Skip to main content
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on visitBerlin.com.

Symphony concert with James Gaffigan

Since its founding in 1947, the Komische Oper Berlin has had a special role promoting the music of eastern Germany. During the time of the Iron Curtain, it was one of the leading lights of East Germany’s musical culture, alongside institutions like Leipzig’s Gewandhaus and Berlin’s Konzerthaus.


Music Director James Gaffigan looks back on music history and traces forgotten arcs of connection.
From Leipzig’s favourite son, Johann Sebastian Bach, to one of East Germany’s most important composers, Ruth Zechlin, whose Polyphony forms the second part of her Music to Bach. And from Leipzig-born Richard Wagner to East Germany’s Siegfried Matthus—two pioneers of music theatre who were each unparalleled in their times.

When I think of eastern Germany, I think of music!

1 hr 45 min incl. intermission

Buy ticket

Additional information
Richard Wagner [1813–1883] Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan and Isolde Siegfried Matthus [1934–2021] Concert for Piano and Orchestra Ruth Zechlin [1926–2007] Polyphony for Orchestra Johann Sebastian Bach [1685 –1750] Mein Herze schwimmt im Blut , BWV 199
Participating artists
James Gaffigan (Musikalische Leitung)
Josefine Mindus (Solistin)
Danae Dörken (Klavier)

Direkt zum Inhalt
Ihre gesuchte Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden. Finden Sie viele weitere Veranstaltungen, Tipps und Empfehlungen in Berlins größtem Veranstaltungskalender auf visitBerlin.de.

Sinfoniekonzert mit James Gaffigan

Seit ihrer Gründung 1947 hat die Komische Oper Berlin eine besondere Rolle in der Förderung ostdeutscher Musik übernommen. Gemeinsam mit Institutionen wie dem Gewandhaus Leipzig und dem Konzerthaus Berlin bildete die Oper an der Behrenstraße einen der wichtigsten Schrittmacher der ostdeutschen Musikkultur während der Deutschen Teilung.


Generalmusikdirektor James Gaffigan wirft einen musikalischen Blick zurück und spürt vergessenen Bögen der Musikgeschichte nach:
Von Leipzigs »Sohn« Johann Sebastian Bach zu Ruth Zechlin, die als eine der wichtigsten Komponist: innen der DDR mit ihrer Polyphonie Bach ein musikalisches Denkmal setzte. Und vom gebürtigen Leipziger Richard Wagner zu Siegfried Matthus – zwei Musiktheater-Pioniere, die in ihrer jeweiligen Zeit ihresgleichen suchten.

Denk’ ich an Ostdeutschland … denk’ ich Musik!

1 h 45 min inkl. Pause




Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Richard Wagner [1813–1883] Vorspiel und Liebestod aus Tristan und Isolde Siegfried Matthus [1934–2021]Konzert für Klavier und OrchesterRuth Zechlin [1926–2007] Polyphonie für OrchesterJohann Sebastian Bach [1685 –1750] Mein Herze schwimmt im Blut BWV 199
Teilnehmende Künstler
James Gaffigan (Musikalische Leitung)
Josefine Mindus (Solistin)
Danae Dörken (Klavier)