Skip to main content

Regenerative Design

The experimental design exhibition Imagine: Coral Reef. Regenerative Design seeks a new orientation for design in a world marked by numerous crises. The complex ecosystems formed by corals, where fascinating biodiversity reigns, serve as a metaphor. Increasingly, these “rainforests of the seas” are being so stressed by man-made climate change that they are in danger of disappearing in the close future.

The exhibition attempts to transfer the logic of nature to design processes and thereby to establish guidelines for regenerative design.

The goal of this exhibition project is to show the potential paths that lead us from an extractive, degenerative one to cultures in which we see ourselves as part of nature and share its creative principles.

The exhibition creates an immersive space, where macro- corals, based on the open design instructions from the project “Crochet Coral Reef” by Christine und Margaret Wertheim (Institute for Figuring), reference coral bleaching events, which signify the dying of the corals. The coral reef is populated with a selection of objects representing core themes of regenerative design principles based on Andreas Weber’s text “Enlivenment”.

The exhibits can be seen as conversation starters, contemplating potential roles design can have in creating regenerative futures.

Traveling Exhibition with Workshops

Next to already existing products the exhibition shows works created during workshops with students at local universities accompanying the exhibition. Following the dynamic cycles of nature, the exhibition is designed as a "learning traveling exhibition”, influenced by and adapting to local contexts and conditions.

Imagine: Coral Reef. Regenerative Design is part of the project More than Human. Design after the anthropocene.

The exhibition is a cooperation between EOOS and the Institute of Design Research Vienna. Responsible for the graphic design is Bueronardin.

The exhibition is funded by the Austrian Federal Ministry for European and International Affairs and the Kulturforum Berlin. Supported by the Austrian Federal Ministry for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport.

A special exhibition by the Kunstgewerbemuseum – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Buy ticket

Additional information
Dates
April 2024
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Direkt zum Inhalt

Regeneratives Design

Die experimentelle Designausstellung „Imagine: Coral Reef. Regeneratives Design“ sucht nach einer neuen Orientierung für Design in einer von zahlreichen Krisen geprägten Welt. Als Metapher dienen die komplexen Ökosysteme der Korallen, in denen eine faszinierende Artenvielfalt herrscht. Diese „Regenwälder der Meere“ werden durch den vom Menschen verursachten Klimawandel zunehmend belastet, so dass sie in naher Zukunft zu verschwinden drohen.


„Imagine: Coral Reef. Regeneratives Design“ versucht, die Logik der Natur auf Designprozesse zu übertragen und damit Leitlinien für regeneratives Design zu etablieren.

Ziel dieses Ausstellungsprojekts ist es, Möglichkeitsräume aufzuzeigen, die uns von einer extraktiven, degenerativen hin zu einer Kultur führen, in der wir uns als Teil der Natur sehen und ihre kreativen Prinzipien teilen.

Die Ausstellung schafft einen immersiven Raum, in dem Makrokorallen, basierend auf dem Open Design des Projekts “Crochet Coral Reef” von Christine und Margaret Wertheim (Institute for Figuring), auf die Korallenbleiche verweisen, die das Absterben der Korallen signalisiert. Das Korallenriff ist mit einer Auswahl von Objekten bevölkert, die Kernthemen regenerativer Gestaltungsprinzipien auf der Grundlage von Andreas Webers Text "Enlivenment" repräsentieren.

Die Exponate dienen als Impulsgeber, um über die mögliche Rolle von Design bei der Gestaltung regenerativer Zukünfte nachzudenken.


Wanderausstellung mit Workshops

Die Wanderausstellung wird von Workshops an lokalen Universitäten begleitet. Die Arbeiten der Studierenden werden neben bereits exisitierenden Produkten in der Ausstellung präsentiert. In Anlehnung an die dynamischen Zyklen der Natur ist die Ausstellung als „lernende Wanderausstellung“ konzipiert, die von lokalen Kontexten und Bedingungen beeinflusst wird und sich diesen anpasst.

„Imagine: Coral Reef. Regeneratives Design“ ist ein Teilprojekt von „More than Human. Design nach dem Anthropozän“.

Die Ausstellung ist eine Kooperation zwischen EOOS und dem Institute of Design Research Vienna. Das Bueronardin ist verantwortlich für die grafische Gestaltung.

Die Ausstellung wird finanziert durch Mittel des Österreichischen Bundesministeriums für eruopäische und internationale Angelegenheiten und dem Kulturforum Berlin. Unterstützt durch das österreichische Bundesministerium für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlichen Dienst und Sport.

Eine Sonderausstellung des Kunstgewerbemuseums – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
April 2024
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30