Skip to main content

Efraim Habermann died unexpectedly on 19 December 2023, before which he began planning this exhibition with the Carlos Hulsch Gallery, which is now being shown in his memory.


Habermann was born in Berlin in 1933 and emigrated with his parents to Palestine, then under British administration, to live with relatives when he was six years old. It was not until 1957 that he returned with his family for medical reasons. His father was seriously ill, but unfortunately succumbed to his illness. The move to Berlin was actually only planned temporarily, but Habermann stayed. He found a job as a technical draughtsman at Senat Bau-Wohnen. From the mid-1960s, he began working as a freelance photographer and had his first publications in the Tagesspiegel newspaper in Berlin.


"It's not the documentary image that inspires me, but the composition in the interplay of landscape, city and people," explains Efraim Habermann "This resulted in photographs of great formal rigour, restraint and stillness." There is no coincidence in his work: everything is arranged, held together by a well thought-out and planned composition. A selection of his works will be shown in this exhibition.


Habermann and the gallery had planned to open this exhibition on 2 November 2023. Due to the situation in the Middle East, Efraim Habermann asked for it to be postponed until 2024 and so the new date was set for 2 May 2024 in the hope that the Middle East conflict would be resolved by then.


Additional information
Opening: 02.05.2024  19 -21 Uhr
Mo-Sun 10 am – 10 pm

Direkt zum Inhalt

Efraim Habermann verstarb unerwartet am 19.12.2023. Vorher begann er bereits mit der Galerie Carlos Hulsch diese Ausstellung zu planen, die nun zu seinem Andenken gezeigt wird.


Habermann wurde 1933 in Berlin geboren, ist als Sechsjähriger mit seinen Eltern nach Palästina, damals unter britischer Verwaltung, zu Verwandten ausgewandert. Erst 1957, ist er mit seiner Familie aus medizinischen Gründen zurückgekehrt. Sein Vater war schwer erkrankt, doch erlag leider seiner Erkrankung. Der Umzug nach Berlin war eigentlich nur vorübergehend geplant, aber Habermann blieb. Als technischer Zeichner fand er eine Anstellung beim Senat Bau-Wohnen. Ab Mitte der 1960er-Jahre begann er als freiberuflicher Fotograf und hatte erste Veröffentlichungen im Tagesspiegel von Berlin.

"Nicht das dokumentarische Abbild, sondern die Komposition im Zusammenspiel von Landschaft, Stadt und Mensch inspiriert mich", erläutert Efraim Habermann „So entstanden Fotografien von großer formaler Strenge, Zurückhaltung und Stille.“ In seinen Arbeiten gibt es keinen Zufall: Alles ist arrangiert, zusammengehalten von einer durchdachten und geplanten Komposition. Eine Auswahl aus seinen Arbeiten wird in dieser Ausstellung gezeigt.

Diese Ausstellung sollte nach Planung Habermanns und der Galerie am 02. November 2023 eröffnet werden. Wegen der Situation in Nahost hat Efraim Habermann um Verschiebung ins Jahr 2024 gebeten und so wurde der neue Termin auf den 02.Mai 2024 gelegt in der Hoffnung, dass der Nahostkonflikt bis dahin gelöst sein würde.

Zusätzliche Informationen
Vernissage: 02.05.2024  19 -21 Uhr
Mo-So 10-22 Uhr