Skip to main content
tourists taking pictures at Checkpoint Charlie in Berlin
Checkpoint Charlie in Berlin Friedrichstraße © visitBerlin, Foto: Artfully Media, Sven Christian Schramm

Checkpoint Charlie

The scene of espionage thrillers

From Octopussy to The Spy Who Can In From The Cold: the history of espionage in Berlin at Checkpoint Charlie.

Checkpoint Charlie was the setting for many thrillers and spy novels, from James Bond in Octopussy to The Spy Who Came In From The Cold.
Located on the corner of Friedrichstraße and Zimmerstraße, it is a reminder of the former border crossing, the Cold War and the partition of Berlin. The barrier and checkpoint booth, the flag and the sandbags are all based on the original site – and are a popular subject for photos. It’s no wonder that Checkpoint Charlie is one of the sights of Berlin that you really should see.

The history of Checkpoint Charlie

The name Checkpoint Charlie comes from the NATO phonetic alphabet (Alpha, Bravo, Charlie). After the border crossings at Helmstedt-Marienborn (Alpha) and Dreilinden-Drewitz (Bravo), Checkpoint Charlie was the third checkpoint opened by the Allies in and around Berlin.

It became the most famous crossing point between East and West Germany. On 22 September 1961, Allied guards began registering members of the American, British and French forces before trips to East Berlin and foreign tourists could find out about their stay there. Once the checkpoint was designated a crossing point for members of the Allied armed forces, a month later in October 1961 it became the scene of a tank confrontation. American and Soviet tanks took up position and faced each other with weapons primed.

Checkpoint Charlie was not only an important Cold War site, but also witnessed numerous attempts to escape from East Berlin. An open air exhibition on the corner of Schützenstraße and Zimmerstraße tells the story of those that failed and those that succeeded. An installation by the artist Frank Thiel and a commemorative plate also mark the memorial.

Checkpoint Charlie today

Nearby to the former border crossing at Checkpoint Charlie you can find out more about the Berlin Wall: in the informative museum, in the panorama of an autumn day in 1980 or with a fast-paced tour in a Trabant along where the wall used to be.

For a very special view of Checkpoint Charlie and the city’s scenery, you can go up in the Hi-Flyer tethered balloon.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Touristen posieren mit verkleideten Soldaten am Checkpoint Charlie in Berlin
Checkpoint Charlie in Berlin Friedrichstraße © visitBerlin, Foto: Artfully Media, Sven Christian Schramm

Checkpoint Charlie

Schauplatz von Spionage-Thrillern

Von Octopussy bis Der Spion, der aus der Kälte kam: Erleben Sie am Checkpoint Charlie Berliner Spionagethriller.

Es ist der Schauplatz diverser Thriller und Spionage-Romane, von James Bonds Octopussy bis Der Spion, der aus der Kälte kam: der Checkpoint Charlie.
An der Ecke Friedrichstraße und Zimmerstraße erinnert Sie der ehemalige Grenzübergang an den Kalten Krieg und das geteilte Berlin. Schlagbaum und Kontrollbaracke, Flagge und Sandsäcke sind dem Originalschauplatz nachempfunden – und ein beliebtes Fotomotiv. Kein Wunder, dass der Checkpoint Charlie auch auf Ihre Liste der wichtigsten Berliner Sehenswürdigkeiten gehört.

Die Geschichte des Checkpoint Charlie

Der Name Checkpoint Charlie leitet sich vom Internationalen Buchstabieralphabet ab (Alpha, Bravo, Charlie). Nach dem Grenzübergang Helmstedt-Marienborn (Alpha) und Dreilinden-Drewitz (Bravo) ist der Checkpoint Charlie der dritte von den Alliierten genutzte Kontrollpunkt in und um Berlin.

Am bekanntesten deutsch-deutschen Grenzübergang registrieren alliierte Posten ab dem 22. September 1961 die Angehörigen der amerikanischen, britischen und französischen Streitkräfte vor ihrer Fahrt nach Ost-Berlin. Ausländische Touristen können sich dort über den Aufenthalt informieren. Nachdem der Grenzkontrollpunkt zum Übergang für die Angehörigen der alliierten Streitkräfte bestimmt wird, ist er schon einen Monat später, im Oktober 1961, Schauplatz der Panzerkonfrontation. Amerikanische und sowjetische Panzer beziehen Stellung und stehen sich mit scharfer Munition gegenüber.

Der Checkpoint Charlie ist nicht nur Schauplatz des Kalten Krieges, sondern auch Zeuge zahlreicher Fluchtversuche aus Ost-Berlin. Von gescheiterten und geglückten Erlebnissen erzählt heute eine Open-Air-Ausstellung an der Ecke Schützen- und Zimmerstraße. Eine Installation des Künstlers Frank Thiel und eine Tafel kennzeichnen ebenfalls die Gedenkstätte.

Der Checkpoint Charlie heute

In unmittelbarer Nähe zum ehemaligen Grenzübergang Checkpoint Charlie erfahren Sie noch mehr über die Geschichte der Berliner Mauer: mal informativ im Museum, mal im Panorama eines Herbsttages 1980 oder rasant auf einer Trabi-Tour entlang des ehemaligen Mauerverlaufs.

Einen besonderen Blick auf den Checkpoint Charlie und auf die Kulisse der Hauptstadt erleben Sie im Hi-Flyer - Fesselballon.