Skip to main content

LIED UND LYRIK: HEINE

The history of art song, Theodor W. Adorno declared, would be unthinkable without Heinrich Heine. His poems have inspired more than 10,000 settings—not only in German-speaking countries, but around the world.

JULIA KLEITER & JULIUS DRAKE
JULIA KLEITER & JULIUS DRAKE Frank Schemmann, Marco Borggreve

Among the first to musically explore his works were Fanny Hensel in Berlin and Franz Schubert in Vienna, who set six poems from Heine’s Reisebilder the year after their first publication (in what would become the second half of the collection known as Schwanengesang).

Julia Kleiter and Julius Drake, curator of the Lied und Lyrik series, trace Heine’s musical influence further to Clara Schumann, Johannes Brahms, Franz Liszt, and Charles Ives. An actor will read from Heine’s works.


Heinrich Heine - Readings from Lyrisches Intermezzo and other poems

Settings by Franz Schubert, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Fanny Hensel, Clara Schumann, Johannes Brahms, Franz Liszt, Charles Ives, and others

(Program in German)

Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
Julia Kleiter
Julius Drake
Events
Datum
Pierre Boulez Saal

Direkt zum Inhalt

LIED UND LYRIK: HEINE

Ohne Heinrich Heine sei die Geschichte des Kunstlieds undenkbar, erklärte Theodor W. Adorno. Mehr als 10.000 mal dienten Heines Gedichte bis heute als Liedvorlage – nicht nur im deutschsprachigen Raum, sondern weltweit.

JULIA KLEITER & JULIUS DRAKE
JULIA KLEITER & JULIUS DRAKE Frank Schemmann, Marco Borggreve

Zu den ersten, die sich seinen Texten musikalisch widmeten, gehörten Fanny Hensel in Berlin und Franz Schubert in Wien, der sechs Gedichte aus Heines Reisebildern schon ein Jahr nach deren Veröffentlichung vertonte (sie bilden die zweite Hälfte des postum veröffentlichten Schwanengesang).

Julia Kleiter und Julius Drake, Kurator der Reihe „Lied und Lyrik“, verfolgen Heines musikalische Wirkungsgeschichte über Clara Schumann, Johannes Brahms und Franz Liszt weiter bis zu Charles Ives. Ein:e Schauspieler:in liest dazu aus Heines Werken.


  • Heinrich Heine - Auszüge aus dem Lyrischen Intermezzo und andere Gedichte (Lesung in deutscher Sprache)
  • Vertonungen von Franz Schubert, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Fanny Hensel, Clara Schumann, Johannes Brahms, Franz Liszt, Charles Ives und anderen

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Teilnehmende Künstler
Julia Kleiter
Julius Drake
Termine
Datum
Pierre Boulez Saal