Skip to main content

by Bishop Black

Where one world ends, the next one begins. Relentlessly, we navigate between the worlds – as scouts and messengers.


The main character in "Flight of the Canaries" is confronted with all the madness that is our daily life. Torn between invisibility and hyper-visibility, they, as a Black individual, feel pressured into masculinity and high performance: to be special and extraordinary. For many avant-garde strides, for styles and attitudes, they receive admiration yet are simultaneously threatened with dispossession and disenfranchisement. Retreat? Where to? In solitude?
In silence, shimmering figures await: guardians and intermediaries between the worlds. They know the winds, their sounds, and the possible flight paths.

"Flight of the Canaries" is Bishop Black's fourth work at Ballhaus Naunynstraße and a continuation of their artistic endeavor to counteract everyday experiences with resistant and self-determined movements:
Emerging from the realms of drag and burlesque, they seek to challenge the compelling harshness of colonialist attributions of sexual identity and racial identity in performances and create a space beyond Eurocentric cosmology and epistemology. Yet, this marks Bishop Black's debut as a director.

It follows their previous works, "Permanente Beunruhigung (“Continuous Disturbance”) (2017) and its revised version titled "Your Devices" (2018), as well as the solo work "Becoming my body," which has seen numerous revivals since 2019. Most recently, Bishop Black served as the director of the "re-searching joy" production by akademie-der-autodidakten (2022).

Buy ticket

Additional information
A production by Kultursprünge im Ballhaus Naunynstraße gemeinnützige GmbH. First production funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Social Cohesion of the State of Berlin.
Participating artists
Mathieu Amadou (Kostüm)
Amel Baccouche (Mitarbeit Regie)
Leonard Beck (Produktionsleitung)
Bishop Black (Regie)
Emilio Cordero Checa (Lichtdesign)
Arel Dewi (Videodesign)
Julien Enzanza (Dramaturgie)
Ashiq Khondker (Sounddesign)
Marold Langer-Philippsen (Übertitel)
Nuria de Lario (Maske)
Val de Licer (Bühne)
Bishop Black (Autor/in)
Juan Carlos Cuadrado
Mitu -
Djibril Sall
Ashley Temba
Dates
April 2024
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Direkt zum Inhalt
Ihre gesuchte Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden. Finden Sie viele weitere Veranstaltungen, Tipps und Empfehlungen in Berlins größtem Veranstaltungskalender auf visitBerlin.de.

von Bishop Black

Dort, wo die eine Welt aufhört, beginnt die nächste. Unablässig bewegen wir uns zwischen den Welten – als Kundschafter*innen und Verkünder*innen.


Der Hauptcharakter in „Flight of the canaries“ ist mit all dem Wahnsinn konfrontiert, der unser Alltag ist.
Hin- und hergerissen zwischen Unsichtbarkeit und Hypersichtbarkeit sieht sich they als Schwarze Person zu Männlichkeit und Hochleistungen gedrängt: besonders sein, außergewöhnlich. Für so manchen avantgardistischen Schritt, für Styles und Haltungen erfährt they Bewunderung und ist doch gleichzeitig von Enteignung und Entrechtung bedroht. Rückzug? Wohin? In die Einsamkeit? In der Stille warten schillernde Gestalten: Wächter*innen und Mittler*innen zwischen den Welten. Sie kennen die Winde, ihre Klänge und die möglichen Flugbahnen.

„Flight of the canaries“ ist Bishop Blacks vierte Arbeit am Ballhaus Naunynstraße und die Fortführung des künstlerischen Unterfangens, der Alltagserfahrung widerständige und selbstbestimmte Bewegungen entgegenzustellen:
Aus Drag und Burlesque kommend sucht they in Performances der zwingenden Härte kolonialisierender Zuschreibungen von sexual identity und racial identity etwas entgegenzusetzen und einen Raum jenseits eurozentrischer Kosmologie und Epistemologie zu kreieren.
Und doch ist es Bishop Blacks Debut – als Regisseur:in.

Vorausgegangen waren die Performance „Permanente Beunruhigung“ (2017) bzw. die überarbeitete Fassung unter dem Titel „Your Devices“ (2018) und die Soloarbeit „Becoming my body“, die seit 2019 zahlreiche Wiederaufnahmen erfuhr. Zuletzt agierte Bishop Black als Spielleiter*in der akademie-der-autodidakten Produktion „re-searching joy“ (2022).

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Eine Produktion von Kultursprünge im Ballhaus Naunynstraße gemeinnützige GmbH. Erstproduktion gefördert aus Mitteln der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Gesellschaftlichen Zusammenhalt des Landes Berlin.
Teilnehmende Künstler
Mathieu Amadou (Kostüm)
Amel Baccouche (Mitarbeit Regie)
Leonard Beck (Produktionsleitung)
Bishop Black (Regie)
Emilio Cordero Checa (Lichtdesign)
Arel Dewi (Videodesign)
Julien Enzanza (Dramaturgie)
Ashiq Khondker (Sounddesign)
Marold Langer-Philippsen (Übertitel)
Nuria de Lario (Maske)
Val de Licer (Bühne)
Bishop Black (Autor/in)
Juan Carlos Cuadrado
Mitu -
Djibril Sall
Ashley Temba