Skip to main content

KW Institute for Contemporary Art's solo exhibition Hervé Guibert - This & More features selected photographs by French artist, writer, and activist Hervé Guibert (*1955, FR - †1991, FR).

KW Institute for Contemporary Art von außen
KW Institute for Contemporary Art von außen © KUNST-WERKE BERLIN e. V., KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Foto Uwe Walter

Hervé Guibert: This & More

Hervé Guibert is especially known for his portraits, but he also photographed interiors, objects and empty spaces. An important but almost unknown part of his work. In a laconic and subtle way, his photographs allow for a kind of portraiture where what matters is what is not seen. The photographed interiors invite different readings of stories of those who live or once lived in them. The photographs reveal intimate insights and at the same time preserve the private, because the protagonists remain outside the photographed.


The exhibition deals with those "truths" that lie dormant in a photograph, invisible to the eye and yet quite essential to the image. Rather than conveying a sense of objectivity or "truth," the exhibition points to all that remains invisible in photographs: Memories, anecdotes, absences, and the complexities of the subjective. Guibert's images of objects and private spaces are imbued with the absence of those who once inhabited and left them behind.

  • Curator: Anthony Huberman
  • Assistant curator: Sofie Krogh Christensen
The exhibition Hervé Guibert - This & More is organized by CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts, San Francisco. Special thanks to Christine Guibert and Françoise Morin of Les Douches Gallery and Photi Giovanis of Callicoon Fine Arts.
Additional information

Accessibility

KW is only partially accessible for visitors with limited mobility. KW wants to make a visit as barrier-free as possible. For this reason, they are constantly working to supplement and improve their offerings and welcome suggestions. Contact: info@kw-berlin.de or 030/24 34 59-0.

Direkt zum Inhalt

Die KW Institute for Contemporary Art zeigen in der Einzelausstellung Hervé Guibert – This & More ausgewählte Fotografien des französischen Künstlers, Schriftstellers und Aktivisten Hervé Guibert (*1955, FR – †1991, FR).

KW Institute for Contemporary Art von außen
KW Institute for Contemporary Art von außen © KUNST-WERKE BERLIN e. V., KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Foto Uwe Walter

Hervé Guibert: This & More

Hervé Guibert ist besonders für seine Porträts bekannt, er fotografierte aber auch Interieurs, Objekte und leere Räume. Ein wichtiger, aber fast noch unbekannter Teil seines Werks. Auf lakonische und subtile Weise ermöglichen seine Fotografien eine Art des Porträts, bei dem es darauf ankommt, was nicht zu sehen ist. Die fotografierten Innenräume laden zu verschiedenen Lesarten von Geschichten jener Menschen ein, die darin leben oder einst gelebt hatten. Die Fotografien offenbaren intime Einblicke und wahren gleichzeitig das Private, weil die Protagonist:innen außerhalb des Fotografierten bleiben

Die Ausstellung befasst sich mit jenen „Wahrheiten“, die in einer Fotografie schlummern, die unsichtbar für das Auge und doch ganz wesentlich für die Abbildung sind. Anstatt ein Gefühl von Objektivität oder „Wahrheit“ zu vermitteln, verweist die Ausstellung auf all das, was in Fotografien unsichtbar bleibt: Erinnerungen, Anekdoten, Abwesenheiten und die Vielschichtigkeit des Subjektiven. Guiberts Bilder von Objekten und privaten Räumen sind durchdrungen von der Abwesenheit derer, die sie einst bewohnten und zurückließen.

  • Kurator: Anthony Huberman
  • Assistenzkuratorin: Sofie Krogh Christensen
Die Ausstellung Hervé Guibert ­– This & More wird vom CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts, San Francisco organisiert. Besonderer Dank gilt Christine Guibert und Françoise Morin von der Galerie Les Douches sowie Photi Giovanis von Callicoon Fine Arts.
Zusätzliche Informationen

Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit

Die KW sind für Besucher:innen mit eingeschränkter Mobilität nur teilweise barrierefrei. Die KW wollen einen möglichst barrierearmen Besuch ermöglichen. Daher arbeiten sie laufend an der Ergänzung und Verbesserung ihrer Angebote und freuen sich über Anregungen. Kontakt: info@kw-berlin.de oder 030/24 34 59–0.