Skip to main content

The Czech composer Pavel Haas, who was murdered in Auschwitz in 1944, is the namesake of the quartet playing here as part of our "Homage to Shostakovich". It plays three works composed between 1914 and 1945.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: Pavel Haas Quartet
© Promo

The prelude is a musical prayer to the patron saint of the Bohemian lands, St. Wenceslaus, written by Josef Suk literally on the eve of the First World War.

Erich Wolfgang Korngold, former Viennese piano prodigy and Hollywood film composer from 1934, dedicated his 1945 String Quartet No. 3 to another prominent member of the California émigré community - conductor Bruno Walter.

The concert program concludes with Dmitri Shostakovich's Piano Quintet, composed and performed in 1940, for which official cultural policy even awarded the long-defeated composer the Stalin Prize. Subliminally, however, this work also reveals an atmosphere of inner and outer tension and threat.

  • Josef Suk - Meditation on the Old Bohemian Choral "St. Wenceslaus" for String Quartet op. 35a
  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold - String Quartet No.3 in D major op.34


  • Dmitri Shostakovich - Piano Quintet in G minor op. 57
Additional information

Educational Services
Participating artists
Pavel Haas Quartett
Boris Giltburg (Klavier)
Konzerthaus Berlin - Kleiner Saal