Skip to main content

50 years Czech Embassy in Berlin

The exhibition on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the beginning of the planning of the Czech Embassy, in Berlin is dedicated to the history from the first draft of 1972 until today. Unique staged photo series by the well-known photographers Simon Schnepp and Morgane Renou, who live in Berlin and Paris, will be shown. The archive shows reproductions of historical plans from the National Gallery in Prague, photographs and a model from the Berlinische Galerie, as well as original designs of furniture by Věra Machoninová and Vladimír Machonin. 

Tschechische Botschaft in Berlin von außen
Tschechische Botschaft in Berlin von außen © visitBerlin, Foto Scholvien

The building of the Czech Embassy, built by Věra Machoninová and Vladimír Machonin in the center of the then still divided Berlin, has become an architectural icon. Designed in 1972, it was nicknamed the "Starship Enterprise" after its completion in 1978 - a space shuttle that had landed in no-man's land not far from the Berlin Wall. Until the late 1980s, it remained the only prominent landmark in the area.

The original geometry of the structure gives rise to the futuristic and self-contained overall external impression, which is defined by the granite façade panels, large tinted windows, horizontal window bands and sloping parapets. The first floor is formed by three glass capsules floating above the ground, which emphasize the concise silhouette of the embassy. The exterior provides a great contrast to the interior design. A unique symbiosis of color, material and interior design artistry, designed by the architect couple themselves and largely preserved to this day.
Additional information
Opening hours: 08. 04. 2022 - 03. 10. 2022, Tue - Sat 14 - 18, closed on Berlin holidays.

Special opening hours: Architecture Exhibition Weekend 11. + 12. 06. 2022, 12:00 - 18:00 | 02. + 03. 10. 2022, 14 - 18 hrs.
Events
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum

Direkt zum Inhalt

50 Jahre Tschechische Botschaft in Berlin

Die Ausstellung anlässlich des 50. Jahrestages des Planungsbeginns der Tschechischen Botschaft, in Berlin widmet sich der Geschichte ab dem ersten Entwurf von 1972 bis heute. Es werden einzigartige inszenierte Fotoserien der in Berlin und Paris lebenden bekannten Fotograf:innen Simon Schnepp und Morgane Renou gezeigt. Das Archiv zeigt Reproduktionen historischer Pläne aus der Nationalgalerie Prag, Fotografien und ein Modell aus der Berlinischen Galerie sowie Originalentwürfe der Möbel von Věra Machoninová und Vladimír Machonin. 

Tschechische Botschaft in Berlin von außen
Tschechische Botschaft in Berlin von außen © visitBerlin, Foto Scholvien

Das Gebäude der Tschechischen Botschaft, von Věra Machoninová und Vladimír Machonin in der Mitte des damals noch geteilten Berlins gebaut, ist eine Architekturikone geworden. 1972 entworfen, bekam es nach seiner Fertigstellung im Jahr 1978 den Spitznamen „Raumschiff Enterprise“ – eine Raumfähre, die im Niemandsland unweit der Berliner Mauer gelandet war. Bis in die späten 1980er Jahre blieb es der einzige markante Orientierungspunkt in dieser Gegend.

Die originelle Geometrie des Baukörpers lässt den futuristischen und in sich geschlossenen äußeren Gesamteindruck entstehen, der von den granitenen Fassadenplatten, den großen getönten Fenstern, den horizontalen Fensterbändern und schräg gestellten Brüstungen bestimmt wird. Das erste Stockwerk wird von drei über dem Boden schwebenden Glaskapseln gebildet, die die prägnante Silhouette der Botschaft betonen. Die Außenansicht bildet einen großen Kontrast zur Raumgestaltung im Innern. Eine einzigartige Symbiose von Farbe, Material und innenarchitektonischer Kunstfertigkeit, vom Architektenpaar selbst entworfen und bis heute weitgehend erhalten.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Öffnungszeiten: 08. 04. 2022 - 03. 10. 2022, Di - Sa 14 - 18 Uhr, geschlossen an Berliner Feiertagen

Sonderöffnungszeiten: Architecture Exhibition Weekend 11. + 12. 06. 2022, 12:00 – 18:00 | 02. + 03. 10. 2022, 14 - 18 Uhr
Termine
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum
Datum
Tschechisches Zentrum