Skip to main content

With his Piano Concerto, Max Reger wanted to compose a companion piece to Johannes Brahms’s powerful Piano Concerto No. 1. The work, which surpasses its model in force, is considered one of the most difficult pieces of the genre. To celebrate the composer’s 150th birthday, it will be presented by pianist Marc-­André Hamelin, who is able to make both the highly virtuosic and the lyrical passages shine.

Marek Janowksi
Marek Janowksi © Felix Broede

At his side will be conductor Marek Janowski, a specialist in Romantic repertoire, who has also programmed one of the finest symphonies of this period: Robert Schumann’s euphoric, energetic “Rhenish”.

Max Reger: Concerto for piano and orchestra in F minor op. 114
Marc-André Hamelin piano

Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major op. 97 "Rhenish".

Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
Max Reger (Komponist/in)
Robert Schumann (Komponist/in)
Marek Janowski
Berliner Philharmoniker
Philharmonie Berlin
Philharmonie Berlin
Philharmonie Berlin