Skip to main content

From June 28 to 30, the African Book Festival will once again take place in Berlin. In 2024, the festival will once again bring the stars of African literature to the German capital.


The programme includes readings, discussions, book premieres and concerts.
Guests can also expect an extensive book table, food trucks with African food and market stalls with fashion, art and crafts.

The African Book Festival will once again bring together the stars of contemporary African literature in the German capital - writers, poets and artists from Africa and the Diaspora will be on hand.

The festival goes far beyond the mere presentation of new books and authors. It also has a political function.

African Book Festival to run as Queer Edition in 2024.

This year, the festival takes place from June 28th to 30th as a Queer Edition, focusing on African and Afro-diasporic authors from the LGBTQI+ community and showcasing literature in which homosexuality and queerness in Africa play a role.

The African Book Festival offers its festival guests a brave space for their writing, experiences and perspectives. It addresses the persecution of homo-, bi-, trans- and intersex people as well as genderqueer people worldwide and raises awareness. At the same time, the festival presents writers who in their writing celebrate one thing above all: Love.




The authors who come to the African Book Festival are rarely to be found on German bookshelves, although they are internationally known and have often been awarded the most important literary prizes in the world.

A rather one-sided portrayal of the African continent as a place of animals and savannahs and at the same time as a place of doom in the form of poverty, flight, hardships and violence is perpetuated by a lack of selection and translations in the local bookstores and perpetuates prejudices.

The aim of the festival is therefore to promote greater awareness of the existence of intellectual debates, outstanding art and especially excellent contemporary literature in all 54 recognized African countries and to enter into conversation. At the same time, Berlin will be further established as a cosmopolitan cultural center.

The festival program is designed by a different African literary personality each year, which means that new accents are always set, while the immense diversity of Africa is taken into account with a changing regional, linguistic and cultural focus.

Through the enthusiasm for literature, the African Book Festival connects people in Europe and Africa, creates space for intercultural dialogue at eye level and thus enables a change of perspective that is important in the Berlin area and unique in this dimension.


Buy ticket

Additional information

Direkt zum Inhalt

Vom 28. bis 30. August findet wieder das African Book Festival in Berlin in der Alten Münze statt. Auch 2024 holt das Festival  die Stars der afrikanischen Literatur in die deutsche Hauptstadt.



Das Programm beinhaltet Lesungen, Diskussionsrunden, Buchpremieren und Konzerte.
Die Gäste erwarten außerdem ein umfangreicher Büchertisch, Food-Trucks mit afrikanischem Essen und Marktstände mit Mode, Kunst und Handwerk.


Das African Book Festival wird erneut die Stars der zeitgenössischen afrikanischen Literatur in der deutschen Hauptstadt zusammenbringen - Schriftsteller:innen, Poet:innen und Künstler:innen aus Afrika und der Diaspora sind vor Ort.

Dabei geht das Festival weit über das bloße Präsentieren neuer Bücher und Autor:innen hinaus. Ihm kommt auch eine politische Funktion zu.


African Book Festival läuft 2024 als Queer Edition.


Das African Book Festival bietet seinen Festivalgästen einen Brave Space, für ihr Schreiben, ihre Erfahrungen und Perspektiven. Es thematisiert die Verfolgung von homo-, bi-, trans- und intersex Personen sowie genderqueeren Menschen weltweit und sensibilisiert. Gleichzeitig präsentiert das Festival Literaturschaffende, die in ihrem Schreiben vor allem eines zelebrieren: Die Liebe.



Die Autor:innen, die zum African Book Festival kommen, sind nur selten in den deutschen Bücherregalen zu finden, obwohl sie international bekannt und nicht selten mit den wichtigsten Literaturpreisen der Welt ausgezeichnet wurden.

Eine eher einseitige Darstellung des afrikanischen Kontinents als Ort der Tiere und Savannen und gleichzeitig als Ort des Untergangs in Form von Armut, Flucht, Nöten und Gewalt schreibt sich durch mangelnde Auswahl und fehlende Übersetzungen in den hiesigen Buchläden fort und verfestigt Vorurteile.

Ziel des Festivals ist es daher ein größeres Bewusstsein für die Existenz intellektueller Debatten, hervorragender Kunst und insbesondere ausgezeichneter zeitgenössischer Literatur in allen 54 anerkannten afrikanischen Ländern zu fördern und ins Gespräch zu kommen. Gleichzeitig wird Berlin als weltoffenes kulturelles Zentrum weiter etabliert.

Das Festivalprogramm wird in jedem Jahr von einer anderen afrikanischen literarischen Persönlichkeit gestaltet, was zur Folge hat, dass immer neue Akzente gesetzt werden, während mit einer wechselnden regionalen, sprachlichen und kulturellen Fokussierung der immensen Vielseitigkeit Afrikas Rechnung getragen wird.

Über die Begeisterung für Literatur verbindet das African Book Festival Menschen in Europa und Afrika, schafft Raum für interkulturellen Dialog auf Augenhöhe und ermöglicht so einen Perspektivwechsel, der im Berliner Raum wichtig und in dieser Dimension einzigartig ist.

Das ABF24 findet in der Alten Münze in Berlin-Mitte statt.

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen