Skip to main content
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on visitBerlin.com.

Reading with Çiçek Bacik, Rosaria Chirico, Serkan Deniz and Koray Yılmaz-Günay

From the mid-1950s onwards, the so-called guest workers made a significant contribution to the social, cultural and economic upswing in Germany and at the same time had to struggle with racism and discrimination. However, their stories and perspectives remain mostly invisible and untold to this day - or are exploited. Now their children and grandchildren bring to life the working, living and living conditions of the time and talk about reaching and crossing all kinds of borders: between generations, countries, languages and people.



The authors of the “Daughters and Sons of Guest Workers” group work as journalists, teachers, political activists, educational consultants, scientists, lawyers, etc. They are involved in the open authors’ group , which Çiçek Bacik, together with Ferda Ataman, founded in 2015.


They read their texts in museums, theaters, educational and political institutions in ever-changing compositions. During the readings, they show photos from their own family albums, bringing a generation onto the stage whose voices have often remained unheard to this day.



Çiçek Bacik is co-initiator of the Daughters and Sons of Guest Workers. She studied modern German literature and French philology at the Free University of Berlin and at the Sorbonne. In 2012 she did her doctorate on Turkish television channels in Germany. She works as a primary school teacher in Berlin.


Rosaria Chirico studied German, philosophy and Romance studies in Düsseldorf and Berlin. She is freelance. Writing trainer and coach and works in a Berlin educational consulting facility, where, among other things, she advocates for the integration of migrant women into the labor market with appropriate qualifications.


Serkan Deniz studied German and English at the Technical University of Berlin. He is a “black metal listening, satanist-influenced agnostic Buddhist with a Muslim background”, project coordinator (Cultural Relations) and festival organizer (Heavy Metal). He works as a teacher in Berlin.


Koray Yılmaz-Günay is co-head of the office of the Migration Council Berlin e.V., an umbrella organization of almost 80 migrant self-organizations. He also works in political education and as an interpreter and translator. At the end of January 2015 he founded the Yılmaz-Günay publishing house.



  • admission free
  • Reading in spoken German
  • Wheelchair access


The reading will be filmed and later published on the website www.verkommen-antirassismus.org.


The exhibition “Collecting anti-racist struggles – an open archive” on the first floor of the museum is open to the public before the reading.
Additional information
Meeting point: Roof floor (5nd floor)

Price info: Admission free

Direkt zum Inhalt

Lesung mit Çiçek Bacik, Rosaria Chirico, Serkan Deniz und Koray Yılmaz-Günay

Ab Mitte der 1950er-Jahre leisteten die sogenannten Gastarbeiter*innen einen erheblichen Beitrag zum sozialen, kulturellen und wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung in Deutschland und hatten gleichzeitig mit Rassismus und Diskriminierung zu kämpfen. Ihre Geschichten und Perspektiven bleiben jedoch bis heute meist unsichtbar und unerzählt – oder werden instrumentalisiert. Nun lassen ihre Kinder und Enkelkinder die damaligen Arbeits-, Wohn- und Lebensverhältnisse aufleben und erzählen vom Erreichen und Überqueren von Grenzen aller Art: zwischen Generationen, Ländern, Sprachen und Menschen.


Die Autor:innen der Gruppe "Daughters and Sons of Gastarbeiters" arbeiten als Journalist:innen, Lehrer:innen, politische Aktivist:innen, Bildungsberater:innen, Wissenschaflter:innen, Jurist:innen usw. Sie engagieren sich in der offenen Autor:innengruppe, die Çiçek Bacik, gemeinsam mit Ferda Ataman, 2015 gründete.

In immer verschiedener Zusammensetzung lesen sie ihre Texte in Museen, Theatern, Bildungs- und politischen Einrichtungen vor. Während der Lesungen zeigen sie Fotos aus den eigenen Familienalben und holen damit eine Generation auf die Bühne, deren Stimmen bis heute oft ungehört blieben.

 
Çiçek Bacik ist Co-Initiatorin der Daughters and Sons of Gastarbeiters. Sie studierte Neuere Deutsche Literatur und Französische Philologie an der Freien Universität Berlin und an der Sorbonne. 2012 promovierte sie über türkische Fernsehsender in Deutschland. Sie arbeitet als Grundschullehrerin in Berlin.

Rosaria Chirico studierte in Düsseldorf und Berlin Germanistik, Philosophie und Romanistik. Sie ist freiberufl. Schreibtrainerin und Coach und arbeitet in einer Berliner Bildungsberatungseinrichtung, wo sie sich u.a. für eine qualifikationsadäquate Arbeitsmarktintegration migrantischer Frauen einsetzt.  

Serkan Deniz studierte Germanistik und Anglistik an der Technischen Universität Berlin. Er ist „Black Metal hörender, satanistisch geprägter agnostischer Buddhist mit muslimischem Hintergrund“, Projektkoordinator (Cultural Relations) und Festival-Veranstalter (Heavy Metal). Er arbeitet als Lehrer in Berlin.

Koray Yılmaz-Günay ist Co-Leiter der Geschäftsstelle des Migrationsrats Berlin e.V., einem Dachverband von fast 80 Migrant*innen-Selbstorganisationen. Darüber hinaus arbeitet er in der politischen Bildung sowie als Dolmetscher und Übersetzer. Ende Januar 2015 gründete er den Verlag Yılmaz-Günay.

 

  • Eintritt frei
  • Lesung in deutscher Lautsprache
  • Rollstuhlgerechter Zugang

 

Die Lesung wird gefilmt und später auf der Webseite www.versammeln-antirassismus.org veröffentlicht.


Die Ausstellung „Ver/sammeln antirassistischer Kämpfe – Ein offenes Archiv“ in der ersten Etage des Museums ist vor der Lesung für den Besuch geöffnet.

Zusätzliche Informationen
Treffpunkt: Dachetage (5. OG)

Preisinformationen: Eintritt frei
Termine
April 2024
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30