Skip to main content

Opera in three acts (1910)

California, at the height of the gold rush: the place of longing turns out to be an unforgiving wasteland where the law of the strongest applies. Only Minnie's bar functions as a place of peaceful coexistence, revered by all the gold seekers and passionately desired by the rough-legged Sheriff Rance. But when Minnie falls in love with a stranger who is unmasked as the long-sought bandit Johnson, the already fragile order is turned upside down.


Giacomo Puccini’s works, especially his arias from »La Bohème«, »Tosca« and »Madama Butterfly«, are among the most played operas.

»La Fanciulla del West«, by contrast, which was premiered at the New York Metropolitan Opera in 1910, stands so much in the shadow of his other operas that it is only being performed at Unter den Linden now for the first time.


The Wild West opera, in which society's outcasts clash in search of wealth and a little happiness, offers at first glance less lyricism and euphony than most of his operas, in keeping with the rough setting. But he succeeded in creating a portrait of a world full of deprivation and shattered dreams.

The composer was rightly proud of his score’s refined timbres. Anton von Webern, who was not renowned for his affinity with Italian opera, commented appreciatively: »The score has an entirely original sound. Magnificent. Every beat is surprising. Very special sounds.«

Buy ticket

Additional information
Duration: approx. 2:45 h including an intermission after the first act.

Language: In Italian with German and English surtitles.

Age recommendation: from 16 years.

Participating artists
Giacomo Puccini (Komponist/in)
Guelfo Civini und Carlo Zangarini (Autor/in)
Dates
June 2024
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Direkt zum Inhalt

Oper in drei Akten (1910)

Kalifornien, zu Hochzeiten des Goldrauschs: Der Sehnsuchtsort stellt sich als unerbittliche Einöde heraus, in der das Gesetz des Stärkeren gilt. Allein die Bar von Minnie fungiert als Ort friedlichen Miteinanders, die von allen Goldsuchern verehrt und vom raubeinigen Sheriff Rance leidenschaftlich begehrt wird. Als sich Minnie jedoch in einen Fremden verliebt, der als der lang gesuchte Bandit Johnson entlarvt wird, wird die ohnehin schon fragile Ordnung auf den Kopf gestellt.


Eigentlich gehören Giacomo Puccinis Werke, allen voran seine Trias aus »La Bohème«, »Tosca« und »Madama Butterfly«, zu den meistgespielten Opern.

Die 1910 an der New Yorker Metropolitan Opera uraufgeführte »La fanciulla del West« steht dagegen so im Schatten seiner übrigen Opern, dass sie erst jetzt zum ersten Mal Unter den Linden erklingt.

Die Wild-West-Oper, in der die Outcasts der Gesellschaft auf der Suche nach Reichtum und ein bisschen Glück aufeinandertreffen, bietet zwar dem rauen Schauplatz entsprechend auf den ersten Blick weniger Lyrik und Wohlklang als die meisten seiner Opern. Dafür gelang ihm ein Porträt einer Welt voller Entbehrungen und geplatzter Träume.

Zu Recht war der Komponist stolz auf die klangfarblichen Finessen seiner Partitur. So äußerte der ansonsten nicht gerade für seine Affinität zur italienischen Oper bekannte Anton von Webern anerkennend: »Eine Partitur von durchaus originellem Klang. Prachtvoll. Jeder Takt überraschend. Ganz besondere Klänge.«

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Dauer: ca. 2:45 h inklusive einer Pause nach dem ersten Akt.

Sprache: In italienischer Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln.

Altersempfehlung: ab 16 Jahren.

Teilnehmende Künstler
Giacomo Puccini (Komponist/in)
Guelfo Civini und Carlo Zangarini (Autor/in)
Termine
Juni 2024
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30