Skip to main content
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on visitBerlin.com.

Two years ago, artists Maria and Natalia Petschatnikov took a trip to Westfjords in Iceland. The impression of Iceland that the two got, they compare to a miracle. This miracle is the impetus for the complex, expansive installation that the artists developed especially for the Galerie im Körnerpark.

Balustrade im Neuköllner Körnerpark
Balustrade im Neuköllner Körnerpark © tanja dickert

They created a landscape of mountains, waterfalls, and pathways characterized by tactility, materiality, and incompleteness. The exhibition space transforms into a total work of art in which the audience moves.

The title of the exhibition comes from the Icelandic mythology Huldufólk, in which invisible people live as supernatural beings in nature. According to this mythological tradition, parallel to the country's population, there is another people in the subterranean realm who, despite their "invisibility," still play an important role in Iceland today.

In "Hidden People", Iceland is a metaphor for the longing for untouched nature and the power of wonder. It is a fascinating and enigmatic place that invites experimentation and reflection.
Additional information

Direkt zum Inhalt

Vor zwei Jahren unternahmen die Künstlerinnen Maria und Natalia Petschatnikov eine Reise nach Westfjords in Island. Der Eindruck von Island, den die beiden bekamen, vergleichen sie mit einem Wunder. Dieses Wunderbare ist der Anstoß für die komplexe, raumgreifende Installation, die die Künstlerinnen speziell für die Galerie im Körnerpark entwickelten.

Balustrade im Neuköllner Körnerpark
Balustrade im Neuköllner Körnerpark © tanja dickert

Sie schufen eine Landschaft mit Bergen, Wasserfällen und Wegen, die sich durch Taktilität, Materialität und Unvollständigkeit auszeichnet. Der Ausstellungsraum verwandelt sich in ein Gesamtkunstwerk, in dem sich das Publikum bewegt.

Der Titel der Ausstellung stammt aus der isländischen Mythologie Huldufólk, in der unsichtbare Menschen als übernatürliche Wesen in der Natur leben. Nach dieser mythologischen Tradition gibt es parallel zur Bevölkerung des Landes ein weiteres Volk im unterirdischen Bereich, das trotz seiner „Unsichtbarkeit“ bis heute eine wichtige Rolle in Island spielt.

In „Hidden People“ ist Island eine Metapher für die Sehnsucht nach unberührter Natur und die Kraft des Staunens. Es ist ein faszinierender und rätselhafter Ort, der zum Experimentieren und Nachdenken einlädt.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark
Datum
Galerie im Körnerpark