Skip to main content

Ludwig van Beethoven’s only opera, which took him 10 years of his life to complete and which he revised a number of times, is a tour de force in several respects. Firstly, it is considered one of the archetypal operas devoted to the theme of liberty.

Fidelio
Fidelio © Stan Hema

The main female character, Leonore, is one of the great heroines of the operatic canon, disguising herself as a man and penetrating a prison to free her unjustly jailed husband, Florestan.

And yet the work manages to this day to fend off simple black-and-white interpretations, despite regular efforts by commentators to harness the opera and its protagonists for partisan purposes. The idealistic, humanist appeal in Beethoven’s music is universal and defies categorical unambiguity.

Secondly, Beethoven pulled off the first-ever specifically German opera. His fusion of rescue opera, humanist oratorio and melodrama for the burghers went on to serve as a model for what a German romantic opera might be.

This rendition of Beethoven’s masterpiece is largely a collaboration between David Hermann, whose past association with the Deutsche Oper Berlin spans works as varied as THE LITTLE MATCH GIRL, ORESTE and THE MAKROPULOS AFFAIR, and the stage and set designer Johannes Schütz. This is the second time the pair have worked together on a »prison piece«.

Following their production of Janácek’s FROM THE HOUSE OF THE DEAD at the Oper Frankfurt they now return to the themes of liberty and imprisonment and issues relating to power, powerlessness and manipulation.
Additional information
Opera in two actsLibretto by Josef Sonnleithner, Stephan von Breuning and Georg Friedrich TreitschkeFirst performance on 23rd May, 1814 in ViennaPremiere at Deutsche Oper Berlin on 25 November 2022







Pre-performance lecture (in German): 45 minutes prior to each performance
Participating artists
Sir Donald Runnicles (Musikalische Leitung)
David Hermann (Inszenierung)
Johannes Schütz (Bühne, Kostüme)
Ulrich Niepel (Licht)
Jeremy Bines (Chöre)
Carolin Müller-Dohle (Dramaturgie)
Thomas Lehman (Don Fernando)
Markus Brück (Don Pizarro)
Robert Watson (Florestan)
Ingela Brimberg (Leonore)
Tobias Kehrer (Rocco)
Sua Jo (Marzelline)
Gideon Poppe (Jaquino)
Kieran Carrel (Erster Gefangener)
Artur Garbas (Zweiter Gefangener)
Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin (Chöre)
Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin (Orchester)
Events
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin

Direkt zum Inhalt

Ludwig van Beethovens einzige Oper – die ihn über 10 Jahre seines Lebens beschäftigte und die er mehrmals umarbeitete – ist ein Monolith in vielfacher Weise: Zunächst gilt sie bis heute als die Freiheitsoper schlechthin.

Fidelio
Fidelio © Stan Hema

Die weibliche Hauptfigur Leonore, die sich, als Mann verkleidet, Zugang zu einem Staatsgefängnis verschafft, um ihren zu Unrecht eingekerkerten Mann Florestan zu befreien, ist eine der heroischsten Figuren des Opernkanons.

Und trotz der immer wieder stattgefundenen politischen Vereinnahmung der Oper und ihrer Figuren sperrt sich das Werk bis heute gegen einseitige Zuschreibungen: Der humanistisch-idealistische Aufruf der Musik Beethovens ist stärker und universeller als alle Eindeutigkeiten.

Zudem gelang es Beethoven, hier erstmals eine spezifisch deutsche Oper zu komponieren. In der Kombination aus bürgerlichem Rührstück, Rettungsoper und oratorischem Menschheitsappell entstand ein Amalgam, das Vorbildcharakter für die deutsche romantische Oper hatte.

David Hermann, der an der Deutschen Oper u. a. mit seinen Inszenierungen von so unterschiedlichen Werken wie DAS MÄDCHEN MIT DEN SCHWEFELHÖLZERN, ORESTEIA und VEC MAKROPOULOUS beeindruckt hat, nimmt sich nun mit Bühnen- und Kostümbildner Johannes Schütz Beethovens Meisterwerk an. Schon zum zweiten Mal erarbeiten die beiden Künstler damit ein »Gefängnisstück«:

Nach Janáceks AUS EINEM TOTENHAUS an der Oper Frankfurt steht wieder das Nachdenken über Freiheit und Gefangenschaft und den Manipulationsmechanismen von Macht und Ohnmacht im Zentrum ihrer Befragung.

ca. 3 Stunden / eine Pause
Zusätzliche Informationen
In deutscher Sprache mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln

Oper in zwei AufzügenLibretto: Josef Sonnleithner, Stephan von Breuning und Georg Friedrich TreitschkeUraufführung am 23. Mai 1814 in WienPremiere an der Deutschen Oper Berlin am 25. November 2022



Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Förderkreises der Deutschen Oper Berlin e. V.



Einführung im Rang-Foyer rechts: 45 Minuten vor Vorstellungsbeginn
Teilnehmende Künstler
Sir Donald Runnicles (Musikalische Leitung)
David Hermann (Inszenierung)
Johannes Schütz (Bühne, Kostüme)
Ulrich Niepel (Licht)
Jeremy Bines (Chöre)
Carolin Müller-Dohle (Dramaturgie)
Thomas Lehman (Don Fernando)
Markus Brück (Don Pizarro)
Robert Watson (Florestan)
Ingela Brimberg (Leonore)
Tobias Kehrer (Rocco)
Sua Jo (Marzelline)
Gideon Poppe (Jaquino)
Kieran Carrel (Erster Gefangener)
Artur Garbas (Zweiter Gefangener)
Chor der Deutschen Oper Berlin (Chöre)
Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin (Orchester)
Termine
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin
Datum
Deutsche Oper Berlin