Skip to main content
Reichstag and Gouvernment buildings in Berlin
Band des Bundes and Reichstag ©, Foto: savoia

Band des Bundes

Connecting East and West

Berlin’s government buildings form a bridge over the river Spree connecting East and West. Known as the Band des Bundes – the “Federal Ribbon” – they are a fascinating mixture of modern architecture and German history.

The government buildings in the heart of Berlin form a ribbon across the river Spree, symbolically connecting East and West. The parliamentary offices and the chancellery were not built until the wall came down and Berlin was chosen as the country’s seat of government. The buildings are exciting examples of contemporary architecture that no-one sightseeing in Berlin can afford to miss.

History of the buildings

In 1991, Germany’s parliament voted to relocate from Bonn to Berlin and return to the Reichstag. The move meant that brand-new government buildings were necessary. Except for the Reichstag and the Swiss embassy, everything else in the former government quarter by the Spree had been reduced to rubble in the second world war. This meant there was plenty of space to inspire innovative architects.

Connecting East and West

The original idea for the Band des Bundes was a gesture of reunification. In a dual piece of symbolism, the government buildings and the offices for democratically elected MPs are both a physical connection and a symbolic bridge between East and West.

The biggest architectural competition ever held

They were building for democracy. Before construction began in 1995, it was preceded by the world’s biggest-ever call for projects for public buildings. 835 architects competed for the right to build Germany’s new centre of government and parliamentary offices.

The commission for the overall concept was awarded to the architects Axel Schultes and Charlotte Frank. The Paul-Löbe-Haus and Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus were designed by Stefan Braunfels. Ideas that were rejected included the originally planned square known as the Bürgerforum with cafés and shops, and the extension towards Friedrichstraße station.

The federal buildings are not just the centre of the town in geographical terms; since 2006, the striking concrete and glass buildings have been the first thing that visitors to Berlin see when they arrive at the city’s main station.

The buildings

  • Bundeskanzleramt
  • Paul-Löbe-Haus
  • Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus


The most striking building is the Federal Chancellery, which was built between 1997 and 2001 and designed by Berlin architects Charlotte Frank and Axel Schultes in close consultation with Chancellor Helmut Kohl.


The Paul-Löbe-Haus is named after the former President of the Reichstag who later became the oldest MP in the first German Bundestag. It houses MPs’ offices, meeting rooms and the main visitors’ office. Especially striking is the glass facade on the west side. The building is connected to the Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus by a bridge over the Spree for those MPs who aren’t afraid of heights, and a tunnel under it for those who are.


Directly on the other side of the Spree from the Paul-Löbe-Haus is the German parliament’s centre for academic services. Opened in December 2003, it is named after the social reformer and women’s rights activist Marie Elisabeth Lüders. It houses the parliamentary library, which is one of the biggest in the world. Along the former route of the Berlin Wall there is publicly accessible memorial containing original segments of the wall as a reminder of the divided Germany.

Nearby attractions

Direkt zum Inhalt
Reichstag und Regierungsgebäude in Berlin
Band des Bundes und Reichstag © iStock.com, Foto: savoia

Band des Bundes

Verbindung von Ost und West

Das Band des Bundes verbindet eine sehenswerte Mischung aus neuer Architektur und deutscher Geschichte.

Ein Band über die Spree bilden die Regierungsbauten im Herzen Berlins. Symbolisch verbinden sie Ost und West. Die Bürobauten des Bundestages und das Bundeskanzleramt entstehen nach dem Fall der Mauer mit der Entscheidung für Berlin als Regierungssitz. Die Bauten des Bundes sind spannende Beispiele zeitgenössischer Architektur, die Sie beim Sightseeing durch Berlin nicht verpassen dürfen.

Band des Bundes: Geschichte

Der Deutsche Bundestag beschließt im Jahre 1991 von Bonn nach Berlin umzuziehen. Der Berliner Reichstag soll wieder der Sitz des Parlaments werden. Der Umzug macht den Neubau von Regierungsgebäuden erforderlich. Mit Ausnahme von Reichstag und Schweizer Botschaft versinkt im Zweiten Weltkrieg das alte Verwaltungs- und Regierungsviertel im Spreebogen in Schutt und Asche. Viel Platz für neue Ideen innovative Architekten.

Verbindung von West nach Ost

Die ursprüngliche Idee für das Band des Bundes ist eine verbindende Geste. In einer doppelten Symbolik schlagen Regierungsbauten und die Gebäude für die demokratisch gewählten Abgeordneten eine Verbindung und symbolische Brücke zwischen Ost und West.

Größter je dagewesener Architektenwettbewerb

Die Demokratie ist Bauherr. Dem 1995 begonnenen Bau geht die größte bis dahin dagewesene weltweite Projektausschreibung für öffentliche Bauten voran: 835 Architekten bewerben sich um die Aufträge. Es geht darum Deutschlands neue Regierungszentrale wie auch die Büros für die Abgeordneten des Parlaments zu entwerfen.

Den Zuschlag für die Neugestaltung des Spreebogens erhalten die Architekten Axel Schultes und Charlotte Frank. Paul-Löbe-Haus und Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus konzipiert der Architekt Stefan Braunfels. Verworfen werden die ursprünglich geplante Platzanlage Bürgerforum mit Cafés und Geschäften und zunächst die Verlängerung in Richtung Bahnhof Friedrichstraße.

Die Bundesbauten sind heute nicht nur geografisch der Mittelpunkt Berlins. Die markanten Gebäude aus Sichtbeton und Glas bilden seit 2006 für am Hauptbahnhof ankommende Berlingäste das Entree zur Stadt.

Die Gebäude

  • Bundeskanzleramt
  • Paul-Löbe-Haus
  • Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus

Das Bundeskanzleramt

Prägnantester Bau des Bandes ist das zwischen 1997 und 2001 unter Leitung der Berliner Architekten Charlotte Frank und Axel Schultes erbaute imposante Bundeskanzleramt. Es entsteht noch in enger Abstimmung mit dem damaligen Bundeskanzler Helmut Kohl.

Das Paul-Löbe-Haus

Das Paul-Löbe-Haus ist benannt nach dem Reichstagspräsidenten und Alterspräsidenten des ersten Deutschen Bundestags. Es beherbergt die Büros von Abgeordneten, Sitzungssäle und die zentrale Besucherbetreuung. Besonders prägnant ist die Glasfassade an der Westseite. Eine Brücke für schwindelfreie Abgeordnete über und ein Tunnel unter der Spree verbinden das Gebäude mit dem Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus.

Das Marie-Elisabeth-Lüders-Haus

Direkt gegenüber dem Paul-Löbe-Haus, auf der anderen Seite der Spree, befindet sich das wissenschaftliche Dienstleistungszentrum des Deutschen Parlaments. Der im Dezember 2003 eingeweihte Neubau verdankt seinen Namen der Sozialpolitikerin und Frauenrechtlerin Marie Elisabeth Lüders. Er beherbergt die Parlamentsbibliothek, eine der größten weltweit. Entlang des ehemaligen Mauerverlaufs sind im öffentlich zugänglichen Mauermahnmal zum Gedenken an die Teilung der Stadt originale Elemente der Berliner Mauer aufgebaut.

Sehenswürdigkeiten in der Nähe