Skip to main content
Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin
Haus der Kulturen der Welt at night visitberlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Haus der Kulturen der Welt

A gift from the US government to the city of Berlin in 1957

Today, the House of World Cultures in Berlin is a forum for contemporary art and critical debates: Exhibitions, concerts and performances illuminate artistic positions, scientific concepts and political issues. This was not always the case: In the 1950s, the USA built the former congress centre on the Spree symbolically for German-American friendship and donated it to the city of Berlin for the international building exhibition INTERBAU 1957 in Berlin.

Tickets

Pregnant oyster - that's what Berliners call the House of World Cultures. The shape of the building with its round, gently curved roof certainly resembles an open oyster. And there are hidden pearls to be discovered inside, too. But as fitting as the nickname may be - it somewhat belies the exciting history and present-day programme of the house.

A cosmopolitan forum for contemporary art and topical discussions: Arts of all kinds and from all over the world are at home in the House of Cultures, from theatre and dance, film and literature, readings and exhibitions to performances that mix all the arts and dissolve boundaries.

Social and artistic themes are questioned and discussed here, the house being a place of exchange and lively conversation. Once a year, children in particular rush into the House of World Cultures when the Berlinale shows its children's film series in the large hall in February.

The popular open-air spectacle Wassermusik (Water Music) in summer is a musical voyage of discovery to a particular region. On the terrace overlooking the Spree there are unusual concerts, plus films and documentaries.

Built in 1957 as a congress hall

As a contribution to the International Building Exhibition of 1957, the American architect Hugh Stubbins built the Congress Hall directly on the Spree. During the German division and the Cold War, it was a symbol of German-American friendship and a place for the free exchange of opinions in the West. Especially the striking free-floating roof construction was considered extraordinary. But it was precisely the roof that partially collapsed in 1980 due to structural damage. It was not until 1987 that the building was rebuilt true to the original for Berlin's 750th anniversary.

In 1989, the year the Berlin Wall came down, the Congress Hall became the new House of World Cultures and began to build up its current programme.

The Carillon

For Berlin’s 750 year anniversary a bell tower was constructed beside it. It is the largest carillon in the world, with 68 bells. Every Sunday at 3 p.m., and on many public holidays there is a concert – played live in the bell tower.

Comprehensive information on Berlin Modernist buildings and their history can be found on our website:

On Berlin Modernist Architecture

The “Auster” restaurant

The “Auster” restaurant not only has seafood on the menu, but also serves traditional dishes with a glorious view of the Spree. Perfect for a refreshment during the discussion after an event.

Parking at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt

The Haus der Kulturen der Welt does not have its own car park. Limited parking is available on John-Foster-Dulles-Allee. The best option, however, is to come by bus or bike.

Riverboat station  

You can also come by ship: the Haus der Kulturen der Welt is Berlin’s only event venue with its own riverboat station.

Tickets

Direkt zum Inhalt
Haus der Kulturen der Welt
Das beleuchtete Haus der Kulturen der Welt © visitberlin, Foto: Wolfgang Scholvien

Haus der Kulturen der Welt

Hier trifft sich die Welt

Hier ist der Name Programm: Ein Haus für die Künste aus aller Welt. Der Ort für Entdeckungen neuer und unbekannter Ausdrucksformen, für Diskussionen und Experimente.

Tickets

Schwangere Auster – so sollen die Berliner das Haus der Kulturen der Welt nennen. Die Form des Hauses mit dem runden, sanft geschwungenen Dach ähnelt auf jeden Fall einer geöffneten Auster. Und versteckte Perlen gibt es im Innern auch zu entdecken.  Doch so passend der Spitzname auch sein mag, eigentlich sagt das niemand. Ist doch der Name Haus der Kulturen so perfekt für sein Programm.

Ein Haus der Künste

Ein offenes, ein weltoffenes Forum für Kunst der Gegenwart und aktuelle Diskussionen. Künste aller Art und aus aller Welt sind im Haus der Kulturen daheim, ob Theater oder Tanz, Film oder Literatur, Lesung oder Ausstellung – oder Performances, die alle Künste vermischen und Grenzen verwischen.

Gesellschaftliche und künstlerische Themen sollen hinterfragt und diskutiert werden, ist das Haus doch ein Ort des Austausches und des lebendigen, gerne auch lebhaften Gesprächs. Einmal im Jahr stürmen vor allem Kinder in das Haus der Kulturen der Welt, wenn im Februar die Berlinale ihre Kinderfilmreihe im großen Saal zeigt.

Das beliebte Open-Air-Spektakel Wassermusik im Sommer ist eine musikalische Entdeckungsreise in eine bestimmte Region. Auf der Terrasse mit Blick auf die Spree gibt es Konzerte mit zuvor ungehörter Musik, dazu Filme und Dokumentationen.

Die Kongresshalle

Als Beitrag für die Internationale Bauausstellung von 1957 baute der amerikanische Architekt Hugh Stubbins die Kongresshalle direkt an der Spree. Sie war Symbol der deutsch-amerikanischen Freundschaft und Ort des freien Meinungsaustausches. Vor allem die markante freischwebend wirkende Dachkonstruktion war besonders und brachte der Kongresshalle des Spitznamen Schwangere Auster ein. Doch aufgrund von Bauschäden stürzten Teile des Daches 1980 ein, erst 1987 wurde der Bau zur 750-Jahr-Feier Berlins originalgetreu wiederaufgebaut. Zwei Jahre später wurde die Kongresshalle zum Haus der Kulturen der Welt und begann mit ihrem neuen Programm.

Das Carillon

Zur 750-Jahr-Feier Berlins wurde nicht nur die Kongresshalle aufgebaut, sondern auch ein Glockenspiel direkt daneben errichtet. Es ist das viertgrößte Glockenspiel der Welt mit 68 Glocken. Jeden Sonntag um 15 Uhr und an vielen Feiertagen gibt es ein Konzert – live gespielt im Glockenturm.

Das Restaurant „Auster“

Das Restaurant „Auster“ hat nicht nur Meeresfrüchte auf der Karte, es serviert bodenständige Gerichte mit einem grandiosen Ausblick auf die Spree. Perfekt für eine Stärkung vor oder eine Diskussion nach der Veranstaltung.

Parken am Haus der Kulturen der Welt

Das Haus der Kulturen der Welt besitzt keinen eigenen Parkplatz. Parkmöglichkeiten, wenn auch nur begrenzt, gibt es in der John-Foster-Dulles-Allee. Die beste Möglichkeit ist allerdings der Bus oder das Fahrrad.

Anlegestelle Dampferfahrt  

Auch mit dem Schiff können Sie anreisen: Das Haus der Kulturen der Welt ist wohl Berlin einziges Veranstaltungshaus mit eigener Anlegestelle für Dampferfahrten.

Tickets

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen