Skip to main content

Rather drawn by life than painted by Sitte? Book premiere with Aron Boks (great-grandnephew of Willi Sitte) and Kirsten Fuchs. On 28.2.23 would have been the 102nd birthday of Willi Sitte.

Aron Boks: Nackt in die DDR
Aron Boks: Nackt in die DDR © Promo

Willi Sitte - artist, convinced communist, functionary, power man. He is considered one of the most influential and controversial painters of the GDR. Aron Boks is his great-grandnephew and has so far shown little interest in his famous relative. Until, at a family reunion, a painting suddenly appears: The Holy Family. Aron begins to ask questions: Who was Willi Sitte really, what drove him?

The painting becomes the starting point of his biographical research, which confronts him with events during and after the Second World War and especially with the years before and after the "Wende". At some point, he realizes that the preoccupation with his family and the GDR also becomes a preoccupation with himself. Aron collects, inquires and pieces together events that shaped Willi Sitte on his life's journey. Among the contemporary witnesses he talks to are Ingrid Sitte, Wolf Biermann, Gerhard Wolf and Volker Braun.

For Aron, who did not experience the GDR himself, the painter Willi Sitte shows himself as a human being in all his turmoil. Between ideology and idealism, fame, power, art and recognition. A quest that leads us to the most important questions of Germany's recent past.

An event by Literatur LIVE in cooperation with the publishing group HarperCollins Germany, the Thalia bookstore and the taz.
Additional information
Events
Datum
Pfefferberg - Theater

Direkt zum Inhalt

Literatur LIVE

Lieber vom Leben gezeichnet als von Sitte gemalt? Buchpremiere mit Aron Boks (Urgroßneffe von Willi Sitte) und Kirsten Fuchs. Am 28.2.23 wäre der 102. Geburtstag von Willi Sitte gewesen.

Aron Boks: Nackt in die DDR
Aron Boks: Nackt in die DDR Promo

Willi Sitte – Künstler, überzeugter Kommunist, Funktionär, Machtmensch. Er gilt als einer der einflussreichsten und umstrittensten Maler der DDR. Aron Boks ist sein Urgroßneffe und hat sich bisher kaum für seinen berühmten Verwandten interessiert. Bis bei einem Familientreffen plötzlich ein Gemälde auftaucht: Die Heilige Familie. Aron beginnt, Fragen zu stellen: Wer war Willi Sitte wirklich, was trieb ihn an?

Das Gemälde wird zum Ausgangspunkt seiner biografischen Recherche, die ihn mit Geschehnissen während und nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg und besonders mit den Jahren vor und nach der »Wende« konfrontiert. Irgendwann wird ihm klar, dass die Beschäftigung mit seiner Familie und der DDR auch zu einer Beschäftigung mit sich selbst wird. Aron sammelt, fragt nach und fügt Ereignisse zusammen, die Willi Sitte auf seinem Lebensweg prägten. Zu den Zeitzeugen, mit denen er spricht, gehören neben Ingrid Sitte auch Wolf Biermann, Gerhard Wolf und Volker Braun.

Für Aron, der die DDR selbst nicht mehr erlebt hat, zeigt sich der Maler Willi Sitte als Mensch in all seiner Zerrissenheit. Zwischen Ideologie und Idealismus, Ruhm, Macht, Kunst und Anerkennung. Eine Suche, die uns zu den wichtigsten Fragen der jüngsten Vergangenheit Deutschlands führt.

Eine Veranstaltung von Literatur LIVE in Kooperation mit der Verlagsgruppe HarperCollins Deutschland, der Thalia Buchhandlung und der taz.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
Pfefferberg - Theater