Skip to main content

For the first time, Fluentum will focus on the political, visual, and discursive dimensions inscribed into the historically charged architecture of its premises. The program series features the group exhibition Time Without End, solo exhibitions by Anja Kirschner and Loretta Fahrenholz, as well as a series of publications.

Außenansicht Fluentum
Außenansicht Fluentum © Photo: Eike Walkenhorst, Copyright: Eike Walkenhorst

In Medias Res: Media, (Still) Moving is co-curated by Dennis Brzek, who will be guest curator at Fluentum from 2021 to 2022, and Junia Thiede, Head of Exhibitions and Programs at Fluentum.

Fluentum's exhibition space is located in the imposing main building of a former military facility. Constructed between 1936 and 1938 during the era of National Socialism by architect Fritz Fuß as "Luftgaukommando III," the building served a key infrastructural role for the German Luftwaffe. After World War II, U.S. forces utilized the building as their military and intelligence headquarters until 1994.

As the title suggests, In Medias Res: Media, (Still) Moving understands Fluentum’s engagement with the moving image to be continually embedded within these temporal pulls. Drawing on the building's indexicality, the exhibitions and publications use media to juxtapose historical periods and their monuments with specific moments of the present, and investigate how meanings, histories, and places are produced discursively.

Over the course of the project, In Medias Res: Media, (Still) Moving will be framed by a four-part series of publications dedicated to a concrete investigation of the building's history. The series will form the first comprehensive treatment examining the site and will include essays, historical photographs, and other archival material as well as artist contributions.

The exhibition program of In Medias Res: Media, (Still) Moving consists of:

Time Without End
with 13BC (Vic Brooks, Lucy Raven, Evan Calder Williams), Klaus vom Bruch, Keren Cytter, Loretta Fahrenholz, Margaret Honda, D’Ette Nogle, Richard Sides, Valerie Snobeck, Florian Wüst
September 15 – December 11, 2021

Anja Kirschner
April – July, 2022

Loretta Fahrenholz
September – December, 2022
Additional information

Direkt zum Inhalt

Erstmals widmet sich Fluentum den historischen, politischen, visuellen und diskursiven Dimensionen, die in das Gebäude, das die Plattform heute beherbergt, eingeschrieben sind. Die Programmreihe besteht aus der Gruppenausstellung Time Without End, Einzelausstellungen von Anja Kirschner und Loretta Fahrenholz sowie einer umfangreichen Publikationsreihe.

Außenansicht Fluentum
Außenansicht Fluentum © Photo: Eike Walkenhorst, Copyright: Eike Walkenhorst

In Medias Res: Media, (Still) Moving wird gemeinsam kuratiert von Dennis Brzek, der von 2021 bis 2022 als Gastkurator bei Fluentum tätig ist, und Junia Thiede, Head of Exhibitions and Programs bei Fluentum.

Die Ausstellungsräume von Fluentum befinden sich im repräsentativen Hauptgebäude des ehemaligen ‘Luftgaukommando III’, das zur Zeit des Nationalsozialismus erbaut wurde. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg wurde das Gebäude von den US-amerikanischen Streitkräften bis zum Jahr 1994 als Hauptquartier für Militär und Geheimdienst in West-Berlin genutzt.

Wie der Titel zu verstehen gibt, sieht In Medias Res: Media, (Still) Moving Fluentums Auseinandersetzung mit dem Bewegtbild kontinuierlich in diese zeitlichen Verflechtungen eingebettet. Ausgehend von der Indexikalität des Gebäudes nutzen die Ausstellungsprojekte und Publikationsreihe Medien, um der historischen Zeit und ihren Monumenten spezifische Gegenwartsmomente gegenüberzustellen und zu untersuchen, wie Bedeutungen, Geschichten und Orte diskursiv produziert werden.

Die inhaltliche Klammer von In Medias Res: Media, (Still) Moving bildet eine vierteilige Publikationsreihe, die eine konkrete Auseinandersetzung mit der Geschichte des Gebäudes verfolgt. Die Reihe wird die erste zusammenhängende Abhandlung zu diesem Ort bilden und Essays, historische Fotografien und andere Archivmaterialien sowie künstlerische Beiträge umfassen.

Das Ausstellungsprogramm von In Medias Res: Media, (Still) Moving besteht aus:

Time Without End
mit 13BC (Vic Brooks, Lucy Raven, Evan Calder Williams), Klaus vom Bruch, Keren Cytter, Loretta Fahrenholz, Margaret Honda, D’Ette Nogle, Richard Sides, Valerie Snobeck, Florian Wüst
15. September – 11. Dezember 2021

Anja Kirschner
April – Juli 2022

Loretta Fahrenholz
September – Dezember 2022
Zusätzliche Informationen