untersuchungen und transdisziplinäre Übungen experimentiert.

Ab Februar 2023 wird die Dokumentation früherer Veranstaltungen wie der MM-U Debating Chamber, die 2021 in den KW stattfand, auf einer projekteigenen Webseite zur Verfügung gestellt.
Zusätzliche Informationen

Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit

Die KW sind für Besucher:innen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität nur teilweise barrierefrei. Die KW wollen einen möglichst barrierearmen Besuch ermöglichen. Daher arbeiten sie laufend an der Ergänzung und Verbesserung ihrer Angebote und freuen sich über Anregungen. Kontakt: info@kw-berlin.de oder 030/24 34 59–0.