Skip to main content

Suli Puschban & The Carrington-Brown Ensemble & Catherine Larson-Maguire | 5-99 Jahre

In an unprecedented children's family show, the fast-paced and award-winning comedy duo Carrington-Brown, award-winning children's singer-songwriter Suli Puschban, and the Carrington-Brown Ensemble's fantastic conductor Catherine Larsen-Maguire weave rock with classical and pop with opera.

Suli Puschban & The Carrington-Brown Ensemble & Catherine Larson-Maguire
Suli Puschban & The Carrington-Brown Ensemble & Catherine Larson-Maguire © Promo

Virtuoso cellist Rebecca and her ancient cello Joe, actor Colin, rock singer Suli, and the versatile Catherine leap over the edge of the stage and have their young audiences singing along, joining in, and pushing boundaries. Rousing melodies come hand in hand with pieces from opera arias, catchy tunes take classics on the road, and before the eyes of the astonished audience, three ramp sows fight for the most attention.

Children get to know the Queen of the Night, make acquaintance with the magic powers of a cello bow and are released at the end of the musical adventure with a clear message: "Ode To Joy!"

In recent years, a vibrant scene in the field of children's music has developed in German-speaking countries, and "participatory concerts" are at its heart. Children are invited to participate in the concert by singing, dancing and playing. The music ranges from rock and reggae to swing and folk, the lyrics are appropriate for children, funny and educational.

Now the artists are going one step further: they are also incorporating classical music into songwriting and performance and bringing the music of "high culture" from the opera and concert hall to the children, who are often denied cultural participation of this kind. Here, they stop at nothing to open up musical worlds for children: not only are the genres of classical music and pop-rock combined, but also in addressing and involving the child audience, boundaries are overcome and an inclusive concert of a very special kind is heard, from the philharmonic hall to schools in socially deprived areas, a firework of musical diversity is ignited.

Together these artists deliver a breathtaking musical spectacle: entertainment, education and empowerment in German and English with all the waters of the musical world washed. An important goal of the participating artists is to bring this kind of music education to places where children rarely have access to classical high culture, concert halls or opera houses; they bring music to children in schools, daycare centers or cultural events in the vicinity.

The "Klassik-rockt-Kinder-Band" could not be more diverse: three women and one man speak English and German, are black and white, are British-German-Austrian, wave the rainbow flag, have everything from bass to soprano on board and, with their passion for music, tear down the walls that separate children from cultural participation.

Astrid Lindgren Summer Stage, ages 5-99, 60 minutes.

Please observe hygiene rules and protective measures for safe theater attendance. As changes may be made at short notice, please also inform us of all current hygiene measures on the day of the event.

theater ticket: € 9,50

Groups of 3 or more: € 7.50 p.p.

Kitas & schools with JKS voucher: € 4,50 p.p.

Kitas & schools without JKS voucher: € 6,- p.p.

(Program in German)
Additional information
Events
Datum
Astrid Lindgren Bühne im FEZ-Berlin

Direkt zum Inhalt

Suli Puschban & The Carrington-Brown Ensemble & Catherine Larson-Maguire | 5-99 Jahre

In einer noch nie dagewesenen Kinder-Familien-Show verknüpfen das rasante und mehrfach ausgezeichnete Comedy Duo Carrington-Brown, die preisgekrönte Kinderliedermacherin Suli Puschban und die fantastische Dirigentin des Carrington-Brown Ensembles Catherine Larsen-Maguire Rock mit Klassik und Pop mit Oper.

Suli Puschban & The Carrington-Brown Ensemble & Catherine Larson-Maguire
Suli Puschban & The Carrington-Brown Ensemble & Catherine Larson-Maguire © Promo

Die virtuose Cellistin Rebecca und ihr uraltes Cello Joe, der Schauspieler Colin, die Rockröhre Suli und die vielseitige Catherine springen über den Bühnenrand und lassen ihr junges Publikum mitsingen, mitmachen und Grenzen überwinden. Mitreißende Melodien kommen Hand in Hand mit Stücken aus Opernarien daher, Ohrwürmer nehmen Klassiker mit auf Reisen und vor den Augen des staunenden Publikums kämpfen drei Rampensäue um die größte Aufmerksamkeit.

Kinder lernen die Königin der Nacht kennen, machen Bekanntschaft mit den Zauberkräften eines Cellobogens und werden am Ende des musikalischen Abenteuers mit einer klaren Botschaft entlassen: „Ode To Joy!“

In den letzten Jahren hat sich im deutschsprachigen Raum eine lebendige Szene im Bereich der Kindermusik entwickelt, »Mitmach-Konzerte« sind ihr Herzstück. Kinder werden eingeladen sich am Konzertgeschehen singend, tanzend, spielend zu beteiligen. Die Musik reicht von Rock und Reggae über Swing bis Folk, die Texte sind kindgerecht, witzig und lehrreich.

Nun gehen die Künstler*innen noch einen Schritt weiter: sie binden auch Klassik in Songwriting und Performance ein und bringen die Musik der »Hochkultur« aus Oper und Konzerthaus zu den Kindern, denen kulturelle Teilhabe dieser Art oft verwehrt ist. Hier wird vor nichts Halt gemacht, um Kindern musikalische Welten zu eröffnen: nicht nur werden die Genres Klassik und Pop-Rock miteinander verbunden, auch in Ansprache und Einbindung des kindlichen Publikums werden Grenzen überwunden und es erklingt ein inklusives Konzert ganz besonderer Couleur, von Philharmonie bis Schule in sozialen Brennpunkten aufführbar, wird ein Feuerwerk musikalischer Vielfalt entzündet.

Gemeinsam liefern diese Künstler*innen ein atemberaubendes Musikspektakel ab: Entertainment, Education und Empowerment in Deutsch und Englisch mit allen Wassern der musikalischen Welt gewaschen. Ein wichtiges Ziel der beteiligten Künstler*innen ist es diese Art der Musikvermittlung auch an die Orte zu tragen, an denen Kinder eher selten Zugang zu klassischer Hochkultur, Konzerthaus oder Oper, haben, sie bringen die Musik zu Kindern in Schulen, Kitas oder Kulturveranstaltern in der Nähe.

Die "Klassik-rockt-Kinder-Band" könnte vielfältiger nicht sein: drei Frauen und ein Mann sprechen Englisch und Deutsch, sind schwarz und weiß, sind britisch-deutsch-österreichisch, winken mit der Regenbogenfahne, haben von Bass bis Sopran alles an Bord und reißen mit ihrer Leidenschaft für Musik die Mauern nieder, die Kinder von kultureller Teilhabe trennen.

Astrid-Lindgren-Sommerbühne, 5-99 Jahre, 60 Minuten

Bitte Hygieneregeln und Schutzmaßnahmen für einen sicheren Theaterbesuch beachten. Da es zu kurzfristigen Änderungen kommen kann,  auch am Veranstaltungstag über alle aktuellen Hygienemaßnahmen informieren.

Theaterticket: € 9,50

Gruppen ab 3 Personen: € 7,50 p.P.

Kitas & Schulen mit JKS-Gutschein: € 4,50 p.P.

Kitas & Schulen ohne JKS-Gutschein: € 6,- p.P.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
Astrid Lindgren Bühne im FEZ-Berlin